We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway in the jungle”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great getaway in the jungle”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Tulemar durring our belated Honeymoon for about five days in August, what a great experience! We were looking for something a little different than a regular hotel, rooms etc. This was it! We had a great time staying in both a bunglaow as well as a villa Mot Mot lower. We did enjoy the Mot Mot, but the bungalow had a small kitchen where we were able to cook meals and look out to amazing views.
The great thing about Tulemar is that it's sourrounded by nature and the jungle, within the property gates. The beach itself is a reason for staying here, it's private, no one hassles you and there are great drinks close by. Great trails, with amazing views as well as Monkeys, Iguanas and Sloths on site.
I will say that if you are planning on staying here and expect a cookie cutter hotel like atnosphere, this isn't it. It's an amazing piece of land that is very seculded and intertwined with the natural sourroundings. There are plenty of services, pools and a private beach, you are very well taken care of, but it is a very private and seculded property where you wont see or hear many people if you don't want to. Also, there is no resturaunt open for dinner within the property, though just a short walk out the gates you have many options.
Each condo is individually owned, so the rates may vary by season. We went in wet season and it only rained twice, both at night. I had read some reviews about the bungalows not being "updated" in a while. This may be true, but it's not like you are roughing it, it just might not be the latest styles. All the Dave's are great as well as Julien who really goes out of his way to help out his clients in anyway possible. Stay here, you will love it!


Thanks again!!!

Room Tip: Fly Sansa Airlines!!! it's easyier and cheaper than driving 2.5 hours or taking Nature Air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinSd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thanks for such a wonderful review and complete description of your stay at Tulemar! We loved having you with us and hope to see you again! Just a note, breakfast is served daily at our poolside cafe and lunch, drinks and snacks at our beach bar and grill. We have "in room" dinner delivery from two local restaurants and there are 10 other restaurants within two blocks of our front gates! Lots of choices....

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,161
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,164
725
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our family of four (children ages 8 & 10) loved our stay in the upper 2 levels of Casa Panorama South. The two bedroom, 2 1/2 bath house was spacious, nicely furnished and very clean with beautiful views of the ocean and trees below. My husband and I enjoyed getting up early and sitting on our deck sipping coffee and listening to the birds and howler monkeys (very loud!).
We loved the private beach with the kayaks and boogie boards. There were plenty of chairs and it was never crowded. We especially enjoyed our walks to and from the beach either on the nature trails or along the tree lined road where we always saw howler monkeys, squirrel monkeys, white faced monkeys and sloths.
What made our trip so relaxing was being in the competent care of the house manager, Kimberly. She picked us up from the airport, took us shopping, booked our guided tour to the park and two days of surfing lessons and checked in with us every day to offer restaurant recommendations and helpful advice. We enjoyed getting to know her and sharing many stories and laughs. She even helped to rescue an injured white faced monkey who liked to visit our hot tub.
We highly recommned Casa Panorama South to anyone visiting the Manual Antonio area!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thanks for a wonderful review of your stay in Casa Panorama; we really enjoyed having you as our guests! Casa Panorama was made for families like yours with two bedrooms, two and 1/2 baths on two floors with a great living, dining and kitchen "social center" and large balcony with amazing ocean views! Add to that the personal concierge service from Kimberly and it's the perfect vacation villa in Tulemar. We hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

From the moment of first contact, when we called 2 weeks before arrival, till the final day of our family's fabulous Costa Rican adventure the Tulemar staff was exceptional.
They meet or exceeded our expectations continually throughout our stay. Julien's knowledge and courteous demeanor provided the necessary support to allow our family of 4 (2 teenagers) to get the most out of our experience in Costa Rica.
The facilities were phenomenal. Bungalow was spacious with excellent amenities. Private beach and attendants were beyond compare. We could have spent all our time on site and been satisfied. However the location also served as the perfect base for some memorable adventures. Manuel Antonio park provided life long memories. ADR Adventure surpassed our wildest imagination. Again Julien was crucial to arranging these excursions and hooking us up with reputable quality providers.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt18-20family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thanks for your post....we're happy you enjoyed your stay in one our bungalows.....yes, Julien.....our young man from France.....loves providing personal concierge service to our guests.....helping with your transportation to Manuel Antonio....your tours and activities.....dining options.....and taking care of those little "emergencies" during your stay.....add the beach....the wildlife....the location in the heart of Manuel Antonio....and the amazing ocean views.....makes Tulemar a very special place to stay.....hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Our family spent six nights at Casa Panorama in mid-August. The property is exceptionally well maintained, both inside and out, and the ocean and jungle views from the massive upstairs balcony were simply amazing. Diego and Chris checked in with us every morning and evening to help us plan our day and make restaurant and taxi reservations. The private beach was clean and uncrowded, and the infinity pool was very popular with our five year old twin boys. They also loved seeing the monkeys, sloths and iguanas that were on the property. We loved our stay at Casa Panorama and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcarlin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
We loved having your family with us; your sons are adorable! Casa Panorama does have it all; the amazing ocean views, the service from your personal concierges Diego and Chris, our Tulemar Beach and the wildlife! Hope to have you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Tulemar is situated on a large hillside property a short ride from Manuel Antonio national park. A free shuttle service will run you around the place (it's that large, and steep) and to local points of interest, restaurants, shops, etc. The private beach has a cabana for lunch and drinks, plus sea kayaks and boogie boards to borrow. Despite being situated in a cove the waves can still be pretty rough but the beach is kept clean. The staff was pleasant, well bilingual and very accommodating. Rooms are private, generally not facing each other and with an ocean view. Our balcony had a table and chairs which was nice for breakfast and the evening glass of wine, plus a hammock. Note that smaller rooms have a half kitchen and not one you can really prepare a meal at. Several good restaurants are within walking distance as is the grocery store and ATM. I was sick our last day and the staff arranged for a local pharmacy to deliver medicine in a driving rainstorm, so excellent service all around. The gym is offsite and costs $15 per day (didn't use, and it's not affiliated), however you will get enough exercise just walking from the beach to your room a few times if you don't call the shuttle van.

Room Tip: If you want to cook, get a larger room with full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrblondny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to post! We hope you're feeling better, after your illness on the last day. Not the best way to end your vacation, but at least it wasn't at the start! We do have a pharmacy "on call" as well as a 24 hour emergency medical office "just in case". Hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We rented Casa Panorama North lower, and were blown away with how beautiful our view was!! It was even better than seen online, and it was well kept and very clean. the use of the shuttle on the property (steep hills!) was great when you didnt want to walk to the beach. The beach itself is amazing, so beautiful and quiet, and with David & Daniella there to assist you it cant get any better. Diego & Vanessa helped us get into our house and with booking adventures in the area, and recomendations on where to eat. They were not just great, they were spectacular. Besides the great location- very close to many good restaurants & Quepos as well, the people here make it the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephBeck8611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Casa Panorama....the name really does describe the views! The villa, the views, our own beach, but especially the people really make Tulemar special! Thanks for staying with us and hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

How many 'O's can I put in the word love to express how much we adored this place? From the moment we arrived (excessively early - apprx. 6.5 hours early after a red eye flight) we were taken care of. Dave, a charming fellow Californian (previously), welcomed us and introduced us to wonderful Julian who would be our designated consierge for the duration of our five night stay. Julian gave us a tour of the grounds, drove us into town to get a feel for Manuel Antonio, and dropped us off at a great breakfast place (forgot the name but it is referred to as the "Starbucks of Costa Rica"). We walked the short distance back and hung out at the private beach until our room was ready.

And what a room! My dream of staying in a treehouse felt satisfied. We stayed in one of the bungalows the first night where we had practically 360 degree views of the jungle just inches from our hands and the ocean in the distance. There was no deck but I loved the large space and having a kitchenette. Julian also took us to the store so we could pick up groceries for our attempt at local cuisine. (***Note- Consume as much Lezano (condiment) as you can as you're not allowed to bring it in your carry-on, even if purchased at the airport. Better yet, check luggage and leave a lot of extra space for the big bottles. You'll be glad you did!)

We stayed in Mot-Mot for the last three nights. We loved the porch and the hammock and our in-house pet iguana we nicknamed Tito. Although smaller, it seemed more updated than the bungalow, though they were doing some construction on the bungalows while we were there so perhaps that is changing.

The private beach is one of the biggest sells of Tulemar. It's raked clean and pristine and you don't have to worry about anyone trying to sell you things. David, who hands out towels, bodyboards, kayaks, etc., is just the neatest guy and we were always glad to see him. Kayaking was great. Also, if you're considering doing the fairly expensive snorkeling excursion offered by an outside company, don't. They snorkle very near Tulemar's beach. Purchase your own gear (other than fins b/c Tulemar has those) and take a kayak out just a ways to do it for free. Oh, and if you're from CA, you will LOVE how warm this water is!

Not to be missed: Salsipuedoes (food and live music) and Aqua Azul (delicious!) restaurants within walking distance, Catedral trail at the park, and ADR adventure tour (hands-down the most fun you'll ever have!).

Thank you to all the folks at Tulemar and especially to Julian. You made our second "honeymoon" an absolutely amazing, unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfever104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thanks for the great review and story of your stay! After the red eye flight from the West Coast and the shuttle flight from San Jose, I knew you needed COFFEE from Cafe Milagro and a great breakfast! Yes, the Tulemar Bungalows are like living in a tree house (I bought one and live in it year round!) plus you got to spend part of your time in Villa Mot Mot, one of our most popular villas. Thanks for the comments on David at our beach; he really is a great guy and loves to get to know our guests. We're glad you enjoyed your second honeymoon with us and we hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave (originally from Fresno)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing