We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and service”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Michael, our concierge, was great. Friendly, attentive and always helpful. Any questions we had or arrangements we needed he handled promptly and perfectly. Beautiful properties and fabulous ocean views from our deck. Wonderful wildlife as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Thomas D.....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Tulemar.....and your comments on Michael....your personal concierge......Michael is our newest concierge....and already a guest favorite......always there to make sure his guests are having a great trip....thanks for booking with us at tulemar.com and for posting this review.....hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,076
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,116
701
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to stay. Stayed in a premium villa and thats what it was premium. Saw plenty of monkeys and even some toucans. The beach is where its at...never busy with free kayaks and boards. We will be back again. Only downfall is the large hill it sits on but thats easily overcome.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank itsj0nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi itsjOnathan.....thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our premium villas.....so glad that you enjoyed your time with us....you are right.....the Tulemar Beach is where it's at.....with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towel service and food/beverages that you just sign to your room....plus a sandy beach....warm tropical waters......shady palms......a perfect spot to play or relax.....thanks for posting the review and for booking with us directly!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

beautiful views from this entire hillside. excellent service. Andres was most helpful in arranging transporation. Ruiz, the bellman, was enthusiastic, humorous, and energetic. enjoyed seeing monkeys, lizards, and sloths on the property. the beach was delightful. perfect for large family gatherings, as there are a number of gorgeous homes for rent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi TerryC....thanks for your review on Tulemar.....glad you enjoyed your stay.....and thanks for the comments on our staff......we all work hard to make sure everyone enjoys their time with us......and you are right......we do have lots of choices for accommodations......from our smaller, Tulemar Bungalows......up to our premier, private villas.....a collection of stunning homes ranging from 3-5 bedrooms....all with their own private pools and amazing ocean views......perfect for larger families and groups......all displayed at tulemar.com and ready for your arrival! Thanks for booking with us directly and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently spent a week in Manuel Antonio on the beautiful property of Tulemar. It is a very resort like atmosphere - pools, restaurant on site, private beach, shuttle drivers, personal concierge - with a Costa Rican twist. That "twist" would be the amazing monkeys, sloths, iguanas, etc that you can see just by hanging out on the property. We stayed in Villa Mot Mot and found it very beautiful. My husband and I, our two kids, and my 84 year old dad stayed in the villa. There are 2 queen beds and a sofa bed that has a pull out mattress for a separate person. That gave us all the room we needed. The balcony was huge with an amazing view of the ocean - plus, it is RIGHT ON the path that the white faced capuchins like to take to go down the the beach. Several times were were lucky enough to see them come through the trees and play on the balcony for a bit before they moved on their way. We also came home one day to a sloth hanging off the tree just 5 feet from where we were standing. That was so awesome. Prepare yourself for some walking. There are lots of inclines and steps around the property - this Villa in particular is located down lots of little steps so my 84 year old dad really got to get some exercise. Once you get to the top however you can have a shuttle pick up and take you to the beach or up to the front gate of the property. Our concierge for the week was Alcione who worked SO HARD to make everything perfect for us. He checked in everyday, booked our tours, drove us to get our groceries the first day, took us to Quepos, and took our laundry to get done. The man was awesome. He made our stay at Tulemar so easy and comfortable - we really can't thank him enough.
You will have lots of options to sign up for tours when you are there. We did the Mangrove Tour, the Manuel Antonio guided walk, and the night walk. We felt the Mangrove Tour was a little slow - we didn't see a lot of wildlife, especially since we saw so much at Tulemar itself. But, upside was it was an activity my dad could do to get out and you just sit on the boat and relax. We also did the Manuel Antonio National Park, with a guide. It is basically a one path gravel road, about 12 feet wide, with a bunch of people trekking to the beach or people like us with a guide who would stop to see a frog, a monkey, a spider, etc. It was ok. The upside of the guide was you did see a few animals that you wouldn't have noticed and we took great pics through the guides telescopes on our iPhones. The downside is you are on a timeline so when you get to the end of the path after walking and arrive at the beautiful beach you take a few pictures and turn around. If you were on your own, you could pack a lunch and stay at this beach for awhile. Our family had done a guided night hike the night before and enjoyed that much more.
Again, everyone was great at Tulemar. Beautiful and relaxing Costa Rican resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalifTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi CalifTravelr......wow....what a complete review of your stay in Villa Mot Mot in Tulemar...thank you so much.......now you know why it is one of our most popular small villas......perfect for 2-5 guests.....and the large balcony with those amazing ocean views just can't be beat......plus you have the services of Al....your personal concierge to make the trip so easy.....handling all the details for you......the secluded location of Villa Mot Mot insures that it gets more wildlife visits than any other small villa.....(but as you mentioned, there are steps and ramps to get there).....thanks for the tips on the tours.....I agree.....the Mangrove Tour is pretty quiet, but good for older guests and the very young......and with the National Park Tour.....we encourage our guests to take their swimsuits and enjoy the beaches at the end of the tour instead of heading right back....they are amazing......thanks again for booking with us at tulemar.com......(the only site to offer Villa Mot Mot).....we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We just came back from ten days in Manuel Antonio. Our family of four (kids 9 & 11) stayed in Tulemar at a bungalow. The large, private property was amazingly beautiful. It was lush and picture perfect with plants, flowers, birds, butterflies, monkeys and sloths a common sight. The property had four beautiful pools and a private picturesque beach that was never very crowded. The water was warm and the waves were not very big. We used the free boogie boards and kayaks often but brought our own snorkel gear. However snorkeling was not good so don't bother even packing it on your trip. The property has a steep grade from the beach to the units so we took advantages of the free shuttle every time. You just ask the bar to call the shuttle and one of the friendly drivers will be there in minutes. Thanks Willy for all those rides back and forth!
The level of customer service was unparalleled. Every single staff member from our maid, bartenders (Daniela and Arlen were awesome!) to wait staff and concierge were there to please. Rarely have I experienced such a genuine eagerness to please in any of my travels all over the world. Our concierge Chris was very attentive. He made arrangements for drivers, dinners, tours and everything else we needed all with a smile and happy heart. I really didn't think we would need a concierge for I am capable of planning on my own but I have to admit that it was nice to have someone there as our "go to" for anything.
Onto the units. Wow. The view was amazing from every window. It was like sleeping in a tree top in the jungle. The bungalows have plenty of space for our family to spread out and the kitchen was great for quick meals.
All totaled Tulemar was perfect. We saw more wildlife every day at the property than we saw in the M.A. state park! We will come back again and stay at Tulemar! The restaurants within walking distance were great. We ate local and drank the tap water everywhere..... I don't even drink my tap water here in Northern California so that is saying something. Tulemar is perfect for couples, families, or anyone else who wants a worry free vacation in paradise!

Room Tip: Next time we will travel with another family and rent one of the villas. They are beautiful and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia95762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Marica95762.......thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.......they really are great for 2-4 guests.....a separate bedroom with 2 queen beds.....living, dining and kitchenette......(and a trundle bed in the living room)......plus windows all around with ocean and jungle views.....plus all the amenities of Tulemar....thanks for your kind words about Chris....your personal concierge......he really is one of our stars and wants all of his guests to enjoy their time with us....thanks for booking with us directly at tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our group of nine (2 families:family of 4 and family of 5 with kids ranging in age from 7-13) traveled in June to Tulemar and stayed in the Garden House. Both families are frequent travelers and accustomed to quality lodging and first-rate service. After having spent a week of adventure, relaxation, wildlife and fun at Tulemar we all agreed it was one of our best family trips to date.
The Garden House is a 3 story, 5 bedroom home with a spectacular infinity edge pool and unbelievable view of the ocean. Within the first five minutes of our arrival, we spotted a sloth in the trees right beside our house. Our concierge Mauricio was nothing but exceptional. He was available to us 24 hours a day. No request was too small or too large. While at Tulemar, he arranged for us white water rafting, surfing lessons, dinner reservations, a doctor visit, a photo shoot on the beach with a professional photographer and a private chef. As for the house, it was the perfect size for two families to share. If I had to say anything negative at all, the open air design of the main living areas makes it hard to keep cool whereas the air conditioning is only available in the bedrooms. A quick jump in the beautiful pool is the perfect remedy, however.

Things that we really appreciated about Tulemar. 1) The private beach. This has been mentioned repeatedly. The water temperature in June was unbelievable We spent hours boogie boarding; it is an idea boogie boarding beach. (One note. There are occasional jelly fish. Two of the nine of us got stung. The beach staff quickly sprayed vinegar to relieve the stinging.) Lastly, The jungle scenery from the water is breath taking. 2) The abundant wildlife. There is never a shortage of monkey, sloth and bird sightings. This makes a simple walk to the beach, a never-ending adventure. 3) Attentive service and personalized concierge 4) Van service. The Tulemar property is quite large and hilly. A simple phone call brings a van right to your door and will deliver you to the beach, the restaurant, or the main road. 5) Restaurants/services within walking distance. Right outside the gates of Tulemar are several restaurants, markets and stores. No need for a car. Visit Adrienne at Cafe Milagro. The Cafe is adorable, the food and coffee great and the owner an absolute treat.

To sum it up, if you want the privacy and space of a private home without sacrificing the services and amenities of a luxury resort, Tulemar is it! Several friends have asked if we went to the Four Seasons when they learned we traveled to Costa Rica. I tell them, "No; we went somewhere much better!" For our families, we found "Pura Vida."

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Tisha M.....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Garden House in Tulemar.....we loved having both families with us......Garden House is a great choice for a larger group.....it can sleep up to 11......plus the large pool, wildlife visits and amazing ocean views make it very special......thanks for the comments on Mauricio.....your personal concierge.....always there to make sure your trip is exactly the way you want it to be......Garden House has access to all of the amenities in Tulemar.....from the Tulemar Beach....to the 4 resort pools.....the restaurant....the hiking trails......and the resort shuttle......thanks for booking with us at tulemar.com and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place totally lives up to the reviews. We stayed in Casa Mirador (lower) for two days...Tulemar was very booked up the week we went so we stayed the two available days and I'm so glad we did. The villa itself was very nice. Plenty big for 4 people (it was just my husband and my daughter with us). Diego met us at the gate. Got us checked in and gave us a tour. We immediately saw a sloth at the beach during the tour! The family pool was directly across from our villa. Amazing infinity pool with the best views and a shallow pool perfect for our two year old. The beach is great. Tons on shady trees, or they will set up chairs and umbrellas wherever you want. Plus they have everything you could need at their beach (boogie boards, sand toys, towels, showers, a bar and food). We saw howler monkeys and iguanas. You could easily spend your entire time at the resort...but i sugest hitting up the rest of manuel antonio :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMA7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi JMA7979.....thanks for a great review on your time in Casa Mirador in Tulemar......we're so glad you decided to stay with us.....yes......sometimes we are almost full and don't have room for your entire stay.....but do have some of our best accommodations open for 2-3 days.....I'm glad you took advantage.....(and we also work with 3 partner properties nearby to book the balance of your trip!)......thanks for your comments on our Tulemar Beach......a wonderful, tropical oasis.......sandy beach.....shady palms.....warm, tropical waters......free lounge chairs and umbrellas......boogie boards......kayaks.....towel service.....and food/beverages from our beach bar and grill that you just sign to your room......thanks for the kind words on Diego, your personal concierge too.....we appreciate you booking with us directly at tulemar.com and hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,509 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing