We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Tulemar Casa Panorama!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved Tulemar Casa Panorama!”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights in Casa Panorama (can't remember if it was north or south, but it was the honeymoon suite on the bottom of the tri-level home). We are so happy that we ended up here. Our concierge, Chris, was nothing short of amazing. He picked us up from the airport, showed us around town, and around the property, brought us to our room (explained everything to us) and even cooked us an amazing meal one of our nights! He's a great chef, and it was so fun having a private dinner in our room, and also getting to know him better. He also helped us make reservations at other restaurants and just ensured that our stay was as perfect as can be.
The only downside to Tulemar is that depending on where your room is, it's a bit of a hike up to the main road. (And to the beach, for that matter.) They do have a free shuttle which is very handy, but one night we waited forever for the shuttle that said it would only be 10 minutes. Tico time... really not a big deal.
We found the room to be very comfortable and clean, and loved just hanging out on the deck looking at the view. When we come back to Costa Rica, we would definitely stay at Tulemar again. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Panorama - Lower Suite (it may be Lower, but the views are still AMAZING!)....and thanks for your comments on Tulemar and Chris.....Chris is a very special person.....he enjoys his position as one of our concierges....but he LOVES his assignments as "private chef" even more! Many of our guests take advantage of this service for a special meal prepared right in the villa....(you can see more of Chris and our private chef services on our web site).....yes, the shuttle can be slow in arriving at times, I apologize for that....hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,047
    128
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,094
696
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed in Casa Panorama Upper for a short stay in May 2011. When we walked in we fell in love. Since it is someone's house that they rent out, it feels like exactly that, your home away from home. We greeted by our very gracious and friendly concierge, Kimberly, who was available for us 24/7. It was the perfect way to end our action packed trip, relaxing near the beach! We miss Costa Rica!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Thanks for your review on Casa Panorama and Kimberly; both are "stars" in Tulemar! Casa Panorama has one of most amazing ocean views of any property in Tulemar!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Our drive from the San Jose airport to the Tulemar development was amazing. I highly recommend a stop at the bridge over the Tarcoles River to see the giant crocodiles that inhabit the area. We also stopped to view magnificent Macaws and Parrots along the way. As you get closer to Quepos, you will pass teak plantations and palm orchards, both critical to the local economy.
The Tulemar development is centrally located in Manuel Antonio. As you drive through the front gates, it is apparent that the community of Tulemar is very secure and immaculately maintained. However, as you arrive at Casa de Frutas and walk through the beautifully carved front doors, the most amazing view imaginably will take your breath.
Our group of six was amazingly comfortable. The bungalow in which we stayed on the first level of the house also had breath taking views of the ocean and surrounding jungle. While having coffee on the balcony outside the bungalow, we watched the monkeys as they made their daily migration through the area. A mother sloth and her baby also spent the better part of the week in the branches of a tree adjacent to the bungalow.
We took advantage of the private beach almost every day including the wonderful beach side food & beverage service. The beach area is well designed both for those who enjoy the sun as well as those who prefer a comfortable seat in the shade. Although we enjoyed the ten minute walk down to the beach, it was a very steep route. There is a shuttle service that will deliver you and pick you up when you are ready to come back.
In addition to the wonderful house and amenities of Tulemar, Mauricio and the great team of people associated with Casa de Frutas took care of our every need. Whether making arrangements for excursions and activities, or making suggestions for dinner, Mauricio was right there to attend to every detail.
I highly recommend Tulemar, and especially Casa de Frutas. We are already looking at the calendar to insure we can go back again next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomasLongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thanks for the comments about your drive to Tulemar/Casa de Frutas.....we were happy to arrange a private van and driver to bring you over....our van service knows the best places to stop along the way.....we also appreciate your comments on Casa de Frutas and Tulemar and hope to see you and your friends again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We just returned from 3 nights/ 4 days here and left with some mixed feelings. First, the good review...EXCELLENT location. I've never stayed anywhere with a better view. Our bungalow had over a 180 degree view of the ocean. The private beach was great...uncrowded, with a staff, kayaks, boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas, towels, and in a cove that made it a perfect boarding and swimming spot for the kids. We dealt mostly with Andreas and Eduardo as our concierges, setting up activities and helping us on the beach....they were great, friendly and hardworking.

The not so great...first, I shoud point out that we were in one of the older bungalows. We booked through a tour company and apparently had no choice, this is what was booked for us. If you are booking on your own, check out the premium villas if the price warrants. Most of the glittering reviews here come from the updated villas or private villas, in regards to how amazing the accomodations were. Our bungalow was decent, the only 'luxury' I'd ascribe to it was the view. But I kept telling myself this is central america, not the U.S., it's all relative. The decor had been updated...the paint, linens, so it was visually appealing. There was a small fridge that was new. The bathroom was sorely neglected, a large shower but with cracked and dirty tiles. I supposed it just hadn't made the update list yet. One day housekeeping took our used towels and forgot to leave us any new ones. The furniture, like another reviewer said, was not comfortable for lounging around in. Beds were firm (which seem to be the norm for Costa Rica) and the "couch" in the LR was actually a day bed (great for the kids but difficult to relax on) and the rest...hard backed chairs. No balcony. The AC unit was difficult to figure out, don't know if I ever did really. The bed directly under the AC would be freezing while the other room would be hot. At one point I accidentally turned the LR unit off and couldn't figure out how to turn it on, until the last day when my son found out that the control on the wall came off and was actually a remote. Well no wonder. I figure this could be easily remedied with some directions either on the wall or in the description book they have in the LR.

After noticing the varying accomodations (it's not like what we paid to stay here was 'cheap') what really stimied us was the confusion of the place and inconsistencies in communication. When we checked in we were told there were FOUR pools! Our in room guidebook said THREE. Our map of the property showed TWO. (The map could really use some improvement) We, until our last day, found ONE, and it was like the Pool That Time Forgot. Just 20 meters from our bungalow, but it was not kept up. Broken and missing tile and asphalt...a bar/restaurant area that had been abandoned, no staff, no towels, no pads on chairs, it was quite sad, really....AWESOME view that it had. The water was clean however, so clearly they were aware people would be using it. Our guidebook said don't bring towels to the pool, use the ones there. There were none. Our last morning we decided to partake in the "Exclusive Breakfast By The Pool" ...expensive at $12 a meal but heck it was our last day and the kids wanted to swim one last time. Our nearby pool was still abandoned, I was told earlier there was another around the corner by the Casa de Frutas (not on the map)....we went down there and couldn't find the path until staff walked by and pointed us the way...it was a new, gorgeous pool...abandoned. Where was breakfast? There was a bar. There was a man chlorinating the pool, he spoke no english, but with sign language said the kids couldn't swim for 15 minutes. Figured he wouldn't understand me questioning breakfast. We swam and then headed to Cafe Milagro down the street (highly recommend!!) which was half the price and excellent coffee and food, and a short walk.

Upon check out I asked where was breakfast by the pool? The front office clerk said "oh that's at the other one"...I was going to ask WHERE? but I figured it was fruitless, as we were leaving....so I will never know where that darn third pool was!! Again, easily remedied with better communication. Maybe the menu for "Exclusive Breakfast By The Pool" could specify which pool, and maybe the in room map could show all pools? Or maybe when we are shuttled down at check in, there can be a quick tour as to where things are?

Two other frustrations were unanswered calls to the front desk, and laundry service. I've never used hotel laundry before, prefering to doing my own, but the bungalows don't have W/D like the fancier units. We were at the end of or trip and need to a few things cleaned for when we departed, I asked what the turn around was...if you left it in the am for housekeeping, they would have it back to you by 4pm. So I saved it for the day before we left. By 7pm we had no laundry, so I called the front desk several times over the next hour with no answer. At 9pm the front desk called us, wanting to know when we would be checking out in the morning. I asked about laundry, he said it would be brought around first thing in the morning. Morning came, after getting back from breakfast, 30 mins til checkout, no laundry. I called...no answer...several times. 5 mins past our checkout time, the front desk calls us, so I can finally request a shuttle and ask where on earth is our laundry? We had a transport picking us up in 10 mins. He said it would be at the front desk....well that's inconvenient for packing it but it is what it is. On our way out to get the shuttle, a staff member brings us the laundry, folded, in a bag, still warm from the dryer. Not sure the story, but glad I got my laundry....just beware if you use the service, maybe give yourself an extra buffer day for them to get it done.

This place, if it clears up the confusion, has great potential. Clearly other guests have experienced it. Maybe we were there at an off week. The start of rainy season. We will never forget the view of the lightning and thunder storms! Amazing!

Room Tip: Book directly with them so you know what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KanFam96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thanks for highlighting the things you loved (location, views, beach) and the items we need to work on....I apologize that your stay was not all that you deserved.....most of your items could have been avoided by our concierge spending a little more time with you upon arrival....in the bungalow (A/C controls) and around Tulemar (location and number of pools/restaurant).....we will work on that.....we'll also check the bathroom in your bungalow immediately for maintence...no excuse.....regarding the "4th pool that time forgot".....it's going away soon and a new pool will be built.....the laundry "run around"....no excuse for that either....again, my apologies.....we hope to have you back in Tulemar again and I would be happy to assist you personally with your stay.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed at Casa Panorama South for the beginning of our honeymoon. The views and the one bedroom suite are even better in person! The private beach is the reason we would return. However housekeeping Hangs out right outside of your door all day, thus making it not as private or quiet as we would have preferred. One day we came back from a tour and 5 people were in our bedroom front door wide open! We were told they were switching out comforters but left with the same one they brought? And why would this need to be done while we were staying there and not when it was vacant!!?
We then were moved to a Buena Vista suite room for our last night due to the Casa panorama being booked. This was a huge disappointment. First of all after confirming several times it was a king suite we were to find two double beds. My husband is 6'3 and not to mention we were on our honeymoon! We were told there was nothing they could or would do. So we ended up paying more for the Buena Vista Villa then the private rental and it needs a good cleaning and lack of service. We had to figure out where it was located with all our luggage in tow up and down the hills etc! Not to mention while trying to find our villa there were plenty of empty ones with kings???
We would return to Tulemar but only to one of the private rentals!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newdo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
HI...thanks for the comments.....we're glad you enjoyed our beach and the views from Casa Panorama..it's a great villa.......and we'll make sure the housekeepers know they may be disturbing the guests in that spot.....we're so sorry about the two beds and the condition of your room on the last night...we'll certainly check that out.....it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you in Tulemar again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa (411) with our three sons and daughter in law (all in their 20's). It was wonderful! A great living room, full kitchen stocked with every utensil or appliance you could need, large bedrooms, washer\dryer. But our favorite part was the monkeys. One day the capuchin monkeys came for a visit. All over the trees, the roof, our balcony (maybe a little close for comfort), even a mama with a tiny newborn on its back. A couple of days later the squirrel monkeys did the same. We have movies of 4 monkeys wrestling on our balcony. They were so cute! Who knows how much we missed while we were out. Tulemar is so full of wildlife. We saw a mother sloth with a baby at the beach. Iguanas everywhere. Butterflies, birds.

We enjoyed the beach and the guys loved the waves and the boogie boards and the kayaks.

The staff was very helpful. Guillermo, the shuttle driver, was great. A second shuttle would have been nice. Sometimes we did have to wait a while for a pick up. But it was so convenient to have a ride to the beach, the market, nearby restaurants. The roads are hilly so walking is very tough!

If I had to make any change, it would be the outdoor toilet in the bedroom baths. They're enclosed but partially open to the elements. I was a little wary every time I had to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night but never had any close encounters. There are a lot of stairs too but that gave us some exercise.

We were very lucky with the weather. One evening thunderstorm that didn't affect us and a little rain on our last day. It happens. We have rainy days in Florida too. Our sons thought Costa Rica was our best vacation ever. What a beautiful country!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sulld72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thanks for your comments on Casa Ylang Ylang (#411).....yes, it is on the "monkey highway".....they always seem to put on a show.....we are fortunate to have so much wildlife on our 33 acres.....glad you enjoyed the Tulemar beach with the free kayaks/boogie boards too......the unique indoor/outdoor bathrooms are always a topic of conversation....with dual showers, guests love being able to take a shower with a view of nature or in complete privacy.....hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

In one word, AMAZING! We enjoyed a relaxing, 3-day stay in the lower level of Casa Panorama South. Kim was extremely helpful as we arranged our stay and offered to book excursions and recommend tours, etc. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the entryway of the gated community, escorted to the nicely appointed house, and given a tour of the Tulemar community and private beach. Kim left us a delicious basket of fresh fruit, which we enjoyed each morning with our breakfast on the patio. She was knowledgeable about the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area and her advice on finding credible tour guides, restaurants, and the best parking for Manuel Antonio National Park was spot on! We had a rental car, but ended up walking to restaurants and the beach every day. I read complaints about the steep hill to/from the beach from other reviewers; however, the road was paved and provided a great workout, if you can withstand 10-minutes on the Stairmaster. We were delighted to see monkeys, sloths, crabs, frogs and an abundance of birds during our stay. We spent every evening enjoying a beautiful sunset over the Pacific from the balcony. We would without hesitation stay here again!

Pros:
*Hotel Panorama South photos are true-to-life; what you see is what you get. No altering to make the room look better than it really is. http://www.casapanoramacr.com/photo-gallery.html
*Absolutely incredible view of the Pacific Ocean from the master bedroom, living room, and patio!
*Service at the private beach bar was very attentive. They brought drinks out to the beach, helped us get a sea kayak ready for a trip around the bay, and came out to the beach to point out a family of monkeys they spotted traveling through the trees along the beach.

Cons:
*The clubhouse pool for the Casa panorama South unit was in serious need of updating, but we spent our time at the private beach so we weren’t disappointed. We saw no one use this pool while we were there. Paint peeling, chipped and missing tiles, and the deck needs to be completely rebuilt.
*Wi-Fi was hit and miss, but we chose to go to Costa Rica to get away! Cable television included channels from Miami so we were able to keep up with U.S. news.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Thanks for your great comments on Casa Panorama, Tulemar and Kimberly; it was a perfect description! The pool you mentioned is going away soon and a new pool will be constructed for guests at Casa Panorama. We hope to see you again....

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing