We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, luxurious, and relaxing, all in one.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed at the Tulemar Bungalows in May 2011. I cannot say enough about the location and staff. It's a resort, but it's in the jungle. Our bungalow was surrounded by beautiful vegetation. The bungalow itself was nicely appointed, with a small kitchenette, large bedroom, large living area, and (of course) full bathroom. There was AC, which we did need on some nights b/c of the humidity. But, that's the jungle :). There was a private beach that's was (from our bungalow) about a 10 minute walk. The beach is breathtaking. It's a Corona commercial. There is a bar/restaurant on the beach that served breakfast and lunch (not sure if that changes with the season). The entire staff (front desk, concierges, beach attendants, waitstaff, everyone!) was friendly and helpful. Tulemar is also a great place for animal-lovers: We saw monkeys, sloths, and many lizard while there. You just don't see that in the Northeast U.S.!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow with a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyDiBattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thanks for the great comments on Tulemar and our bungalows....(all of our bungalows have ocean views)....we enjoyed having you two with us and hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,372)
There are newer reviews for Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,039 - 2,045 of 2,372 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

The view from Villa 415 is absolutely amazing.
The best part about the entire Tulemar resort is the service. They took care of everything!
Even when the airline lost our bags, they called the airline for us and made sure we had them the very next day.
The Villas are located in a great spot in Quepos. We walked to most of the restaurants we ate at, and the others were only a $6 cab ride.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Thanks for your post.....yes....#415 (our Buena Vista 2 Bedroom Villa) has a wonderul view plus a great location....and when you book with us.....the services of Mauricio.....your own personal concierge....who can do almost anything....from lost luggage to arranging tours and transportation.....your stay with us was way too short....we're looking forward to a return with a longer stay!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We booked through Dave at www.4tulemar.com. He and Julien (our concierge) were extremely helpful! When we arrived at Casa del Mar, my husband, 2 friends and I just stood there with our jaws dropped! Its a beautiful casa with a spectacular view! We visited during the 'green season' and we barely saw any rain! It rained a lil 3 out of the 7 evenings we were there, and it never bothered us, because our balcony was perfect to lounge around with some cervezas and hang out. The private beach was beautiful and in the late afternoon when high tide came up, we could lounge on the 2nd tier of the beach and watch the waves.
After we booked our trip we found out that there was a promotion going on for anyone who wanted to book a stay at Tulemar. I contacted Dave and asked if this promotion would apply to us. Unfortunately it couldn't but, when we arrived at Tulemar, Julien informed us that since they couldn't extend that offer to us he would give us our own private chef (Chris) for the night! It was an amazing dinner with enough leftovers for the next couple days! It was such a nice gesture!
We also love the pools but the family pool is where we spent the most time because it was right below out Casa!
The trees and plants were beautiful, the monkeys and sloths and other wildlife we saw was so cool and everyone was so nice! My husband, friends and I have already talked about our next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Thanks for the wonderful review.....Casa del Mar is a very popular villa.....perfect for 4-8 guests.....great views.....stunning decor.....and those indoor/outdoor showers......but everyone LOVES the service they receive from Julien....the personal concierge for Casa del Mar.....I'm glad you also enjoyed the private chef service and dinner with Chris....one of our favorite chefs....you were such great guests....we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

If you want an adventure in the jungle then you will love tulemar! We saw a lot of monkeys and a sloth. We had monkeys outside our window at 7 am. We heard them on the roof, then they jumped on the branch outside the window.

We saw. Sloth in the tree at the beach. The beach is gorgeous and relaxing.

Julien is a huge asset to the tulemar staff! He makes everything happen!

Our family loved everything about tulemar and highly recommend it!

Jim Ingersoll
Author, "investing now"

Room Tip: Talk to julien
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimingersoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thanks for the great comments.....the Tulemar Bungalows do seem to attract the monkeys.....and you can hear them running across the roof (like cattle sometimes!)......and we agree....Julien is a treasure.....our young Frenchman who has lived in Costa Rica for over 7 years.....your personal concierge when you book with us!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My fiancé and I visited Costa Rica just a week ago and we are already talking about going back! After hiking Cerro Chato and visiting the Arenal area, we ended our trip by the beach in Manuel Antonio.

We saw on Trip Advisor that Tulemar had only wonderful reviews so we booked it. I cannot begin to say how blow away we were with the hospitality and attention to detail everyone at Tulemar showed us. From the very first email to when we handed in our keys, our experience at Tulemar was incredible. In addition to the wonderful staff, Villa Mot Mot's clean room, fresh fruit, private balcony, gorgeous views, and private beach are all reasons for us to return to this gem.

A special thank you to Dave, Susan, Chris, Marcello, Vanessa, and Diego! Villa Mot Mot will always hold a special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cr510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2011

Thanks for the kind words.....Villa Mot Mot is one of our most popular villas.....the perfect blend of rustic, tropical, luxury design.....the huge covered balcony is a wonderful spot to view the ocean and enjoy the wildlife.....and thanks for recognizing our team efforts....from the owner of Villa Mot Mot (Susan) to the staff (us!)....we all work together to make sure you enjoy your experience...we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Our most recent visit to Casa de Frutas in May was a confirmation that paradise can be sustained. The house itself is impeccably maintained and beautiful. Words still fall short of describing the views and beautiful surroundings. Over the years the landscaping has matured and enhanced the beauty of this very special home.

Each time we walk through those massive front doors and see the magnificent view of the ocean and surrounding jungle, we are reminded of the true meaning of peacefulness and beauty.

The private beach has also evolved and improved as well. We enjoyed an amazing brunch on Sunday morning. The food and cocktails were outstanding and we spent a good portion of the morning and early afternoon watching the waves roll in as the monkeys chattered overhead.

Dave and Mauricio continue to listen to their guests and use their input to improve the experience. Each time we visit, we are amazed at the level of detail that goes into the preparation of the house.

Each time we leave Casa de Frutas, we immediately begin looking forward to our next visit. Without question, it is the most beautiful and relaxing vacation we have experienced. Some vacation destinations manage to accomplish that goal once in a while. Casa de Frutas has proven to us that the experience is sustainalbe. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpatwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

This was probably the 10th trip to Costa Rica for these travelers and their 6th stay at Casa de Frutas.....the villa works well for either 3 couples or 1-2 familes with 4-8 people.....but we often rent the villa to just one couple looking for privacy and luxury! Thanks for taking the time to post and we hope to see you again next year!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I just got back from a stay at Tulemar and had the most incredible time. The location is amazing, the service is impeccable and the staff really went above and beyond to make us feel at home. We will definitely be coming back to stay here again.

Room Tip: Book with Dave and he will take care of everything
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davecordis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to post.....the Tulemar Bungalows were a perfect match for this fun couple....they hiked our trails within Tulemar almost every morning and afternoon....we hope to see them back again soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $148 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing