We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights . Accommodation is basic , nothing fancy. Free breakfast. Walking distance to public beach and Manuel Antonio national park. Got room close to pool , nice view and good WIFI .
Good and attentive service. We have to leave early for the airport before restaurant opens for breakfast, they made us box lunch ( sandwich , fruits , cookies and bottle water ) to take with us .
Thank you !!!
Overall good location.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Magellan1521_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear sir we feel so glad you had a good time while here, and the the box breakfast was a good solution for you. We enjoyed to have you as a guest, and thanks so much for you review.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Playa Espadilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night prior to our tour through the national park.

The hotel room was clean and provided space for three people (double + single bed).

The bathroom provided hot and cold water, but should be renovated. As the humidity is very high we had to run the air conditioning for the whole night, which was very loud.

For dinner we had a menu for 20$ in the hotel restaurant with very good steaks. The breakfast buffet in the morning was also OK.

On the morning our lovely guide (http://es-la.facebook.com/gamaliel.guadamuzpina) picked up at 8 and as the park the park is very close to the hotel, we could start the tour immediatly.

It was no problem to leave the car and our luggage at the hotel site during our tour. There even were showers we could use, although we already had checked out in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twamueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thanks a lot for your review, I'm glad the services we have for our guest after the check out were handy for you. Due to our conservation programs only biodegradable soaps can be used here, since we are so close to the park, we send to you our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel (July 2012). It was way better than we had anticipated. It's located just up the road from the main beach, very easy walking. It feels secluded with trees covering it on two sides. You feel as if you are staying in the park. Our room overlooked the pool and restaurant. It was not loud at all and a very nice room. The pool service was fantastic! As soon as you arrived at the pool the staff brought out a glass of water and asked if you needed anything. They were very attentive and quite nice. The front desk staff was also very helpful. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone needing a place to stay in Manuel Antonio. The only negative thing I can say is that we stayed in a standard room and there was no refrigerator. There was however an ice bucket and you could get ice from the bar at the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julies326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Gerente at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thanks so much for the comment we are glad you had a great time with us, and we will take in consideration your recommendation about the refrigerator. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Very nice clean hotel. Located 150 meters from Manuel Antonio Park entrance and 150 meters from the beach. So we could just walk everywhere. Included breakfast was good and the restaurant had a to die for pineapple pizza. Hotel trails were close at the time we visited so that was a bummer. Hotel provided towels for the beach.

Hotel was booked by CostaRican Trails.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks a lot for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Hotel Playa Espadilla may not have an ocean view, but it has everything you need in a great location. The sounds of wildlife are all around you, as well as the beauty of the jungle. Walking distance (5 min) from both Manuel Antonio National Park and the Playa Espadilla public beach and shops&restaurants, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms aren't super fancy, but they have everything you need. They are air-conditioned of course (one nice feature of the hotel is that they are very eco-minded and have signs to remind you to not waste resources and turn it off when you leave.) Our room had 2 beds (very cozy, with white sheets and white comforters), a small kitchenette complete with fridge, microwave, hot plate, pots&pans. The building is older and the walls are sturdy, so no noise from the neighboring room. The bathroom was small but adequate, and even included white bathrobes which are really nice to lounge in after a hot day outside and a nice shower. The pool is small but nice and next to the restaurant/bar, complete with a jacuzzi section and in-water seats where you can have your drinks in the pool. And the food is GREAT. The breakfast is complementary, and the other meals were the best we had in Costa Rica and a wonderful break from the daily "typico" casados. The food was on par with a fancy restaurant in the states, at a reasonable price. This was not our experience at another resort hotel in Arenal, where the food was over priced and bad. When you want to get your typical Costa Rican food (typico/casado), there are plenty of restaurants to walk to.

All in all, Playa Espadilla was wonderful. The only thing I would have liked is to have an extra light over the sink. The lighting in the bathroom wasn't the greatest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks a lot for your comments we aprreciated a lot. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were here for 2 nights whilst we visited the Manuel Antonio National Park. Approaching the resort town, our hearts lurched as it looked like a really noisy, touristy venue, but this hotel is a short distance (3 mins) from the front and REALLY quiet.

Reception desk was adequate, the swimming pool is small, but the restaurant and bar have very friendly staff, the breakfast is good and the rooms are quiet and have a/c. We lazed by the pool reading one afternoon and the staff brought us iced water and then happy hour cocktails - very nice. Evening menu was quite expensive but the fish with coconut coating and mango salsa was truly world-class - definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatFromPottenEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We appreciate a lot your comments and review. Thanks so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The rooms are very nice and spacious. The hotel restaurant was excellent. The hotel is barely 5 mins walk from the beach one way and 5 mins walk to the Manuel Antonio park the other way.

Staff was nice and helpful .We loved our stay.

It was was not, but you do have the breakfast included. Overall pretty good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF_Cyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

So glad you had a good expirience in our hotel thanks a lot for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Espadilla
Cabinas Espadilla
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Espadilla

Address: 300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $147 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Playa Espadilla 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the main entrance of the majestic National Park of Manuel Antonio. Hotel Playa Espadilla offers well equipped and cozy rooms, in the best Costa Rican atmosphere. The hotel`s own Biological Reserve is a special area for those who enjoy to hike and get in contact with nature. Costa Rican owned and runned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Playa Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Espadilla Hotel
Hotel Playa Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing