We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica Getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Wonderful time! Beautiful rain forests and beaches. This trip was really fantastic. We were looking for a "beachy vacation" but something different than just sitting on the beach and staying in a hotel. Costa Rica is so much more than that. The Tulemar Bungalows and Villa area were exceptional and we are planning on going back! We stayed at Casa Panarama and was just perfect! Beautiful, comfortable, everything you need with a beautiful view! Our house manager Kimberly was sooo helpful and friendly. She was very accomodating and took care of all the particulars! Great restaurants just 5 min away, friendly people, nature, beautiful wildlife, ZIPLINES! Something for everyone. The private beach was perfect! Relaxing, with kayaks, boogie boards, etc. Going back to tulemar for sure! Brought our kids (20 somethings) and their friends, and all had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekker344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

HI Trekker344....thanks for your great comments on Casa Panorama, Tulemar and Kimberly.....your personal concierge....one of the things that make booking with us so special is our personal concierge service.....and Kim at Casa Panorama is one of our best......helping make your stay perfect.....either with lots of activities.....or nothing at all.....just enjoying the Tulemar Beach or one our four pools or the amazing views from Casa Panorama.....we'd love to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,900 - 1,906 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

Overall property:
Tulemar is located on the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, and it nestles on a hillside that goes all the way down to their private beach. There's a main path for cars and paved walkways to get to the different bungalows or houses. Everywhere you walk you'll see plenty of beautiful tropical vegetation as well as fun wildlife. There are also a couple short hike trails to go down to the beach, and we saw a bunch of monkeys just chilling on the trees. The office is at the top right by the entrance, and from there to the beach is about a 5-10 min walk downhill. It's a steep hill though so it'll take longer to go back up. On a hot and humid day, that walk up will be rough. Luckily, you can call for the staff to pick you up from the beach so you can skip the long walk. The beach is nice, and it is private. They have towels, kayaks and boogie boards you can borrow for free. The girl at the beach cafe made really good drinks, but the food was just ok in our opinion. There are two main pools, the views are great and are cozy. It's a great place to hang with a few drinks as well. There isn't a main restaurant that runs all day long. They have food at the beach cafe as well as by the pool. They don't open for dinner though. I believe you can order room service in the evening or order delivery. We didn't do anything of that though because we either went out or cooked at night. Overall, we didn't eat on the property much, but the grounds are absolutely beautiful and the view is amazing.

The bungalows:
We stayed at two different bungalows during our 7 night stay. Even though the bungalows look the same from the outside, they are dressed differently. Our first one was really nice, with an amazing ocean and jungle view, and the bed was great, AC worked perfect, bathroom nice and clean. There were also pots and pans, salt and pepper for cooking. The trees around this bungalow made it somewhat private, where I didn't have to close the blinds or went to the bathroom to change. We loved how spacious this bungalow felt and everything else was just great.
While the second bungalow we stayed in was still nice, it definitely did not feel as great as the first one. This one was very close to another bungalow, so we could always hear the kids next door. The view of this one wasn't as great either. Much of the ocean was blocked by the trees in front. The furniture was nice, but everything else seemed a bit dated. And maybe it was the size of the furniture or the way they were placed, the place seemed slightly less spacious than the first one. We also had a small problem with the AC in the beginning, but it was quickly fixed. There was nothing seriously wrong with this bungalow; it was still great and comfortable. It just wasn't has perfect as our first one.

Service/staff:
Absolutely amazing service. Chris was there to take care of our every needs, anything from booking our tours, arranging transportation, to finding salt and pepper for us. Everyone else was nice and friendly and attentive.

Bottom line, we really enjoyed our stay at Tulemar even with the flaws. I'd recommend this when staying at Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Turbozone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Thanks, Turbozone, for your review of Tulemar and the Tulemar Bungalows......we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us......and we'll plan on having the "flaws" you mentioned worked out......because we want you to be 100% happy next time......our Bungalows are all basically the same.....except for the locations.....there are 14 of them dotted along the hillside.....great ocean views....the trees do grow up...but we try to keep them trimmed......keeping the views open and the wildlife close by......we do have a total of 4 pools in Tulemar......one for adults only....the other three spread around the resort......thanks for the kind words on Chris....your personal concierge.....he really enjoyed having you as his guests!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom bungalow. It was amazing and perfect for our family - boys ages 8 and 6. The views from the bungalow were unmatched. The private beach was absolutely perfect for a beach vacation with children... They provided everything we needed to enjoy full days at the beach. The service was awesome and the prices for food and beverage were manageable. I will agree with other reviewers that the bungalow was outdated, but if you know that going in and are willing to overlook that and be appreciative of the amazing trip you are having, it is totally fine. I enjoyed having a kitchenette to have our own meals. Our room was a little dirty the first day we arrived, we called our concierge and that was fixed when we came back from the beach that day. I would recommend this place to anyone and do hope to return another time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Hi Jackaholic.....we loved having you and your family with us......glad you enjoyed the Tulemar Bungalow......they do look exactly like the photos on our web site.....with amazing views......they are great for small families or couples......we also have larger villas.....like Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas......and we all appreciate our beach......so tropical......warm waters......gentle waves......sorry the room wasn't cleaned properly when you arrived.....we're already working on that......hope to see you back soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Panorama at Tulemar! The private beach and nature walks to the beach (road also an option for those uninterested) are fantastic! We enjoyed the use of boogie boards, kayaks and beach chairs with umbrellas. There's a great amount of hustle and bustle here - not too busy but not sleepy either. We wish there had been a more affordable bar by the beach but the limited audience is probably what drives that. Located very close to this great place are some wonderful restaurants. Kimberly helped us customize our 3 days in the area and we loved her recommendations, time and advice. It was great to have a kitchen in our condo so we could make occasional meals at home. We saw monkeys, sloths, lizards...

Room Tip: Casa Panorama lower, South was great for the two of us! Nice views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2TravelDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Hi Love2TravelDuo.....thanks for your great review on Casa Panorama and Tulemar......we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.....Kim....your personal concierge....is a star in Tulemar....and Casa Panorama is aptly named.....with one of the best views in the resort! I'm glad you enjoyed our hiking trails thru the jungle and down to the beach.....a great way to see lots of wildlife! Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This place is perfect - we stayed in the Villa Mot Mot lower from June 1-9. Secluded in the forest with great ocean views. Private beach with free kayaks, snorkel gear, boogie boards, etc. Great restaurants nearby (although a little pricey). Saw lots of wildlife (lizards, a few snakes, monkeys, sloths, etc.) at the resort. Beautiful scenery. Bill, Diego and Vanessa were great and scheduled great tours.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Hi Ben....thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review on Villa Mot Mot, Tulemar and your personal concierges......they really do make your trip so much easier......Diego has been around so long.....he knows all the best guides.....and he's a local, champion surfer! Thanks, again for booking with us and we hope to have you back again soon. By the way, the owner of Villa Mot Mot is doing a complete renovation of the lower suite in October!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Booked a recent stay based off ratings on Tripadvisor. The property is a beautiful secluded oasis in the touristy town of Quepos. The best part about this place is the personal concierge service & its private beach (as the public beaches are more crowded with Americans than Daytona Beach!). To elaborate a bit- your concierge will make all your dinner reservations and book tours. The hotel offers a van service so if you are too tired to haul uphill from the beach back up to your villa or need a ride to a nearby restaurant- you don't need a cab. The beach has a small tiki hut joint you can get food & cocktails (drinks starting at ~10/ each). The beach also provides kayaks, boogie boards, & chairs free of cost! Loved having internet in our rooms (fyi though not at the beach).

We rented one of the suites. While it was quaint (with fresh flowers) & had a great view of the beach, it was small & quite plain for $250/ nite. Some minor issues- our AC was leaking water onto the floor and there was not much privacy. Besides the other couple staying just above us (could hear their every move), other guests who hike along the path had to pass by our balcony! I also found it annoying that I couldn't just make a local call myself and book a tour I wanted (that I found on tripadvisor). They would charge me for the phonecall (a way to use only their affiliated companies).

Bottomline, as my husband put it, its a resort trying to be something its not. "Grabbing a bite to eat" is not easy!- you either hike quite far to the only on-site mediocre beachside restaurant OR be forced to eat at an overpriced place in town. Could imagine it would be a great place for large families or group of friends (could rent an entire villa- then enjoy full kitchen- even a private chef!), really fun & safe for kids. But would not recommend for honeymoons/ couples as it lacks luxury/ comfort/ and style. I wanted to write a really objective review because we were quite disappointed after following previous recs. I've been to Costa Rica several times, stayed in rooms priced $15/day to $400/day- and would not return to this place. Oh AND their website has an online concierge who books your reservation & answers questions..was surprised to find on arrival that this was an outside company and not someone who even works at the resort!

Room Tip: For your first time to CR, I would say go to Arenal Volcano area & stay at Observatory Lodge, Na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank freqtravelerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

HI freqtraveler.....I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us....we'll certainly check the AC and make sure it's not dripping water......the Buena Vista JR Suites within Tulemar are a popular choice......some have balconies/decks that are completely secluded and private.....yours had a great ocean view.....but was more open.....it's all in the design of the suites....and their location on the hillside........we have so many choices within Tulemar.....from the Bungalows.....to Villa Mot Mot to Casa Panorama and the 1 Bedroom Villas.....all offering great accommodations for couples......and larger ones for families or groups......I'm sure there are options you would enjoy.....we do have so many choices for dining within Tulemar.....our beach bar and grill serves breakfast, lunch, snacks and drinks......our poolside cafe serves lunch, drinks and snacks.....we have two restaurants outside of Tulemar that delivers "room service" right to your suite.....just sign the check.....and our free shuttle will take you to any of 10 restaurants and the grocery store within two blocks of our front gates.....all of our accommodations have kitchens....except for the JR Suites...for those who want to prepare meals themselves......I'm glad you enjoyed our personal concierge service.......it really does make your stay easy......they handle all of the details for you.....but I thnk you were a little confused......Julien.....our on line concierge who assisted with your plans prioir to your arrival......works in our office with us.....he's a member of my staff......he would have loved to meet you during your stay.......but we keep him "on line" and on the phone while one of our other concierges handled your stay on site......all of our accommodations have direct dial phones......and yes there is a small charge for local calls.....thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The beach there was great. The room was clean and comfortable and had a fantastic view. There are enough places nearby to walk around and get food and shop a little bit without having to go to Quepos if you don't want to. The staff was very friendly and our concierge was there nearly 24/7. I don't think Orlando ever went off the clock. The food and drink here was a bit on the pricey side but nothing unexpected at all. $9 for most mixed drinks and $4 for beer. Local places were $2.50-$4 for beer and you get a great beach to enjoy your drink at.

There is a lot of wildlife around the property as well. We saw a sloth, numerous lizards, one snake, and 2 different species of monkeys. Best place we stayed at on our whole trip to Costa Rica.

We also had the private dining once as a gift from family for our wedding and it was great. They set us up right on the beach after sundown, put out tons of candles and had 4 or 5 staff down there just for us to make sure it was a great meal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Hi Tim....we were happy to have you with us for your honeymoon......Tulemar is a great for couples too......lots of secluded areas......like our beach and the adults only pool......Orlando, your personal concierge, is wonderful and loved taking care of you during your stay....especially arranging your private dinner on the beach! We hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $148 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing