We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great end to our vacations!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
puerto rico
1 review
“Great end to our vacations!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

Tulemar was one of the highlights of our trip. We loved the property, the bungalows are so beautiful!!!
We stayed near the restaurant so that was pretty convenient.
The beach was great and the free kayaking was a plus +++.
We didn't have good experiences with the food until we got to Manuel Antonio. The food that Tule Cafe served was delicious!breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and Tulemar was the best place to celebrate it.!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mei18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,018
    128
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,080
683
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

My husband and i stayed here for 4 days and absolutely loved it. We had a minute problem with ants our first night. However, the hotel graciously moved us to another room the following morning. We cannot say enough about this hotel! It is in an excellent location and is yet secluded. You have beautiful views of the jungle and the best part is the beach! We had it all to ourselves! The breakfast is awesome. The restaurant has very good food and drinks. The waiters and bartenders provide some of the best service we have ever encountered. Alan, David, Tom, and Jason were the best waiters! The housekeepers provided the best "towel art" with such detail too. Again, i miss the place and will definitely be back!

  • Liked — the beach!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank financialqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

Tulemar is one of the best places we've ever stayed! Breath taking views from our bungalow, friendly staff. We saw monkeys outside our window and even discovered a sloth hanging out in a tree near the pool (animal, not human). The room was cool, clean with panoramic views of the Pacific. We will definitely return!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank BadBobB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

We came to this property after being thoroughly spoiled at Xandari, so thought we couldn't be as happy with a resort. We had a standalone view with a spectacular view of the ocean, wrap around windows, and plenty of space. Wow! The buildings are older and a bit funky, but I think that added to the charm. The shower/tub was huge. We ended up having to move for our last night at Tulemar, but that was due to an error I made when booking. The staff was extremely apologetic about any inconvenience, even though it was totally my fault that I forgot to book the last night originally.

We liked the property very much and found the staff very accommodating and helpful. The maids arranged the towels into ornate figures every day, and incorporated my childrens' stuffed animals, much to their delight.

I didn't mind the fact that the pool was next to the dining area. It made it very convenient. My kids loved seeing the sloths, squirrel monkeys, and the huge black iguana that lives under the deck. Wildlife is everywhere at Tulemar and it's really exceptional to be relaxing poolside and watching a coati cruising along.

We also checked out the pool down near the Buena Vista villas. It's on the same property, so we didn't realize that it wasn't run by Tulemar. It was the off season, or maybe the staff simply doesn't mind, but they let us swim in their pool as well.

The property has a private beach with an immaculate restroom and incredibly gracious staff. They set us up with kayaks and life vests, boogie boards and towels, as well as beach toys. The kids loved seeing (and catching) the hermit crabs, and we got to see howler monkeys and white faced capuchins, not to mention a sloth.

I found this to be a great place to stay. We felt like we were in a tree house, and never heard another guest from our bungalow.

  • Liked — The accomodations and the wrap around view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

Very beautiful, peaceful location. Outstanding views. I have never slept as well on vacation as I did here. Great to wake up each to the beautiful panoramic views. Maid service: very good. Laundry: Excellent (used it a few times and my clothes were back within 3 hours).

Restaurant: so so. Breakfast buffet was good, but menu selection for rest of the day was mediocre and expensive, Better restaurants nearby (try El Avion, Barba Roja, or Ronny's Place). Some issues: ants in bungalow. Mostly small ones and not too bad, but keep your toothpaste and other similar toiletries zipped away so they don't get into them. I also got bit by a larger ant and it hurt like the dickens, so always wear flip flops or the like! The pool was refreshing, but pretty boring for the kids. Too close to restaurant.

The private beach is very nice, little bit rocky, but not bad. Lots of hermit crabs which kids loved. Good waves for boogie boarding. They have some boards, kayaks for guests, but some in bad condition, need replacing. Shuttle is efficient, but late in afternoon you may have to wait a bit for it to pick you up at the beach. My chief complaint is that restaurant employees will put out bananas whenever a monkey troop comes through (we saw squirrel and white-faced). That is a huge NO-NO! Bananas are not a part of their diet (can cause digestive problems) and encourages bad behavior. BAD! Shame on Tulemar for doing this. I would recommend Tulemar, if it weren't for this monkey feeding.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — they fed the monkeys
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pjc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

While we were disappointed with how overrun manuel Anotino is becoming, Tulemar was an oasis for us. The beach is private and very nice. the services at the beach were great, chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, kayaks all free and a nice little bar and snack bar.

2 of the 3 days there we saw monkeys playing in the trees right at the beach, one with a tiny baby howler. We had a young sloth living in the tree right outside our door for the entire 3 days

The food was pretty good, staff were all phenomenal, some of the friendliest and most professional we saw in CR in our 5 stops.

i have read the previous posts and our experience was different than most. Our villa was updated, not Four Seasons by any means, but very large, probably 600sf with a kitchen, dining area, living room area, etc and a seperate bedroom so some could sleep while others stayed up.

A/C was a luxury that was not at all hotels and the views were excellent.

As noted by many, Tulemar bungalows do not all have ouside porches or balconies. If that is important, it is a negative at this location. we found this more than ofset by a private beach where we could use chairs and umbrellas etc wiothout having to buy them or tote them from the hotel to the beach.

having said all of that, Manuel Antonio was beautiful, but a little depressing when viewing the human impact on such an incredible place. the amount of trash that park goers left everywhere really was dissapointing. there were of course the trained tourist begging white faced monkeys near the entrance to the park. they were cute, but nowhere near as impressive as watching wild monkeys in their natural environment. we saw wild monkeys at tulemar, monteverde 9a few), in the woods around the peace lodge and of course some deeper into the park at MA.

  • Liked — quiet, an oasis in a very busy area
  • Disliked — a deck/balcony would have been nice
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tim-dartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

Our family went to CR in March for the first time. We have two young children and spent time in Arenal to see the volcano and of course went to Manuel Antonio.

I have read all the reviews now let me give you my opinion:

Food- I heard that the food in CR was not up to par but I have to disagree. Fresh fruit arriving daily on tiny trucks and meat that actually tastes like the animal it came from, was certainly a treat. Simple, unprocessed food was found everywhere and we thought it to be affordable and well prepared. Tulemar made an effort to differentiate their menu with some higher end offerings that hit the mark in most cases. They tried to "Americanize" their menu with some success but you really should not fall into the trap of comparing their gourmet food to what Mario Batali might make at Babbo.

Beach- Go to Tulemar for the beach alone. Having never been to CR we thought it was a treat to have our own private beach.

Pool- The pool at the bungalow is close to the restaurant but this is a minor criticism. I believe you can go to the other pools on the grounds, but we did not. Again, if you want privacy, go to the beach.

Bungalows- I would describe the bungalows as a combination between hardcore and luxury. We did not find one single insect in the bungalow as many have found and we did agree that the rooms are somewhat outdated. For us, however, we thought that uniqueness of the rooms added to the experience as opposed to taking away from it. What a unique place to stay. The views are breath taking and the sound of the jungle each morning is something to behold.

Hotel Services- We found the staff to be courteous and attentive. We used the laundry service which was efficient and also inexpensive.

General- A young couple got married while we were there. We stayed only two bungalow's away from the restaurant so we could hear the music. Given that we have young kids, they went to sleep with music in the background but of course, they were exhausted from having so much fun at the beach that all was well. The hotel cut the music off early so I can't imagine it caused a problem for anyone.

Overall I was happy that my wife chose this location. She did a lot of research and while I am sure that there are a number of other good places to stay, our stay at Tulemar was enjoyable, luxurious and one that we won't soon forget.

I am giving it a 4 out of 5 as nothing gets a 5 in my book.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing