We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonderful and the not so wonderful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I feel bad about this review because 2 of our 3 nights were excellent. My overall rating is reduced because of the last night. I tried to write two reviews but I couldn't do 2 reviews on the same property. We stayed at Tulemar for 3 nights, the first two in Villa Mot Mot which was the wonderful part and a Premium Bungalow for the last night which was not so wonderful. The first two nights in Villa Mot Mot could not have been any better. Very cozy inside, secluded on the outside with fabulous outdoor furniture, fantastic views, Bill the concierge was great, we had monkeys playing on our deck, the grocery delivery was fantastic, there were books and dvds in the villa, great dishes with real coffee cups, binoculars and umbrellas to borrow, the beds had comfy comforters on them and it was just a really great unit to rent that had everything you could ever want in a property in that price range. We moved the third night to a Premium Bungalow which was stark in comparison. The deck was wide open overlooking the walking path, the inside was not that great and was sparse, the deck furniture was not very nice, the beds had a thin comforter on them, there were few dishes in there and they were "standard" nothing special and no books or dvds in the room. On a positive note there was still a nice view and we still had some monkeys come visit us. I tried to justify it in my head that it must be a cheaper unit. I could not believe when I looked at my information that I had paid over 500.00 for the one night in this unit when it was no where near as nice as Villa Mot Mot which was cheaper. I have to say Tulemar should take note of what the owner of Villa Mot Mot is doing because she is doing it right. As far as the employees go, they were all nice, the pool we went to was nice as was the beach. I just was disappointed in my 500.00 villa after being spoiled in Villa Mot Mot. So the wonderful was VIlla Mot Mot, the grounds and the employees. The not so wonderful was our Premium Bungalow and the price.

Room Tip: Villa Mot Mot was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank bunnymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

HI bunnymom....thanks for the review of your stay in Villa Mot Mot and the Premium Bungalow.....and for the comparisons......as you know....each property in Tulemar is privately owned.....and the owner can be very involved in the design/decor/amenities and the pricing........such is the case here.....as you experienced and as you have read in the reviews......Villa Mot Mot is a very popular villa for all the reasons you mentioned.....the owner of our Premium Bungalow has different ideas......as you can also see by reading these reviews....we've not had one complaint on the Premium Bungalow (pricing or otherwise)......our guests are happy with that experience too......but when comparing against Villa Mot Mot.....there is no comparison.....the reason you spent the last night in the Premium Bungalow was that Villa Mot Mot was full....and the Premium Bungalow was not....(which makes the point)......I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us....thanks for the nice remarks about our staff....service and the pools......and we hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,518 - 1,524 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

we had an amazing experience staying at Tulemar. From day one, our concierge Julien took care of every detail.
We stayed in bungalow 116. The location was perfect. The pool was steps away and the view was incredible.
The walk to the beach was fun. Especially when we took the north trail. We were greeted by a group of white face capuchin monkeys.
On the resort, we saw so much wildlife. Sloths, 4 different types of monkeys, birds, butterflies, lizards.....
Everyone on the staff was great. Luis makes a killer tequila sunrise.
I highly recommend Tulemar.

Room Tip: we thought our bungalow was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieMc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

HI DebbieMc3.....thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.....the Bungalows are a lot of fun....kind of like a tree house.....with windows and air conditioning and amazing ocean views......thanks for the kind words on Julien.....(our young Frenchman).....and your personal concierge......guests really love him......he really wants to make sure you enjoy your stay.....and thanks for the comments on walking to the beach.....via the North Trail......I always encourage our guests to walk to the beach.....you'll almost always see some wildlife......plus it's downhill.....you can always take the resort shuttle back up.....thanks again for booking with us directly and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tulemar is wonderful! Our family of four stayed for 8 nights in August and had an incredible time. We booked the trip late and ended up moving rooms/houses within Tulemar twice in order to stay there. It was well worth it and our concierge, Chris, made each move hassle free. It was nice to see different accommodations within the property. Villa Cielito, with its amazing ocean view and balcony jacuzzi was our favorite. Chris and the entire staff were friendly, helpful, and seem to really enjoy their jobs. A groundskeeper pointed out a sloth hanging out in a tree that we never would have spotted on our own. The private beach is beautiful and user friendly, with chairs, towels, boogie boards and kayaks available. David at the beach is extremely friendly and set us up each day with our beach essentials. I highly recommend Tulemar for anyone looking for a bit of luxury surrounded by the beautiful Manuel Antonio rain forest.

Room Tip: Tulemar Bungalows are a great value. They lack a balcony but are very close to the pool. Villa Cieli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hi Mindy S.....we loved having you with us in Tulemar......even though you stayed in three different villas.....we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us.....Vlla Cielito is one of our favorite villas too....perfect for a family like yours....lots of room.....and great ocean views......Chris.....your concierge.....really does make your whole stay easy......(even moving!).......helping with all of the details......like your transportation to Manuel Antonio.....your tours/activities......dining options.....even surf lessons.....Chris knows the best.....thanks for booking with us directly.....and we'd love to have you back again....in Villa Cielito.....with no moves!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My family and I (3 of us our daughter is 9) just stayed a week at the upper mot mot unit. It was absolutely fantastic! The view was amazing and we saw monkeys almost daily! We were expecting to possibly see them in the distance, but they came right onto our balcony and played in the hammock (highlight of our daughters trip)! While there, we looked at the locations of the other Villas and honestly believe the location of this Villa is exceptional. We had great service the entire time we were there! Bill took extremely good care of us. He met us upon our arrival and explained EVERYTHING to us, it was wonderful! He drove us to dinner and the grocery store! In addition he helped us book additional tours! Vanessa was great at helping us set up some tours and answering ALL my questions before we arrived! We started our stay at a different location and Vanessa arranged a private driver to pick us up and transport us to Mot Mot! Overall it was absolute paradise! We only went to the private beach once as we were busy with tours and enjoying the villa itself! The only negative was the service and food on the beach (slow, expensive and worst meal we had). After being in the area for the week we wished we would have taken the Vacation Buggy waterfall jungle tour, but it was sold out :( so looks like you need to book this in advance!

LOVED our vacation! Thank you Bill!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah33308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

HI Leah33308....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Villa Mot Mot in Tulemar......we're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us......now you understand why Villa Mot Mot is one of our most popular (and booked!) private villas......from the location.....to the ocean views.....to the wildlife visits.....and the personal concierge service of Bill/Vanessa/Diego......it's the perfect choice for a small family like yours.....I'm so sorry about your experience with lunch on the beach.....we'll talk to staff there this morning......thanks again for booking with us directly at 4tulemar.com and we hope to see you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Tulemar - A beautiful property, immaculately maintained and staffed with wonderful people.
This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we are so happy we found Tulemar. From the moment we made our reservations through Dave, he and our concierge Chris, ensured we had everything we could possibly need for our stay.
The bungalow (Villa Cielitos - 403) was exceptional, stunning views and very comfortable throughout. the location within Tulemar was very convenient, just a short walk from all the restaurants town and the Tulemar restaurant and pools.
We used the private beach inside Tulemar most days, good services (kayaks, boogie boards, towels, chairs) readily available and staffed with friendly beach attendants to help.
All the staff we encountered, bartenders, drivers, wait staff, etc. were really friendly and went the extra mile to make our experience special. A special thanks to Chris, our concierge and new friend, who was truly fabulous and literally took care of everything, booking trips, chefs, services, translations, restaurant reservations, finding fresh fruit - the list goes on.
The setting of Tulemar, in the forest overlooking the ocean, was more spectacular than we could have imagined. The wildlife surrounding us was mind boggling - every moment sitting on the balcony is captivating with the sights and sounds of birds and monkeys going about their business. Amazing.
We found all the Costa Rican people we encountered to be very friendly and it is apparent that the population take a great deal of pride in their beautiful country. We will definitely be back!
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

HI Betsi61.....thanks for your glowing review on Villa Cielito, Tulemar, Chris and especially Costa Rica.....you are right.....the Costa Rican people are very proud of their country and they have every right to be......there is so much written about this country.....and you hear from friends that have visited.....but until you experience it yourself......you just don't understand completely......your review helps.....Villa Cielito is one of our favorites.....2 bedrooms/2.5 baths/2 floors.....indoor/outdoor showers......living/dining/full kitchen.....large balcony with jacuzzi tub......and those AMAZING ocean views.....plus the services of Chris....your personal concierge.....and all of the amenities of Tulemar.......4 pools.....our own beach......full service restaurant......resort shuttle....hiking trails.....and our location....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio......thanks again for posting your review and we hope to see you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Such a beautiful property and bungalow. It's not exactly a 360 degree view, but close enough. There is no balcony on the bungalows, so don't expect to see animals at your place, but still a beautiful view and a very comfortable space. I enjoyed the private beach, where I could order cocktails (food as well, but I didn't partake). The beach is quite nice and it's fun to watch all the folks on the body boards. The servers/beach attendants were super nice and remembered our names. We also visited the pool bar, which also has a nice view and is a pretty place in the evening (we didn't see it during the day). The service was really nice there as well. Even though we didn't really take advantage of the concierge, everyone on the property was very friendly. However I felt like we had enough privacy when we needed it. It's a very good location, with restaurants close by, as well as the super market. If only we had more time...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

HI Honest Travel....I like your name.....thanks for the great review......I agree with you.....I'm not really a "big resort" traveler.....but I think you now understand.....we're not really a "big resort" type of place......lots of room to spread out....and privacy......and personal concierge service when you need it.....like tours/activities or just help in choosing a restaurant for dinner.......or just hang out and enjoy our beach.....and the monkeys......thanks for the kind words about our staff and the bungalows......and we'd love to have you back with us again......for a longer stay!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Tulemar the first week of July 2013 and had an incredible time. There were 8 of us total (two families with kids ranging in age from 6 to 10) and we all agreed it was the best vacation we'd ever taken. Casa 405 is spacious, comfortable and has incredible views. There were several pools nearby and the walks to the beach -- with side trips through the trails for sloth sightings -- were amazing. Our concierge was Chris and he is just a really lovely person. He took care of everything for us -- reservations for horseback riding and zip-lining, dinner reservations, driving us to the grocery store (!) -- it was all wonderful. All week long, we all felt so lucky to be staying at Tulemar!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snyjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hi Snyjul......thanks for posting the wonderful review of your stay in one of our 2 Bedroom Premium Villas......we're so glad that you enjoyed yourselves......the 2 Bedroom Premium Villas are great for 4-8 people......2 bedrooms/2.5 baths (with indoor-outdoor showers)/2 floors/ living room, full kitchen and large balcony with a jacuzzi.....and great ocean views.....plus the personal concierge services of Chris.....and all of the amenities of Tulemar.....thanks for booking with us directly and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $148 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing