We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Luxurious Tree House”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Luxurious Tree House”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in the lower level of Villa Mot Mot and it was an AMAZING experience! You didn't even have to travel to the Manuel Antonio Park to enjoy the wildlife...it was right outside your deck....monkeys, birds, etc. The villa was immaculate. Diego and his staff were fantastic and made themselves available at all times. And it had over the top views of the ocean and the sunset. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJK60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi DK60763.......thanks for the great review on your stay in Mot Mot Hideaway.....the lower level of Villa Mot Mot......it's one of our most popular suites for two......secluded......amazing ocean views.....lots of wildlife visits......and that HUGE outdoor terrace with a full kitchen......and a hammock....plus the services of Diego as your concierge......and all of the amenities of Tulemar.....4 pools....our beach......hiking trails......the resort shuttle......and our location......right in the heart of Manuel Antonio.......thanks, again for booking with us.....we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,076
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,116
701
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in Lower Casa Panorama (the next house down), while our friends stayed at Casa de Frutas, and we spent the bulk of our days (while not out on activities) at Casa de Frutas.

Casa de Frutas shows the incredible love its owners have for it, with attention to detail everywhere, from the architecture with its open design, the comfortable furniture, the beautiful art, and the incredible flowers (love Flower Thursdays). Everything is top notch. The view, from any room, as well as the pool, is jaw dropping. Also, having ready access to a washing machine/dryer and to a dedicated ice machine was really nice.

We had the best of both worlds, as Lower Casa Panorama is no slouch either (although it can't compare to Casa de Frutas). It felt a bit more like a typical condo rental, very nice, but not the high standards of Casa de Frutas. It does have air conditioning though (very much appreciated)! I've also stayed in enough places where the shower was small with poor water pressure... Definitely NOT the case here. The view is incredible from here as well, although not quite Casa de Frutas.

Also, during our stay, we saw more monkeys (squirrel/tete and capuchin) and sloths at Casa de Frutas than when we went to the Manuel Antonio National Park! They regularly were in the trees no more than 20-30 feet from the house. Within 2 hours of being there, one squirrel monkey was chasing another, and fell into the pool. It was a riot, much like seeing a cat fall into a bathtub.

The beach is beautiful, but is a steep walk down (I was too lazy to walk back up, and leveraged the shuttle service instead). The staff there are excellent, and there is a nice breakfast/lunch outdoor restaurant there, along with bar service, all charged to your rental.

The community pool is also beautiful, with the same bar service, although the chaise lounges tend to go very quickly.

The staff for both homes are wonderful as well. I found them friendly, unobtrusive, and professional. And I can't recommend Mauricio Jara enough. Concierge and general property manager extraordinaire! He has to be the most friendly, helpful person alive. His connections into the surrounding community are deep, and his name carries weight all over. Mention Mauricio sent you, and you get the best service ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
HI Anne M......thanks for your dual reviews......on Casa de Frutas and the lower suite at Casa Panorama.......we loved having you and your friends with us......one of the advantages of Tulemar is the large selection of accommodations......at all different prices.....from 1 to 5 bedroom suites/bungalows and villas.....and we often get larger groups and families like yours renting multiple properties.......Tulemar is really like a neighborhood......and these two properties are next door neighbors.......and both are very popular......Casa de Frutas is one of our premier, private villas.....luxury, design, ambiance and amazing ocean views.......check our web site to see which Hollywood stars have been recent guests.....and Casa Panorama Lower Suite......one bedroom with a king bed, bath and living/dining/kitchen with a great balcony and ocean views......perfect for a couple.....secluded and romantic too...very popular....all of our properties come with the amenities of Tulemar.....our beach......4 pools......hiking trails......resort shuttle......and all the wildlife......thanks for your comments on Mauricio too.......he takes care of Casa de Frutas......plus he is my business partner here in Tulemar.......so his concern is for all of our guests........thanks, again, for taking the time to post the review and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at Tulemar bungelows May 2013. Beautiful setting. Gorgeous, private, uncrowded beach. Inside the gated community is peaceful, beautiful and perfectly manicured property. Our bungelow was all glass-enclosed in the middle of the rainforest with views of the ocean. The employees were enthusiastic and made our stay very special. You feel far away from it all-and right outside the gates are plenty of restaurants and groceries.
Best vacation I have ever had.
Thank you to all the staff!
I would recommend Tulemar to anyone.

Room Tip: We had the small bungelow. It was plenty of room and the floor to ceiling glass was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi anne d......thanks for the kind words on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit......the Bungalows are fun to stay in....."jungle rustic" in design......perched on the hillside overlooking the ocean.....amazing views......and you're right......Tulemar sits in 33 acres of jungle.....but right outside our front gates are more than 10 restaurants......2 ATM's.....and a grocery store.....all within a 2 block radius......it's the perfect location.....thanks, again, for taking the time to post the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I traveled to Costa Rica with one of my friends last month and we had no idea what part of Costa Rica we should visit. We took a look at Trip Advisor and saw Tulemar had absolutely amazing reviews. After reading all of the reviews, we decided that we wanted to stay there. They were amazing and helpful when we had any questions. They booked all of our tours for us and had the packet of information ready for us to give us all of the necessary information for each tour. Julien was our concierge and he was wonderful. The first night we were there, we did the Night Jungle Tour which we didn't realize did not include transportation, so Julien gave us a ride to the place where the tour was located. No questions asked. My friend signed up to take some surfing lessons but they ended up not being so great because of the tides and inattentiveness of the instructor, and Tulemar made sure that we were not charged for anything. The property was beautiful and had an amazing small private beach. Everyone that worked at the hotel was very professional and courteous. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone (as long as you don't mind hiking!) I will go back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda78910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Amanda78910.......thanks for the kind words about your stay and Julien.....your personal concierge......one of the things that makes us special is the personal concierge service that we provide.....not just to handle the normal things........but the problems too.....(like the surf lessons that didn't go as planned).....or the suitcase that didn't show up......or a quick trip to the local pharmacy......our concierge team will makes your trip easy and much more fun.....remember too, that you don't have to hike around Tulemar.....we do have our resort shuttle that will give you a lift to our beach, one of the 4 different pools or the front gates if you decide to leave Tulemar for dinner or shopping........thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Tulemar Bungalows. The bungalow was very nice and spacious and the view was amazing. We enjoyed the private beach and beachside restaurant. The landscape was so lush and beautiful. Chris and Julien made us feel very pampered! They took care of us by making restaurant and sightseeing reservations. We would highly recommend Tulemar and hope to come back again with our family.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pam U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Pam U.....we loved having you with us for your 25th wedding anniversary......so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Tulemar Bungalow and your stay.......Chris and Julien are two of our best concierges.......(as you can see by the reviews).......they'll make your stay easy.....helping with all of the details......transportation to dining to activities to massages/spa services (right in your villa)......thanks for staying with us and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm still in ah of how amazing this place was. Came here with my husband and about 10 of his co-workers. We had 3 villas between all of us and have been here for 4 nights. I do NOT want to leave, it's beautiful.The staff here is incredible and it's nice and quite for those who want to relax. Private beach with ALL amenities included and drivers to take you up and down the hill (from villa to beach).
The walk in showers were incredible, probably the best shower I've EVER been in (big shower head coming out of ceiling). Shower while watching monkeys jump from trees? What more could you ask for?
This place is a must. Worth every cent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Frog villa (408). Others stayed beside us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taramc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi taramc8....thanks for the review.......I love it when guests write while they are still here.......and you know.....you don't have to leave.....you can stay as long as you like......yes.....our Buena Vista 3 Bedroom Villas are amazing......guests love the indoor/outdoor showers in EACH of the bedrooms......having a view while showering in the warm tropical air is very special.......hope you're enjoying the jacuzzi on the main deck as well......if there is anything else we can do to make your stay a little more special.....please let us know......and when you do decide to leave.....we hope you come back soon.......thanks for booking with me at 4tulemar.com.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked our stay at Tulemar online and you never really know what to expect. We were not disappointed. Chris sent us an email right away with details about our arrival and the services that are offered there. The bungalow was clean, private, spacious and unique. The grounds were impeccable, filled with sloths, monkeys and star fruit trees. Chris was our guy from start to finish. His dining suggestions were bang on and he always went the extra mile. While we were eating at a small local soda (his recommendation) he popped in just to make sure we were happy. He was clearly off duty. Local chocolates in the room and a big smile are just a few of the things that made our stay memorable. Tulemar is not a cheap place to stay by any means but it was a fun and unique splurge. Drinks poolside or at the beach were way too expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi jocairey....thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows and for mentioning Chris, your personal concierge......one of the great things about booking and staying with us is that we provide a personal concierge service right from the very start of your stay until the end.......to help with all of the details.....someone to ask for advice......or for additional information about the area......Chris is one of our "stars"......our guests love him......he really wants to make sure everyone enjoys their stay......and is available as much or as little as you would like......thanks, again, for posting your review and we'd love to have you back with us again.....Chris will be ready!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,508 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing