We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Thanks to Ashley and Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Thanks to Ashley and Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our family had a wonderful time at Tulemar. From the easy pre-arrival emails on what to do to the warm brownies delivered to our bungalow, it was great. Private beach, monkeys, butterflies guaranteed.

Room Tip: Stay away from Bungalow 117 - right by the road and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Hilary E....thank you so much for the review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....so glad to hear that you had a great time in Tulemar......and thanks for your comments on Ashley.....your personal concierge......our personal concierge team really does make a big difference in your stay......from helping to arrange your transportation to the Manuel Antonio area.....to suggestions on tours/activities......dining options......help to solve problems like lost luggage or no sun block......maybe just someone you can trust to answer a question.....they can do it all....at no additional cost......it's all part of our service at Tulemar.......thank you so much for booking with us directly on our web site here and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,727
    127
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
920
583
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The private concierge Michael was very helpful and a great idea. He is always there to help you plan trips and rings to check up your ok.
Amazing contemporary 2 storey bungalows. So stylish.
Only criticism would be the restaurant was not impressive and pools too. But the food was good.
Only about 10 minutes from Manuel Antonio Park.
The whale trip was too big for my liking. We were told we would be on a catamaran. Didn't realise it was a huge boat with 85 people on board. It wasn't the yacht style catamaran I was expecting.
Would definitely stay again and but would go to marina and hire a smaller boat which wouldn't gave cost much more (4 in party). Iguana Tour company highly recommended for tours.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank concepta747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
HI concepta747......thanks for posting the review on your stay in one of our Two Bedroom Premium Villas.....so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us......and thanks for your comments on Michael....he is one of our newer concierges and already a guest favorite......I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the catamaran tour.....but as you mentioned.....there are many different options available.....from very small to the very large.....we book them all...I apologize that Michael didn't understand what you were looking for......your comments about the pools and restaurant leads me to believe that that you were booked into Tulemar by a travel agent.....often times they've never been to Tulemar and don't really understand what we are all about.....we're not one of those resorts with the huge pools and music thumping and all you can eat buffets......we're a residential resort....with individual and unique accommodations......lots of wildlife all around......hiking trails......the Tulemar Beach.....4 resort pools (including one adult only)....and our restaurant....with one of the most amazing ocean views around....the resort is quiet and relaxing......you can check it out in detail on our web site at tulemar.com......and we'd love to have you back again....thanks for staying with us!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family and I (two adults and 2 kids ages 12 and 15) had a wonderful time at Tulemar. We stayed in the bungalows, which are nestled into the jungle with gorgeous views of the Pacific Coast. The bungalow was spacious and nicely furnished and the service at Tulemar was excellent. Every day we would wander out our front door to see monkeys, sloths, birds, lizards, and lush vegatation. There were two lovely pools near our bungalow and a fantastic beach. The roads and trails are steep within the compund but if you ever get tired they have shuttle buses to take you to and from the beach. I usually walked down and took a ride back. From Tulemar we arranged lots of day trips including deep sea fishing (we caught a sail fish), white water rafting, zip lining, and a tour of Manuel Antonio rain forest. Chris, our concierge arranged everything for us including our transportation from San Jose and then when we we were departing to Arenal for the second leg of our trip. He helped us with dinner reservations and even dropped off a present for my daughter who celebrated her 12th birthday in Cost Rica. While we had some evening and late afternoon rain, which is expected in summer, for the most part we had good weather and were able to do all our planned activities. In the afternoons after our adventures we would usually come back and hang at the beach or pool. There are lots of restaurants near by the hotel or you can eat poolside if you do not feel like leaving the eco-resort. All in all it was a great vacation and I look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hi Lisa1232014......thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows........they really are a great choice for 1-4 guests.......kind of like a jungle tree house with ocean views......(and air conditioning!).......plus the personal concierge service of Chris....one of our Tulemar Stars.....everyone loves Chris.....for good reason......he works so hard to give them what they need.....lots of attention.....of maybe just a little.....everyone is different......and Chris figures it out quickly.....Chris can help with everything from your transportation to Tulemar.....to tours/activities.......dining options.....maybe a quick trip to the grocery store......or just to answer any question you may have about the area or the country.....thanks for booking with us directly at tulemar.com and we'd love to have you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed 4 nights at Tulemar August 10 - 14, 2014. This property is staffed with people who really know customer service - rest assured that if you should happen to have any questions or issues, they will be addressed promptly and to your satisfaction. The private beach at Tulemar is wonderful and we swam / boogie boarded / sea kayaked every day we were there. In addition, all of the excursions are booked through your concierge (Chris is awesome) so that they show up at your bungalow parking area to pick you up and drop you off - no hunting for the tour operator. We did the 7-in-1 tour with Quepo Canyoning, the white water rafting on the Savegre river and the catamaran tour (which includes an awesome lunch on the boat, snorkeling and sliding down the water slide; we also saw dolphins and a mother / baby whale). Don't think twice - book a bungalow at Tulemar for the great amenities (5 pools, private beach), great location (right next to Manual Antonio park) and gorgeous views.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hi Wes K....thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....we loved having you with us......and thanks for the kind words on Chris....your personal concierge......he really tries to match his guests with the best tours/activities/guides......knowing each guest may be looking for something different.....from active to passive......sometimes all is needed is a quiet spot on the Tulemar Beach and a cold drink......customer service is something that is important to everyone at Tulemar.....from the shuttle drivers to the house keepers to the personal concierge team......we can answer your questions or handle a problem......whatever it takes to make sure you have a great stay.....we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Vacationed in MA with my husband and 2 "boys" (18 and 21) and it was unanimous, "Best vacation ever"! We stayed a week and everyone wished we had stayed longer. This is due mostly to our exceptional stay at Tulemar/Casa Panorama. We've had the privilege of staying at other luxury resorts, but I must say that Tulemar is heads above the rest! From the moment you inquire about Tulemar, the staff is there for you, providing information, being responsive to questions and offering those personal touches that ultimately make Tulemar a world-class experience!

We stayed in the 2 bedroom, upper floor, unit of Casa Panorama ~ stunning! The view is to die for and the home is immaculate. Kimberley, the concierge, greeted us with open arms and made sure our every need was taken care of. The staff throughout the entire resort was the best of the best, always gracious, courteous and so friendly!

We loved walking the beautiful grounds at Tulemar, full of all the rain forest wildlife you want to see; sloths, monkeys, iguanas, birds. That being said, the shuttle service is fun too as the drivers are awesome, always happy to help you spot animals on your bucket list. The beach is beautiful and the complementary use of the boogie boards and ocean kayaks is another added bonus.

We ate several times at the pool restaurant. The food was fresh and delicious and the staff was wonderful! The restaurant has beautiful views and we were lucky enough to see whales breeching in the ocean as we enjoyed our meal. We actually had great food throughout our entire vacation and would recommend for dinner, Cafe Agua Azul, Barba Roja (Friday ribs), and the seafood platters at The Marlin (family favorite). For more casual dining, we also liked Café Milagro, El Gato Fish and Chips, and Pizza Pate. All these restaurants are walking distance or a quick bus ride from Tulemar. Don’t hesitate to walk or take the bus, both added only positives to our MA experience! The local transportation is very easy to use and just down the street from the entrance.

Our final recommendation is to not overbook tours. In a weeks’ time, my husband and I booked 2 morning tours (MA park, Rainmaker) and 3 for my boys (MA park, Jet Ski, 10 in 1). While all were excellent and are part of the amazing MA experience, relaxing and simply “taking in” all that Tulemar has to offer was the best experience of all!

Tulemar is truly paradise and will always be a cherished family-vacation memory! Thank you TO ALL at Tulemar!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Beth S.....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Casa Panorama in Tulemar......we loved having you with us.......now you know why Casa Panorama is one of our most popular 2 bedroom villas......the "panoramic" ocean views.....the style/design......the location.....and the personal concierge service of Kimberly.....all combine to make this villa one of our most requested....thanks for your tips about walking and riding the bus around.....so easy to do.....and a part of the local experience.......plus we have more than 10 restaurants......2 ATM's.....and a grocery store all within 2 blocks of our front gates......and thanks for your comments on tours/activities.....our guests sometimes want to do it all.....but once they arrive in Tulemar.....they really don't want to leave their villa or the Tulemar Beach......we suggest booking 2-3 of your top choices....and wait until you are here to decide if you would like to book more.....thanks again for booking with us directly and we hope to see you back again....please say "hi" to all of my friends and family back in the Fresno area!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We just completed our second stay at Tulemar. We stayed in the bungalows, which have plenty of space for a family of four, and offer privacy from adjacent guests. We have stayed in four separate bungalows over the years, and all have offered tremendous ocean views.

The grounds are safe, secure, and well maintained. The staff are very friendly, and take the time to educate their guests about the flora and fauna. They help you discover sloths, titi monkeys, and tucans. Chris Madrigal was our concierge, and he did an exceptional job of taking care of our every need. He went out of his way, and made us feel very welcome. David also does a great job taking care of guests at the beach. The beach is clean, private, and offers plenty of activities.

The terrain is very steep, which makes walking a little bit of a workout for most people. Tulemar has two vans which shuttle guests back and forth between the beach, and the pools and bungalows. Willie was our driver on many occasions. He decided to take us to the Villa Pool one afternoon to show us a sloth, and a porcupine in a nearby tree.

We booked through Dave, the owner of this establishment, whom we met several times during our stay. He was just as attentive, and courteous as his staff, and made sure all of our needs were met.

The property has several pools, and none were ever overcrowded. The Tulemar Pool near the bungalows has a restaurant and bar with good food. There is also a restaurant and bar at the beach. Guests are also within walking distance of several restaurants, which cater to gringos. Cafe Milagro had good food, and served breakfast, lunch and dinner.

So far we've had two very pleasant experiences at Tulemar, and will return again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wcecivil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi wcecivil.......thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......and for your repeat visits......the Bungalows are really a good choice for so many people.....tropical/rustic in design.....and they were the first accommodations built in Tulemar so they have the best locations.......right along the top of the hill....with amazing ocean and jungle views......plus you get the personal concierge services of Chris......one of our Tulemar Stars.....as you experienced and as so many guests have commented on......glad that you enjoyed our restaurants too.....thank you so much for this review and for booking with us directly......we'll be ready for your next trip!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My family and I (two adults and two kids, ages 8 and 10) visited Costa Rica for the first time in July and stayed at Panorama Lower. The bungalow was comfortable, clean, and just the right size for us. The location of the bungalow was also great because it was close to two pools, the beach, and town. Our concierge Kimberly was awesome. She was very attentive to our needs, friendly, and very enthusiastic about showing us much of what Costa Rica has to offer. She helped us shop for food (my daughter has food intolerances), recommended restaurants, booked adventures (we did the zip line, national park, and mangrove tours), and even gave us a heads up when monkeys were right outside our bungalows so we could see them. We were very comforable with asking her any questions we had, and she was always very accommodating. Our experience with the other staff members (front desk, maid, servers at the beach and pools) of Tulemar was wonderful too. Everyone is very friendly and happy to help. I highly recommend Tulemar for a fantastic stay in beautiful Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hi Clarrissa R......thank you so much for the wonderful review on your stay in the lower suite of Casa Panorama......with one bedroom (king bed)....bath....living/dining/full kitchen....(with a sofa bed)......and large balcony....all with ocean views....it's a great choice for 1-3 (or maybe 4) persons.....plus you get the personal concierge services of Kim......she's the best.....she knows just the right tours/activities/guides for you.....plus is always there to answer a question or help with a quick trip to the grocery store.....and she always seems to know where the animals are.....thanks again for posting this review and we hope to have you back with us again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing