We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Nearby Hotels
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$283
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$238
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$335
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$198
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$360
$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
115
130
39
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
130
39
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkgreat locationpublic beachnice hoteltwo blocksrooms are averagecosta ricarestaurants and shopsan in room safeshort walknature traillarger poolhowler monkeysair conditioninghappy hourthe main hotelthe main road
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 296 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night prior to our tour through the national park.

The hotel room was clean and provided space for three people (double + single bed).

The bathroom provided hot and cold water, but should be renovated. As the humidity is very high we had to run the air conditioning for the whole night, which was very loud.

For dinner we had a menu for 20$ in the hotel restaurant with very good steaks. The breakfast buffet in the morning was also OK.

On the morning our lovely guide (http://es-la.facebook.com/gamaliel.guadamuzpina) picked up at 8 and as the park the park is very close to the hotel, we could start the tour immediatly.

It was no problem to leave the car and our luggage at the hotel site during our tour. There even were showers we could use, although we already had checked out in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twamueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepci贸n at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thanks a lot for your review, I'm glad the services we have for our guest after the check out were handy for you. Due to our conservation programs only biodegradable soaps can be used here, since we are so close to the park, we send to you our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel (July 2012). It was way better than we had anticipated. It's located just up the road from the main beach, very easy walking. It feels secluded with trees covering it on two sides. You feel as if you are staying in the park. Our room overlooked the pool and restaurant. It was not loud at all and a very nice room. The pool service was fantastic! As soon as you arrived at the pool the staff brought out a glass of water and asked if you needed anything. They were very attentive and quite nice. The front desk staff was also very helpful. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone needing a place to stay in Manuel Antonio. The only negative thing I can say is that we stayed in a standard room and there was no refrigerator. There was however an ice bucket and you could get ice from the bar at the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julies326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Gerente at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thanks so much for the comment we are glad you had a great time with us, and we will take in consideration your recommendation about the refrigerator. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Very nice clean hotel. Located 150 meters from Manuel Antonio Park entrance and 150 meters from the beach. So we could just walk everywhere. Included breakfast was good and the restaurant had a to die for pineapple pizza. Hotel trails were close at the time we visited so that was a bummer. Hotel provided towels for the beach.

Hotel was booked by CostaRican Trails.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepci贸n at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks a lot for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Hotel Playa Espadilla may not have an ocean view, but it has everything you need in a great location. The sounds of wildlife are all around you, as well as the beauty of the jungle. Walking distance (5 min) from both Manuel Antonio National Park and the Playa Espadilla public beach and shops&restaurants, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms aren't super fancy, but they have everything you need. They are air-conditioned of course (one nice feature of the hotel is that they are very eco-minded and have signs to remind you to not waste resources and turn it off when you leave.) Our room had 2 beds (very cozy, with white sheets and white comforters), a small kitchenette complete with fridge, microwave, hot plate, pots&pans. The building is older and the walls are sturdy, so no noise from the neighboring room. The bathroom was small but adequate, and even included white bathrobes which are really nice to lounge in after a hot day outside and a nice shower. The pool is small but nice and next to the restaurant/bar, complete with a jacuzzi section and in-water seats where you can have your drinks in the pool. And the food is GREAT. The breakfast is complementary, and the other meals were the best we had in Costa Rica and a wonderful break from the daily "typico" casados. The food was on par with a fancy restaurant in the states, at a reasonable price. This was not our experience at another resort hotel in Arenal, where the food was over priced and bad. When you want to get your typical Costa Rican food (typico/casado), there are plenty of restaurants to walk to.

All in all, Playa Espadilla was wonderful. The only thing I would have liked is to have an extra light over the sink. The lighting in the bathroom wasn't the greatest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepci贸n at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks a lot for your comments we aprreciated a lot. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were here for 2 nights whilst we visited the Manuel Antonio National Park. Approaching the resort town, our hearts lurched as it looked like a really noisy, touristy venue, but this hotel is a short distance (3 mins) from the front and REALLY quiet.

Reception desk was adequate, the swimming pool is small, but the restaurant and bar have very friendly staff, the breakfast is good and the rooms are quiet and have a/c. We lazed by the pool reading one afternoon and the staff brought us iced water and then happy hour cocktails - very nice. Evening menu was quite expensive but the fish with coconut coating and mango salsa was truly world-class - definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatFromPottenEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepci贸n at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We appreciate a lot your comments and review. Thanks so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews