We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We rented the Nido De Gansos Vacation home..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We rented the Nido De Gansos Vacation home..”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had a family of 7 and we all fit very comfy. The view of the ocean were great. We spent almost all of our time on the patio when we were in the house just sitting by the pool and watching the sunset every night. The property was location in a good area. Easy access to everything. Diego our house manager always made sure we had everything we needed or wanted. We also got a personal chef to come cook for us the first night we arrive and oh boy we had alot of food. Food was good service was great. I cant say how good value was because I felt it was a bit on the expensive side but it did room our family and the house was nice. Even saying that I would probably come back again to stay.

Room Tip: each house is different so you would need to view their floor plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Nido de Gansos is the newest of our "private villas" in Tulemar, located along the hillside with ocean views and its own private pool; we're so glad you enjoyed the stay. One of the benefits of booking with us is the "personal concierge" that we provide. Diego, at Nido de Gansos, knows the best tour guides, activities and private chefs in the area. He can make your stay so much more enjoyable and stress free....

We hope to have you back again....

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,170
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,168
728
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This was my first glass house, and it was worth it for the magnificent scenery, but embarassing when I forgot it wasn't a normal hotel room and undressed in public. Supposedly there were monkeys everywhere, but I kept a lookout through my windows (as others were possibly staring in) and didn't see any wildlife other than the human kind.
The room had no charm, and I was most irritated that at a high end resort, the sheets were about 30 thread count (I honestly felt skin sloughing throughout the night) and by each morning, the fitted sheet with almost no pockets had slipped off the bed entirely. The bathroom was small and totally plebeian with bad plumbing. The bungalow was set on a steep hill that was impossible except for a triathlete to go up or down all the way. My husband is in super shape, and he said the trails to the beach were impassable.
The beach made up for a lot. It was private and had the softest sand I've ever felt. No seaweed, free kayaks and boogie boards. Really no mosquitos which is amazing considering my daughter and I are insect magnets. The beach staff left a lot to be desired. One day we were the only guests there, it had just rained and the chairs were wet, but the beach guy stuck with the one towel per customer rule.
The van driver Guillermo was a good guy and actually drove us to a few unauthorized spots such as the supermarket and ATM. He also drove us to 3 restaurants near the resort which were all good, Marluna, Victoria's and Kapi Kapi. I would stay here again, but would recommend they improve the furnishings and especially the bath amenities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PLUMBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
I often describe our Bungalows as "the kind of house the Jetsons would live in if they lived in Costa Rica - up on stilts with amazing ocean/junlge views and glass all around"....perfect for watching the world, but use the curtains when you want a little privacy....from the monekys or the humans!

Yes, Manuel Antonio sits along the mountain ridge line, from Quepos to the National Park; to get the best views, our villas are situated along the hillside with the beach below. That's one of the reasons we provide a free shuttle within Tulemar, to help get you around the 33 acre resort.

I'm so sorry to hear about the problem with your sheets; I wish we would have known and it would have been corrected for you.

I'm glad to hear you would return to Tulemar, so please, just give me a call and we'll make sure you have a great trip!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Our family of 4 traveled to Costa Rica for Thanksigiving 2011. Our Condo and location was beautiful, Julian our concerige was very accomodating and the wildlife; monkeys, sloths, hummingbirds & iguana's roamed freely on the property. They have a private beach and a couple of nature trails to explore as well. It rained everyday but we just went about our business as ususal, it actually added a little excitment to our tours. We highly recommend the ATV with Rainmaker tour ( you have to see all the waterfalls!); the zip lining; the white water rafting and the Fishing; we caught two beatuiful sailfish (catch and release). The tour guides are awesome and very informative about Costa Rica. We had a wonderful time. If you like calamari, you have to try it at Agua Azul; it was the best I've ever had, sauted and seasoned perfectly, great view too. Another great restauruant was Luna Mar (lobster and shrimp yum!) and Kapi Kapi (seasoned just right - upscale dining) - very good food at both places. Wish we had more time to explore the land but the tours let you see different areas as well. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Higher floors have more scenery - you can see both the ocean and the rainforest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finney_Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Tulemar Bungalows! Yes, we do have lots of wildlife in Tulemar and they can be fun to watch from the bungalows, along our trails or on our beach below!

We're also pleased that you enjoyed Julien, your personal concierge. As you experienced, Julien knows the best tours, tour guides and restuarants in the area, not just the obvious "touristy" ones. Agua Azul is one of our favorites too!

Thanks, again, for staying with us and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was our second trip in a row to Tulemar and it never disappoints. The house is absolutely wonderful, so good it is hard to leave with the ocean views, entertaining monkeys and serene feeling you get by just relaxing. We brought friends with us this year and the house had plenty of space for everyone. We will be back next year, same time, same place. Kimberly, the concierge for Casa Panaroma was there to meet our every need. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drjane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
We loved having you back with us and look forward to next year as well.....we're also glad that you chose Casa Panorama this year.....a wonderful villa for the four of you.....amazing ocean views.....and Kim....your own personal concierge!

See you next year!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

If you are planning on spending any time at all in Manuel Antonio, you simply cannot go wrong with Tulemar. Fabulous location, fabulous facilities, fabulous customer service, fabulous fabulous fabulous. And Kimberley is, without a doubt, the most amazing host EVER! Picked us up from the airport, took us on a tour of the town, made all of our arrangements with the best tours one could hope for, even took us to the market upon our arrival. It was as if we had known her for years! The next time I return to Manuel Antonio (and I most definitely will), Tulemar all the way. Trust me, you cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curt1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thanks for your review of Tulemar! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Casa Panorama and the service provided by Kimberly, your personal concierge! She truly is FABULOUS! One of the benefits of staying in Tulemar with us, besides our beach, hiking trails, amazing ocean views and large selection of suites, bungalows and villas is the personal concierge service we provide with selected properties! We hope to have you back again with us soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2011

5 stars isn't enough to describe how remarkable this place is! My husband and I spent 7 days in Tulemar staying in the Casa Panorama Upper Suite, and it was honestly the best week of our lives.

The House:
-More beautiful than the pictures online, we couldn't believe it!
-Very clean. The maid service comes every day and cleans your entire house for you, provided fresh towels and linens.
-It felt like home. They had several DVDs to watch, so one night when it was raining we just stayed in on the couch, cooked dinner using the BBQ on the balcony, and relaxed watching movies.

The Staff:
-Tom, Kimberly's husband, was our go-to man the entire week and he was by far one of the nicest people I have ever met. We could call him day or night with questions and he was always more than willing to help. He booked all of our tours for us, told us all the best places to go, and even helped drive us places at times.
-David who works down at the bar on the beach was also wonderful. He knew us by name and would chat with us every day when we came down. He also always made sure to point out any and all wildlife for us so that we could have the best experience possible.
-Gabriel was our primary driver throughout Tulemar for the week and he was spectacular. We enjoyed his company and he was always kind and smiling.

The Scenery/Wildlife:
-Monkeys, monkeys, monkeys! We saw so many monkeys, including on our balcony one morning, which was incredible.
-Going in the end of the rainy season, many people warned us that we may be miserable, but we LOVED it! It would rain a little in the early morning, then stop, then start again in the late afternoon which was perfect because our tours would be done by the time the rain started. Our last two days there the sun even came out full force during the day. If you're going to stay in a rainforest why wouldn't you want to go when it's raining? So beautiful and romantic.
-We saw several different animals on our trip and were amazed at how comfortable they were being seen.

The Food:
-Tom directed us to many delicious food places including Kapi Kapi, Victoria's, La Cantina, Byblos, Ronnie's Place, etc. The ceviche and Mahi Mahi in Costa Rica are to die for!

Overall:
My husband has traveled, where as I have not. This was my first destination, so I assumed that perhaps I was just biased in saying that it was the most remarkable place in the world. However, my husband says the same! Everything from the views to the staff was absolutely breathtaking.
Costa Rica was amazing and we will 100% be coming back to Tulemar for years and years to come.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review for Tulemar, Casa Panorama and Tom, your personal concierge! We're so glad you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us! The villa, the views, the beach, the wildlife and even our rains! We're already looking forward to your next arrival!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We just recently got back from the most amazing vacation...and we were just girls! The moment we saw our house 'casa ylang ylang' and it was just amazing... We could not contain our excitement:) way before we went there, Mauricio helped us plan each and every activity and send car to the airport. Our driver Ricardo was so very knowledgable and showed us around with such enthusiasm.. We felt very welcome:) the view from the house so beautiful and the beach was just so serene and the shuttle took us there! Mauricio booked everything for us from restaurants to night clubs to taxi arrangement and everything that we wanted! Very very safe to stay... As we were just girls. Highly recommend this place.... Love it! Love it! It gave us memories of lifetime:)
Aekta

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aektap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
What a fun group of girls! We really enjoyed your stay with us! Casa Ylang Ylang (Buena Vista 3 Bedroom Villa) was perfect for you; three suites, 3 1/2 baths, 3 floors with a private jacuzzi on the deck, all with great ocean views. We're also glad you appreciated Mauricio, your personal concierge to help make the trip easy! Mauricio can arrange your transportation and activities (and you were ACTIVE!) and meals! Hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing