We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for Backpackers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Tres Banderas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good for Backpackers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Staff is good but you get great service at all hotels pretty much in Costa Rica. The Hotel is on the way down. Issues 1. The sheets are way old 2. Mattress is Bad 3. Water Pressure & Hot Water are not great. 4. Rooms need new paint 5. Need new room doors 6. Patio is overrated cause when you go out on the patio there are tons of bugs (I know what a shock) and the view isn't the greatest. The pool is nice. The Hotel is about a 5 - 10 min drive to the beach and you definitely can't walk it (to many hills). The problem near the Beaches is parking it sucks so if you can find a hotel within walking distance that has parking that would be $ I saw a bunch and that's would I would do next time for sure. The restaurant at the hotel is good but pricey. This place should charge $40.00 max at it's current condition

Room Tip: Find a hotel within walking distance of Manuel Antonio (Beaches) it will be well worth it to avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowacki13, Manager at Hotel Las Tres Banderas, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello,

I would like to tanks you for your review, and like to point out...That the hotel is in constant remodelation, the sheets are bought every year & the hotel was repainted in 2012.
We like to give the best experience to our clients wich we take pride for being in middle
of a rainy forest, thats the beauty of Costa Rica. Our restaurant is ranked as one of the best in the area, so as far as the price you paid for the best cuality.
Thanks for staying with us! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    88
    47
    38
    25
See reviews for
51
116
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place has a lot of charm. The owner and his son Andre are very kind and gracious hosts. Great value as well. Had a really good time and always felt welcome. The complementary breakfast was delicious as well. I would recommend trying the restaurant located in the lobby area too. Really nothing to complain about this place and would highly recommend it to anyone staying there.

Room Tip: All units are about the same and are all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Clean room, decent beads, good shower and good A/C. Loved the balcony with rocking chairs looking out onto beautiful foliage. Good breakfast every day included in price. Not within walking distance to a beach or restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beadshop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi,Tx
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Rooms were clean,Andy was very attetntive,and the chef was outstanding in fact we ate at Tres Banderas every night but one. We ate at the Grand Escape with our boat captain.Good but it didnt compaire to the hotel chef. We will stay there nexr Feb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wd w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Incredible place to chill from rest from the big city...surrounded by nature,it was silent really peacefull place, me and my girlfriend LOVED IT! Incredible food, one of the best cuisene I ever tasted. Nice people :) really glad to have been there :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuelefg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a perfect stay at Tres Banderas, owner Andy and his son are really nice people who take good care of their guests. Price/quality is perfect and the location even better. Andy and Andrei we will see you next year!

Room Tip: All rooms have airco and a view at the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirinJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eijsden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good rooms, relaxed atmosphere, very good restaurant and the jungle view from the rocking chairs is brilliant. Keep an eye open for the beautiful jezus christ lizzard (the one that can walk on water) that lives next to the entrance, sometimes it positions itself in the sun on top of the tree trunk. Transportation from the hotel to the park or quepos is easy by bus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guus133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#36 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#31 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tres Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tres Banderas

Property: Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Tres Banderas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Tres Banderas is conveniently located between the port of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, the most famous wild life reserve and beach destination area in Costa Rica. It offers a secluded setting amongst tropical trees and plants, far away from traffic noise and city hustle/bustle. While the beach is nearby, your only visitors will be birds, monkeys and sloths.Each unit at Hotel Las Tres Banderas is decorated with imported tile and beautiful Costa Rican wood whitch serves to accent the elegance of every room. No expense has been spared on the final touches of the hotel's decor. Costa Rica and our hotel offer an especially relaxing atmosphere. We are certain that you won't be disappointed with either one of them. While you are here, lets get to know each other better and even become friends. Who knows, we may even end up explaining why we call our dream come true Hotel Las Tres Banderas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Las Tres Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tres Banderas Hotel
Hotel Las Tres Banderas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing