We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Good Value”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. We had an excellent meal at the restaurant. The room was very large. There were three adults.

It is definitely a budget hotel, but your not travelling to Costa Rica to hang out at the hotel. The pool was clean and refreshing. The shower was hot. The a/c worked, so no complaints out of me.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank guaranaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    95
    51
    46
    29
See reviews for
58
131
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The staff was so unhappy my husband and I were concerned something bad may be happening at this hotel behind the scenes. None of them smiled and some were openly hostile. Our sheets were cheap and did not stay on the mattress. My first morning I was very tired and walked up to where they were cooking breakfast. I had no idea what the process was. The cook just stood and stared at me and made a rude expression. I didn't know what food was offered, if I was supposed to order etc. Very concerning vibe at this place., every else we were on Costa Rica staff were friendly and helpful. What is going on at this hotel???

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMaMa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio hotels

Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a great stay at Tres Banderas. Clean rooms with comfortable beds, and a swimming-pool for a refreshing cool down. The staff was friendly and helpful, and was able to communicate with their guest in multiple languages. The open bar offers a warm welcome to guests and fisherman returning from a long day at sea. The skillful bartender, Martijn, serves refreshing drinks with a smile and creates a great ambiance. The family-run kitchen serves high end dishes made with fresh ingredients and love. We ended up seeing many exotic animals around the property and befriended a monkey,named Andre'. :)
The owner,Andy and his son made us feel very welcome and at home.
Thanks for the good times. A&N

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Recommended by ex-pats trying to boost economy but not a good recommendation. Entire property in need of rehabilitation; dangerous and slippery steps in all areas; standing in shin deep water while showering, you can hear the plumbing percolating up through the sink; no maintenance crew; sheets on a bare mattress; cracked tiles; and watch out most for over billing at the bar. Owner Andy and son Andres tell you "not to worry, pay when you leave" but do not do this - pay when served to avoid over-charging. Gondola Gourment Restaurant is the only reason to visit this property. Independently owned and operated by mother and son, Sylvania and Manuelo, it is truly one of the best restaurants in the area. Clean, fresh, well prepared food. Generous portions and great variety of dishes with chef's specials each and every night. Our group of 9 guests strongly suggested the restaurant seek out a new location to avoid being tagged with this hotel.

Room Tip: I would not stay at this hotel again. Instead, make a trip to the hotel to eat at Gondola Gourment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakland999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed there several years ago and again in May 2013. Improvements in the rooms were not evident, still in need of repair and updating. The reviews are all over the place. What's wrong with fishermen anyway?

Still, the owners originally from Poland (one of the flags on the pool bottom) aren't keeping the place up and labor is dirt cheap in CR, so there's no excuse for things that just need to be fixed or cleaned or painted. And they have owned that place for 15 years or longer. Location is OK, but closer to Quepos then to the beach so that's why they may draw fisherman. No car? Bus and cabs for either destination.

If you get it for $50 = or -,, I'd say fair. Today's prices on TA were $120-140 incl tax, I'd say "hahaha". You can get much much better in M.A. for less or equal then that.

Room Tip: I'd say 2nd floor rear to avoid thin floors and road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

then this is better than camping at the beach with all the risks involved..... Many unpleasant issues, but the only ones I have space to talk about are the owner being rude and condescending, the massive amount of slick slippery stairs you have to have to haul your luggage to through the restaurant, in between tables and other guests eating. The pool is also next to the stairs, another hazard. Missing clothes with brand new tags with which the owner responded rudely and a room with spiders, ants and roaches after being "cleaned". Have stayed in many, many hotels, have never been treated like this, I am a pleasant lady in my 40s, always am treated well, do not understand the positive reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuraVidaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights and it was good value for money. Not exactly high end but, as I said, value for money
Great location and the owners were very helpful and friendly.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and we were able to enjoy a drink in the pleasant bar.

Close to the Park and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quailsroost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#35 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
373 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#31 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tres Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tres Banderas

Property: Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Tres Banderas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Tres Banderas is conveniently located between the port of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, the most famous wild life reserve and beach destination area in Costa Rica. It offers a secluded setting amongst tropical trees and plants, far away from traffic noise and city hustle/bustle. While the beach is nearby, your only visitors will be birds, monkeys and sloths.Each unit at Hotel Las Tres Banderas is decorated with imported tile and beautiful Costa Rican wood whitch serves to accent the elegance of every room. No expense has been spared on the final touches of the hotel's decor. Costa Rica and our hotel offer an especially relaxing atmosphere. We are certain that you won't be disappointed with either one of them. While you are here, lets get to know each other better and even become friends. Who knows, we may even end up explaining why we call our dream come true Hotel Las Tres Banderas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Tres Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tres Banderas Hotel
Hotel Las Tres Banderas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing