We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy but friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed November 6, 2013

the place is small, just the right place to crash, clean, and very friendly owners. he even cooked a Polish dinner for us, since my husband is Polish descend, and i love the food. Very good dinner. the place is not fancy, but clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egland s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 317 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is in an amazing location. Decent value. Nice pool and restaurant. Just a few minutes drive to the national park.

Now the bad. We had no cold water in room 12. Yes only hot water because the sink had a leak in the cold water line. So the cold water was shut off and not repaired. On our second day I had asked for some ice. The owner said that to provide ice for us it would be bad business for him, and ice was only for restaurant guests and not hotel guests. So, he would only gave us one glass of ice each. Never have I stayed in a hotel in the world where you were not allowed to have ice. Its a strange place to only have hot water from your sink and not allowed to have ice. Strange and unpleasant indeed.

Room Tip: Do not get room 12 unless it has been fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 16507ins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowacki13, Manager at Hotel Las Tres Banderas, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for taking some minutes of your time and writing to us.
Sir. sometimes malfuction happen and we are willing to help, but since Im bearly aware of this reading your post I wasent able to help you sooner.
As for the Ice we provided you with some, so you indeed were allowed some; Cause we are a small hotel with a bar & restaurant we have a limited supply, so why should we provid a limitless supply for your own drinks? Strange & unpleasant indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is situated in Manuel Antonio: a true paradise. The structure is completly surrounded by nature, and this makes it a very relaxing spot to hang out, me and my friends really enjoyed it. The best part was drinking beers by the pool, which is incredibly big and carismatic with its little waterfall :) The vegetation is very colorfull and very frequently animals visit the hotels, the most frequent are monkeys!!!! It's in the middle of the nature so it's normal to find bugs!!! :) The hotel is also PET FRIENDLY, I had problems in finding something like this for my dog, sparky was very happy ;) This vacation with my friends was a blast and the hotel helped us in planning our schedules, like rafting, canopying and jet ski!!! The restaurant Gondal in the hotel is also incredible, the best food in town!!!!!!!!!
P.S. Meet up with Andre! ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvana1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Been staying here for about 7 years now.in process of upgrading.It was excellent. I was pleasantly surprised to see the improvements.will always come .Its like family now and has ben for a long time.Breakfast is good. the Italian restaurant now in the hotel the food is outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blakes8542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The entrance to the place is really steep, be careful! Swimming pool was fine, the rooms 3 were clean but the beds seemed like the sheets had not been changed, they had little bugs between the sheets. The best thing about this place was the included breakfast, typical and very delicious!
We only stay here for 1 night, I could not have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowacki13, Manager at Hotel Las Tres Banderas, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hello Carlos, I apreciate that you took few minutes of your time to write us a review.
The hotel entrance counts with 2 roads, the steeper one is for big trucks (I recomend the 2 entrence going up the hill).
I would like to say that we clean our rooms evryday, wash, dry and change the sheets in every room, so Im really sorry if some bug found the way to your bed.
Glad to hear that the breakfast was of your liking, hope you come and visit us again!
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I liked the place because it was clean and affordable ($80/nt for 2 queen beds). Yes, the bedcovers are from the 80's (or earlier), the ceiling could use a fresh coat of paint, and we were given only 2 bath towels (for a family of 2 adults & 3 small kids). But I didn't come for the room decore, but rather for the price, location, and nice size pool (great way to unwind after a day of sightseeing). Added bonus is the great italian restaurant attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunfunmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

the pool in this hotel was great , made me relax for hours , the matresses was so relaxing too like they say in costa rica ( muy rico) and everything was good , close to national park , affordable prices , quiet hotel , good food , everything was almost perfect

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
294 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#42 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tres Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tres Banderas

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $74 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Tres Banderas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Tres Banderas is conveniently located between the port of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, the most famous wild life reserve and beach destination area in Costa Rica. It offers a secluded setting amongst tropical trees and plants, far away from traffic noise and city hustle/bustle. While the beach is nearby, your only visitors will be birds, monkeys and sloths.Each unit at Hotel Las Tres Banderas is decorated with imported tile and beautiful Costa Rican wood whitch serves to accent the elegance of every room. No expense has been spared on the final touches of the hotel's decor. Costa Rica and our hotel offer an especially relaxing atmosphere. We are certain that you won't be disappointed with either one of them. While you are here, lets get to know each other better and even become friends. Who knows, we may even end up explaining why we call our dream come true Hotel Las Tres Banderas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Las Tres Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tres Banderas Hotel
Hotel Las Tres Banderas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing