We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were here for 2 nights whilst we visited the Manuel Antonio National Park. Approaching the resort town, our hearts lurched as it looked like a really noisy, touristy venue, but this hotel is a short distance (3 mins) from the front and REALLY quiet.

Reception desk was adequate, the swimming pool is small, but the restaurant and bar have very friendly staff, the breakfast is good and the rooms are quiet and have a/c. We lazed by the pool reading one afternoon and the staff brought us iced water and then happy hour cocktails - very nice. Evening menu was quite expensive but the fish with coconut coating and mango salsa was truly world-class - definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatFromPottenEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We appreciate a lot your comments and review. Thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    117
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
113
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Repentigny, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The rooms are very nice and spacious. The hotel restaurant was excellent. The hotel is barely 5 mins walk from the beach one way and 5 mins walk to the Manuel Antonio park the other way.

Staff was nice and helpful .We loved our stay.

It was was not, but you do have the breakfast included. Overall pretty good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF_Cyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
So glad you had a good expirience in our hotel thanks a lot for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This place was great, it was close to the beach - like a 2 minute walk. The rooms were great, everything you really needed was there. They were nice and bright and very airy. The property was beautiful, the pool was refreshing and the people there were very friendly. I've read the negative reviews and can't side with them at all. We got there hours before we could check in but the clerk at the counter let us leave our bags with him so we could go play at the beach. This hotel is very close to the National Park, and there are TONS of great places to eat near by. If you stay here or in this town you have to Visit Italy and Co, it was the best pizza EVER. You have to eat the hotel's restaurant as well, very good food and drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms by the stairs can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colo_mtn_surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks a lot for your recommendation and for choosing us while you were in CR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Playa Espadilla for 4 days. The rooms are nice and clean and it has great wifi. The bathroom could certainly use updating - it was clean, but old and funky. The pool is very nice and it's in a great location - a 5 minute walk to the "downtown" part of Manuel Antonio. The breakfast buffet was good, but the restaurant meals were absolutely fantastic. The three of us loved it so much we made sure to have at least one more meal there before we left. The staff is very nice and the outdoor setting next to the pool is very relaxing. We've been back home for two months and I can still remember the meals we had at Hotel Playa Espadilla - including dessert/ Yummm. If you're in Manuel Antonio make plans to eat at Restaurant Puerto Escondido at the hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are glad you enjoy our restaurant that much we feel really honored to have you as a guest here. Thanks a lot for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at the hotel in February 2012. We had a lovely time here and were lucky enough to have a first floor room overlooking the pool. It had a large fridge, microwave oven and hotplates so could make lunchtime snacks if you wanted to. The pool is small but perfectly adequate and great to relax in after a long walk through the park. Staff always bring you a lovely cold glass of water when you are sunbathing which is most appreciated!!

My only slight reservation is about the breakfast. It is very repetative, scrambled egg,ham, fruit and pancakes every day - no variation. Would have been nice to have choice of different type of eggs and sausages and perhaps some yogurt.

Reception staff are very helpful and souvenir shop has good prices - comparable to shops in town.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but did enjoy happy hour cocktails!!!

The backpackers bar on the way to the beach (Costa Linda) is a very good cheap place to eat at night but you need to be early as it gets full very quickly and their drink prices are brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are glad you had a good experience in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

very near centre of town, beeches and park. Manuel Antonio however is quite crowded and somewhat touristy. However a walk along beech soon brings you to quieter areas. Beware of rip tides

Beds are very firm, but rooms are adequate with access to small swimming pool, bar and restruant

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallsally2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for your comment we appreciate a lot your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My family and I stayed in Hotel Playa Espadilla during a small group tour in May. We had no idea before arriving in Manuel Antonio that the place offered so many choices of hotels, it's incredible! Well, we got lucky or someone made a good choice because Espadilla to me is really worth mentioning. This hotel really has one of the best locations in the region, steps from the National Park and a short distance from the beach. The service here was very friendly and the meals we had where among the best we had in the country during our long tour. We recommend the place without any hesitation!

Room Tip: Second floor is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4-Grands-Voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Espadilla
Cabinas Espadilla
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn On The Park
Inn On The Park
#41 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Espadilla

Property: Hotel Playa Espadilla
Address: 300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Espadilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the main entrance of the majestic National Park of Manuel Antonio. Hotel Playa Espadilla offers well equipped and cozy rooms, in the best Costa Rican atmosphere. The hotel`s own Biological Reserve is a special area for those who enjoy to hike and get in contact with nature. Costa Rican owned and runned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Playa Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Espadilla Hotel
Hotel Playa Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing