We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Tulemar”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent spring break at Tulemar, in Casa Panorama South. It was pretty close to a perfect vacation for our group of 8; two families with 4 kids ages 3-13. There was something for everyone to do, from the pool (including a small one for the littlest kids) which was conveniently located just across from our house, to the wonderful beach, with prompt and courteous service for chairs, towels and boogie boards, to the many excursions available. Kimberly was an outstanding host, available at any time to help make our various excursion plans, reccommending restaurants and shopping, even stopping by to let us know when the mama sloth was nearby with her baby. She helped make our vacation as worry-free and fun-filled as could be. We'd highly reccommend Tulemar; this was our first trip to Costa Rica, and feel we chose the perfect place with Tulemar.

Room Tip: Because we stayed in a house, all the rooms were great
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimichoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

HI Mimichoo.....thanks for your review of Casa Panorama and Kimberly, your personal concierge.....we agree.....Tulemar is the perfect place in Manuel Antonio......from our huge selection of accommodations (bungalows to private villas).....to the personal concierge service we provide to make the trip easy....to our beach with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, food and beverage service.....to the dramatic ocean views......the abundant wildlife right on our property.....4 pools......and our location....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio.....it is the place to be in Manuel Antonio! Thanks for taking the time to post and we hope to see you back with us again soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,378)
There are newer reviews for Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,883 - 1,889 of 2,378 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Pros: It's gorgeous, grounds, villas... junior suite no 205 had a magestic view of the ocean and amazing sunsets, quiet, staff more than helpful, security on site, walking distance to ATM, Cafe Milagro, mini market to stock up on snacks, wine, water ( expensive in your room ). Beautiful private beach ( public beach near park entrance is terrible ), good breakfast and fish delicious at beach stall, saw monkeys and sloths on site. Beautiful pool.

Cons: Huge, steep hills, must rely on shuttle bus, no restaurant on site for supper.

Room Tip: Ask for room near the beach, mine was walking distance, good cardio.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueeyedZosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Hi Blueeyed Zosia.....thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our JR Suites.....loved the "pros".....the "cons" are understandable.....Tulemar is "huge".....33 acres of jungle and beach.....which means we have lots of wildlife visits......and it does sit on the hillside....which gives us those amazing ocean views......with the beach below......we do have two restaurants located outside of Tulemar that deliver "room service" for supper.....just sign the check to your suite.....and there are 10 restaurants within two blocks of our front gates.....lots of options for dining.....thanks for taking the time to write the review and we hope to you again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My stay was absolutely fantastic!!!! From the time we checked in it was pure heaven. The service was impeccable and exceeded all my expectations!!! The home was amazing and every night I looked forward to watching the sunset on the bay from the patio!!! The food that was served on the private beach was probably some of the best food I had on the whole trip. The service from the friendly staff was amazing and they catered to my every need. I cannot wait to book my next stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Hi Cole....thanks for your wonderful review of Casa de Frutas and Tulemar.....we loved having you with us.....I know this was your first time in Costa Rica/Tulemar/Casa de Frutas.....we hope you become a "regular" guest! Mauricio and the entire staff at the villa miss you already!

Tulemar Dave
Casa de Frutas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The bungalow was incredible! Very large and the bathroom was beautiful, fresh flowers in the room
The views of the surrounding jungle and the sea were fabulous
nice private beach with activities and food/drinks
Beds were very comfortable
full kitchen
Very romantic!
Staff and hospitality can't be beat
The grounds were very large with private beach and 3 nice swimming pools, one an infinity pool with the most incredible view.
We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Bungalow 15 was great!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lishum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Hi lishum.....thanks for your great review of the Tulemar Bungalow.....we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! The Bungalows are very unique; "tropcial rustic" in design with great ocean views and surrounded by the jungle! Spacious too; one bedroom with two queen beds, bath and living, dining, kitchenette. Air conditioned, but I love to open the windows all around and let the breezes blow in! Thanks for booking with us and we hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in casa panorama south, lower level and everything was amazing!! the rooms were clean and new with a full kitchen and good bathroom. the best was the view---incredible!!!

Kimberly took care of us the second we got to the hotel and she was by far the best help i have ever had in making a vacation as perfect as it could be. while i was still planning in america she always emailed me back quickly and with much information. when we met her she was so friendly, helped coordinate all our activities, and was always accessible to answer questions through a phone call. our stay at Tulemar wouldnt have been as incredible as it was without her!

saw tons of monkeys walking on the 2 different paths to the beach, was amazing being so close to the squirrel monkeys!! got surprised by a howler monkey who was in a tree right above us and scared the pants off us when it roared! we walked to the restaurants in the area every day, took us 5 minutes to walk up the inclined road from panorama to the restaurants. cafe milagro and victorias were amazing! the tapas restaurant was the only place we ate in costa rica that just wasnt good food. we took dips in the pool every day and often just sat outside on our balcony reading a book and watching the gorgeous view of the ocean and trees.
the people were so wonderful and friendly and super helpful chatting with online to plan my stay! (thanks dave!) would LOVE to come back and do all this over again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheapie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

HI Sheapie.....thanks for the wonderful review on Casa Panorama and Tulemar.......and your personal concierge....Kim......one of our Tulemar "stars" and one of the many reasons that our guests love staying at Casa Panorama! Add to that your remarks about our beach....the wildlife in Tulemar.....(monkeys, sloths, exotic birds)......the location (10 restaurants within 2 blocks of our front gates) and the resort pools and it does make Tulemar a remarkable destination in Manuel Antonio. Thanks for booking with us and we'll have Casa Panorama ready for you when you decide to return!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I picked this hotel based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. The views are spectacular. I think the best thing about this place is the private beach. The bungalows were a little outdated, but still very nice. I liked that we could walk from the hotel to a number of great restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow 114.
Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kasil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thanks for your nice comments on Tulemar and the the Tulemar Bungalows.....the views are spectacular......the Bungalows exactly as they appear in our photos......our beach is the best.....tropical and secluded.....and there are 10 restaurants within 2 blocks of our front gates....the perfect location.....thanks again for booking with us at 4tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Casa Panorama North with another couple in Feb-Mar 2012. We looked at a million pictures online and didn't think there was any way that it would meet our expectations, but it did. The house itself was beautiful. The view was breathtaking. We loved having the private beach too. When booking our trip, we couldn't decide between renting a house or staying in a hotel. This was the best of both worlds. Our concierge Bill was incredible! He was able to answer all of our questions and gave us wonderful recommendations for restaurants and activities. He loves his job, and is excellent at it!

Room Tip: Casa Panorama North was amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Hi Kristin....thanks for the great review on Casa Panorama and Bill.....the personal concierge for the villa......he really enjoys his guests......the villa, the amazing views and our beach just make it even better! We'd love to have you back with us again....

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,028 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $148 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing