We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, great location and FANTASTIC RESTAURANT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Playa Espadilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, great location and FANTASTIC RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Playa Espadilla for 4 days. The rooms are nice and clean and it has great wifi. The bathroom could certainly use updating - it was clean, but old and funky. The pool is very nice and it's in a great location - a 5 minute walk to the "downtown" part of Manuel Antonio. The breakfast buffet was good, but the restaurant meals were absolutely fantastic. The three of us loved it so much we made sure to have at least one more meal there before we left. The staff is very nice and the outdoor setting next to the pool is very relaxing. We've been back home for two months and I can still remember the meals we had at Hotel Playa Espadilla - including dessert/ Yummm. If you're in Manuel Antonio make plans to eat at Restaurant Puerto Escondido at the hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are glad you enjoy our restaurant that much we feel really honored to have you as a guest here. Thanks a lot for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    111
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
60
106
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at the hotel in February 2012. We had a lovely time here and were lucky enough to have a first floor room overlooking the pool. It had a large fridge, microwave oven and hotplates so could make lunchtime snacks if you wanted to. The pool is small but perfectly adequate and great to relax in after a long walk through the park. Staff always bring you a lovely cold glass of water when you are sunbathing which is most appreciated!!

My only slight reservation is about the breakfast. It is very repetative, scrambled egg,ham, fruit and pancakes every day - no variation. Would have been nice to have choice of different type of eggs and sausages and perhaps some yogurt.

Reception staff are very helpful and souvenir shop has good prices - comparable to shops in town.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but did enjoy happy hour cocktails!!!

The backpackers bar on the way to the beach (Costa Linda) is a very good cheap place to eat at night but you need to be early as it gets full very quickly and their drink prices are brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magsLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are glad you had a good experience in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

very near centre of town, beeches and park. Manuel Antonio however is quite crowded and somewhat touristy. However a walk along beech soon brings you to quieter areas. Beware of rip tides

Beds are very firm, but rooms are adequate with access to small swimming pool, bar and restruant

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallsally2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for your comment we appreciate a lot your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

My family and I stayed in Hotel Playa Espadilla during a small group tour in May. We had no idea before arriving in Manuel Antonio that the place offered so many choices of hotels, it's incredible! Well, we got lucky or someone made a good choice because Espadilla to me is really worth mentioning. This hotel really has one of the best locations in the region, steps from the National Park and a short distance from the beach. The service here was very friendly and the meals we had where among the best we had in the country during our long tour. We recommend the place without any hesitation!

Room Tip: Second floor is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4-Grands-Voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were a group of 8 doing an extensive tour of Costa Rica. We spent 4 nights at the hotel Espadilla. The location is ideal for visiting the National Park - a mere 5 minute walk away. We entered the park at 7am - hiked the trails for a couple of hours, then returned to the hotel for breakfast, before heading back to the glorious beaches inside the park. The hotel is small and the service provided by the staff is excellent. Some rooms have a fully equipped kitchen with microwave, hotplates, fridge, crockery and cutlery - it was nice to rustle up a quick snack purchased from the nearby supermarket instead of eating in restaurants all the time. The rooms were nice, but we had continual problems with our air conditioning in 3 out of the 4 rooms that we booked, due to the humidity and saline conditions. There are no ceiling fans, so when the air con packs up the rooms get VERY hot. Maintenance did their best to remedy the problems - but two of our 4 days were spent without air con. The buffet breakfast was average - same thing everyday - so by day 4 we were a bit fed up with pineapple, scrambled eggs and gallo pinto. Manuel Antonio and Quepos are significantly more expensive than other tourist destinations in Costa Rica. Supermarket prices were at least 20% higher than in La Fortuna - so stock up on insect repellent etc before you get here. Restaurant prices are good. The local bus runs very frequently between the village and Quepos and costs only $1 for the round trip. At the current time the private nature trail at the hotel is closed due to some severe storms that felled a number of trees and made the trail dangerous. The $10 entrance fee to Manuel Antonio NP is worth every penny - the beaches inside the park are much nicer than those in the village and there is an abundance of wildlife - howler monkeys, white faced capuchins, squirrel monkeys, sloths and raccoons. I would recommend the Hotel Espadilla as it has a great location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms (when the air con works!). I would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank queenofdrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Not fancy but very clean and a super location! A few steps to Manuel Antonio National Park and a short walk the other way to the main road featuring some restaurants, grocery and souvenir shops -- even an ice cream and pizza place. Had satellite TV and that was nice. Restaurant seemed expensive so we only ate there for the free breakfast... that was not the greatest feature. We had better breakfasts elsewhere. On the other hand, they had sodas, ice cream and other items in the lobby. Only one computer for accessing the internet but we never had to wait for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waxwing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viga2, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate a lot people value or proximity to the National Park and facilities. We are glad you had a good time in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2010 and were very pleased with the location of this hotel. It was a 5 minute walk down to the beach, and along the way you passed restaurants and shops. We would stop in occasionally for lunch or a quick drink (they do tend to close quite early; we went looking for food around 8-9PM and most were already closed down). There are some other hotels/hostels along our street (ours was a street off the main street), yet it was nice and quiet at night. Every day along our walk we saw monkeys in the trees and along the power lines. We loved it! The breakfast here is pretty standard for the hotels in Costa Rica, served outdoors on the patio. Our room was nice and spacious. The decor was average/basic. Perfect for a couple that was spending their days at the beach and park and wanted a comfortable room to come back to at the end of the day. I would recommend this hotel for price, value, location, and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_And_Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viga2, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thanks so much for your comment we are so glad that your experience in our hotel was satisfactory, our goal is precisely that… “Perfect for a couple that was spending their days at the beach and park and wanted a comfortable room to come back to at the end of the day” we are really happy this became true in your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Espadilla

Property: Hotel Playa Espadilla
Address: 300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Espadilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the main entrance of the majestic National Park of Manuel Antonio. Hotel Playa Espadilla offers well equipped and cozy rooms, in the best Costa Rican atmosphere. The hotel`s own Biological Reserve is a special area for those who enjoy to hike and get in contact with nature. Costa Rican owned and runned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Espadilla Hotel
Hotel Playa Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing