We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Nearby Hotels
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$835
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $441/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$198
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$283
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$238
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$297
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$360
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$205
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
115
130
39
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
130
39
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkgreat locationpublic beachnice hoteltwo blocksrooms are averagecosta ricarestaurants and shopsan in room safeshort walknature traillarger poolhowler monkeysair conditioninghappy hourthe main hotelthe main road
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 296 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Costa Rica tour (booked through Imagine Latin America who I would reccomend). The hotel is in an amazing position for access to the national park but is somewhat dated. We felt we were staying in a cross between a cabin from 'Dirty Dancing' and a village shop! The rooms were clean and large however and staff were really helpful and polite. The cabins that are across the road and are part of the hotel looked to be nicer than the main hotel but were not available for the dates we required. Public areas were clean - pool cleaned daily etc and you felt like you were in the national park itself as the hotel is surrounded by forest and you can hear the monkeys most nights. Manuel Antonio centre is quite a backpackers/surfers resort and is a bit shabby - this seemed especially noticeable after coming from a more upmarket hotel in Arenal. The area is def worth a visit though and I saw loads of sloths (my main aim for going there). The restaurant does expensive meals but they also do pizzas which are really good value as they easily feed 2 people. In summary, an average hotel in a resort that is a bit scruffy but worth going to for the park and it's wildlife.

Room Tip: The cabins appear to be nicer than the hotel's main building.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daisy_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepci贸n at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thanks very much for your comment, we are not familiar with the concept of "Dirty Dancing" hotel. Since the dirt dosen't dance around in our hotel. We are a 3 stars hotel, not a resort, according to the Costa Rican Tourism Institute so our services need to be understand and measure in this sense. However we feel very happy that you enjoyed our surroundings, cleanliness and service, and that you found our location handy for your trip. Our goal is to provide a decent place to stay were you can enjoy as much as it is possible the proximity to the National Park and beaches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Espadilla for three nights during our trip to Costa Rica. We were unfamiliar with the area when we booked the hotel and booked based on a travel agents recommendation. The Manuel Antonio area was a lot more touristy than we had expected (and we went in the off or rainy season) but the hotel was on a little side street which was very quiet compared to the touristy beach area and nearby park. The location was great for getting to the beach and park and was also a quick cab or bus ride to other Manuel Antonio and Quepos restaurants and sites. The hotel had a nice, smaller pool and the lunch and breakfasts we had at the hotel were very good. The service was great, we ordered way too many pizzas at the restaurant our first day and they held them in one of their refrigerators for us for the next day since we didn't have one, very nice! The receptionists were great too and helped us book spa treatments. The rooms were basic, nothing fancy but comfortable. The bathrooms were small with wooden slatted doors and got very humid, so the room got fairly muggy with showers. Overall I would recommend it for the locaton and service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepci贸n at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thanks so much for your comment, having the opportunity to walk to the beach and park is very handy specially if you have kids, we are very happy that you found our services acceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights . Accommodation is basic , nothing fancy. Free breakfast. Walking distance to public beach and Manuel Antonio national park. Got room close to pool , nice view and good WIFI .
Good and attentive service. We have to leave early for the airport before restaurant opens for breakfast, they made us box lunch ( sandwich , fruits , cookies and bottle water ) to take with us .
Thank you !!!
Overall good location.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Magellan1521_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepci贸n at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear sir we feel so glad you had a good time while here, and the the box breakfast was a good solution for you. We enjoyed to have you as a guest, and thanks so much for you review.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night prior to our tour through the national park.

The hotel room was clean and provided space for three people (double + single bed).

The bathroom provided hot and cold water, but should be renovated. As the humidity is very high we had to run the air conditioning for the whole night, which was very loud.

For dinner we had a menu for 20$ in the hotel restaurant with very good steaks. The breakfast buffet in the morning was also OK.

On the morning our lovely guide (http://es-la.facebook.com/gamaliel.guadamuzpina) picked up at 8 and as the park the park is very close to the hotel, we could start the tour immediatly.

It was no problem to leave the car and our luggage at the hotel site during our tour. There even were showers we could use, although we already had checked out in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twamueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepci贸n at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thanks a lot for your review, I'm glad the services we have for our guest after the check out were handy for you. Due to our conservation programs only biodegradable soaps can be used here, since we are so close to the park, we send to you our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel (July 2012). It was way better than we had anticipated. It's located just up the road from the main beach, very easy walking. It feels secluded with trees covering it on two sides. You feel as if you are staying in the park. Our room overlooked the pool and restaurant. It was not loud at all and a very nice room. The pool service was fantastic! As soon as you arrived at the pool the staff brought out a glass of water and asked if you needed anything. They were very attentive and quite nice. The front desk staff was also very helpful. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone needing a place to stay in Manuel Antonio. The only negative thing I can say is that we stayed in a standard room and there was no refrigerator. There was however an ice bucket and you could get ice from the bar at the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julies326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Gerente at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thanks so much for the comment we are glad you had a great time with us, and we will take in consideration your recommendation about the refrigerator. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews