We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Location - Excellent Service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Location - Excellent Service”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at Tulemar August 1 - 8th, 2011 in Casa Panorama South lower level and completely enjoyed our stay. The property is beautiful with breathtaking views from the balcony. The grounds are lush and well-maintained and the location is conveniently located to all of the restaurants/bars in Manuel Antonio. When spending time at Tulemar's private beach you truly feel immersed in Costa Rica's natural beauty. But what really made our trip outstanding was the staff. Kimberly, our concierge, was available for all of our needs and offered excellent recommendations. Danielle and Luis at the beach bar were the warmest and friendliest people we have met - even giving me daily Spanish lessons. The Costa Rican people, in general, were extremely kind and hospitable. We are looking forward to returning with our children.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thanks for posting the review on Casa Panorama and Tulemar....we're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.....Casa Panorama is a great villa.....but as you pointed out.....it's the service that really makes the difference....from Kimberly, your personal concierge, to the staff at the beach bar and grill.....we'd love to see you and your family back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,077
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,117
701
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

From the moment I found the website and starting booking this trip everyone has been extremely helpful! I booked through Dave at -------. I was then assisted by Mauricio the house manager. I was able to email him any questions I had and he responded within the hour. We went to the national park, canyoning, sailing and white water rafting. Mauricio assisted with all booking and the companies picked us up at our front door to go on the excursions! The villas were breathtaking! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaritaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hi...thanks for the quote "Tulemar is where you want to be!".....I love it....and we all agree.....I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Casa Ylang Ylang.....and the services of Mauricio....your personal concierge that we provide.....he really does make the trip easier for you....hope to have you back with us again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

So romantic and the people so very kind! Zip line tour through the rain forest - heaven on earth!! Loved it so much we extended our vacation!!! Squirrel monkeys on our porch every day - loved feeding them bananas!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larkmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thanks for posting a review for us.....yes the Tulemar Bungalows are very romantic.....perched on the hillside....overlooking the ocean....surrounded by jungle.....especially with warm, tropical rains in the evenings.....magical! Just a note, while feeding the monkeys may be fun/unique, it really isn't healthy for the monkeys.....bacteria from your hands can make them sick....it also makes them dependent on getting fed and they can become aggressive if they don't get food....so please enjoy watching the wildlife and let them find food the natural way! Hope to see you back!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We loved Tulemar, the large jungle estate was just beautiful. Our bungalow #111 was adequate for our family of 4. It was spotlessly clean and the panoramic views just stunning. Monkeys right outside our windows nearly every day jumping around in the trees and on our roof! Just so much wildlife everywhere, too many to mention! Private beach was really nice, didn't need to worry about our kids or beach peddlers pestering us. Use of boogie boards and sea kayaks was also a nice touch. Loved Julien our concierge! He just couldn't do enough for us. He even brought us freshly baked brownies for my husbands birthday - they were still warm and awesome! We booked though Dave at [--].

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank amdavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thanks for the great review on our Tulemar Bungalow.....we really enjoyed having you and your family with us.....you were wonderful guests......yes the bungalows have great views and lots of visits by wildlife.....I love hearing the monkeys running across the roof! Glad you enjoyed the beach too...complimentary lounge chairs, umbrellas, sea kayaks, boogie boards and towel service make going to the beach easy! Thanks for the kind words about your personal concierge, Julien. He is getting to be famous for those brownies! Hope to see you all back in Tulemar again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed for 8 nights in one of the Tulemar bungalows, and can honestly say we had one of the best vacations we've ever had. We booked through Dave at [---] and would highly recommend that anyone visiting Tulemar do the same - these guys were fabulous! Our concierge, Julien, was incredinly kind and thoughtful. He showed us around, took us to get groceries, took care of all our dinner, tour, and transportation bookings, and even showed up at our door with freshly baked brownies when we got back from our zip-line expedition! Our family has travelled all over the world, but the level of genuinely kind and thoughtful servive at Tulemar beat anywhere else we've stayed.

The property itself is fantastic. Our bungalow had an incredible view and a wonderful sense of privacy - pretty much nothing but jungle and ocean from the windows! The beach is lovely, and being able to stay down there for lunch (or drinks!) was a bonus. The folks down at the beach could not have been nicer and they make sure you get chairs set up just where you'd like, as well as towels, boogie boards, and kayaks.

We didn't rent a car, and it was definitely no problem not to have one. There are wonderful restaurants within walking distance of Tulemar, and if we wanted to go a bit further afield to eat Julien took are of getting us transportation. We also toured Manuel Antonio and went on a zip-line canopy tour, both highly recommended.

But the very best part of our visit was the animals! We saw sloths, several kinds of monkeys, and armadillos right on the property, and many more fascinating animals when we visited the Maunuel Antonio park. For us this was the highlight of our trip - to be so close to these creatures and to be able to sit and watch monkeys and sloths right at the beach or while we were having lunch. It was really amazing. We were travelling with our 13 year old (animal loving) daughter, and for her it was an experience she will never forget.

We can't recommend Tulemar, and booking through Dave, highly enough. And we definitely can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Hi "topico"....thank you so much for the wonderful review of Tulemar....we loved reading it......you made all of the points we want "future" guests to know about....from booking with us....to the value of having a personal concierge (Julien) to handle all of the details of your stay.....the bungalows...the amazing ocean views.....the wildlife right on the property....our beach.....and the service from everyone....thanks again for taking the time to post and we hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We recently stayed for a week here. For basically the same price of the major hotels here, there is no comparison. We stayed in Casa panorama, beautiful views, monkeys on the balcony in the morning. The service at this property between Diego, Vanessa and Chris is beyond attentive. If you stay here, we had Chris cook for us 3 times. The meals at the restaurants in town are a little pricey, Chris hands down is the best way to go here. His love for cooking shows thru, his meals were fantastic and he's a great guy. Diego and Vanessa we're extremely helpful and checked in every day with us to see what we needed, what our activity is, etc. Costa Rica is great, but if I stayed elsewhere I can't say that the experience would have been as great. Everyone we talked to or visited us on the property couldn't believe they missed this place. Having a private beach here on the property is huge too. David down at the beach does it all for you basically. In summary, so glad I found this place, I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thanks, FrankV70, for the great review on Casa Panorama....the views are amazing.....and the visits by the monkeys are always exciting......but I think you are right....the service provided by Diego, Vanessa and Chris makes it even better! Everyone LOVES Chef Chris too, his meals are a special delight! Hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I am not sure where to start- except it was incredible. We want to go back ASAP....
The people are just kind and genuine. Everyone we encountered was caring which just made the trip even more enjoyable. The only regret I have is that we had to go home. My suggestion would be to make sure you spend one night with Chef Chris and his assistant David in your bungelow/house for an amazing homemade meal. Watching him actually cook the fresh local foods and the great conversation made it our best night.
Julien takes care of everything for you and have very little to think about. His kindness and recommendations was spot on. If you want a great family or couples trip- this is the place. I would book the trip through Dave www.4tulemar.com.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordanalexasam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write your review of Casa del Mar....we're so glad that you enjoyed yourselves.....I also loved your comment about the people of Costa Rica being so special and making a big difference in your stay....I agree 100%....from the tour guides to the shop keepers to the restaurants.....Costa Ricans are proud of their country and so happy to share it with you....as is Julien, your concierge.... (our young Frenchman-but now a legal resident!) ...thanks again for your comments and we'd love to have you back with us!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,509 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing