We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath-taking view & helpful staff”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breath-taking view & helpful staff”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at Hotel La Mariposa, one member of our group was very ill and the staff at Hotel La Mariposa was WONDERFUL. They quickly cleaned a room and allowed us to check in more than 6 hours early so she could recuperate. Although it was impossible to foresee this situation, we were glad the staff of La Mariposa were so accommodating when it did.

The views are amazing -- perhaps the most picturesque we've ever seen. Our room is very large (plenty of space for a family of 4) and the beds are comfortable. Our balcony wraps around 180 degrees of the room with a tremendous view of the Pacific and the wildlife on the property.

The ride to the beach is about 2 1/2 miles, but goes quickly in the hotel van which runs on a predictable schedule.

The bathroom is disappointing given the quality of the hotel. And the towels are small, worn and coarse. Again, not in keeping with what one would expect from such a beautiful hotel.

But the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, particularly Byron at the front desk, make it easy to over look those details.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travelerthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    365
    117
    50
    55
See reviews for
386
608
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

You can't beat the spectacular view from this hotel. But that is its main asset. If you are looking for a luxurious hotel, this isn't it. Rooms are spacious and clean, but spartan. There are no amenities and the bathroom is second-rate at best. Service is friendly but a bit flaky. I was impressed that the front desk reached out by email immediately after we made our reservations to help reserve tours in advance. But when I tried to actually nail down tour reservations, no one ever responded to my repeated requests. I called to follow up and they told me they would e-mail me and of course, no one ever did. Most important for families with small children to know--this is a very child-friendly hotel and our children loved it BUT child safety is not a top priority. A child can easily fall off the edge of the hotel dining area--in order to protect the view, there are no fences surrounding the dining area, just a hedge that is about a foot high and a foot deep--beyond it is a straight 20ft drop to the floor below. The glass wall/door that led to the balcony in our hotel room was very thin and I suspect is not made of shatterproof glass. If you have very active young children, be prepared--you cannot let your guard down. Infinity pool is lovely. All said, while we had a wonderful time here, if we were to return to this area, we would probably stay at a different hotel.

Room Tip: There is no point in staying here if you don't get the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanoshimi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at many hotel that were cheaper than the Mariposa but had better beds and towels! Seriously, when you pay over 200$ a night, you expect more... However, the view IS amazing and the breakfast superior to other places. But beware of the waiter who pushes for special rum or tequila in your drinks: they will charge you more than the already too high prices on the menu... And do NOT eat there, the food is terrible and expensive.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I came to Costa Rica to celebrate her 50th birthday and were not disappointed. Hotel La Mariposa is perfectly situated in Manuel Antonio with wonderful views of the entire bay and mountains to the east. The staff is very accommodating and are truly there to help make your stay as comfortable and informative as possible. We had a corner room on the 3rd floor of the main building with spectacular views. The room itself was great. Appointments are modest but very comfortable. After all who spends a lot of time in the room when there is so much to offer right outside your door. The food at the hotel is good and if you venture out there are many great places within a short walk. A special shout out to Ceibo at the bar. Ceibo makes a great margarita and is the epitome of the friendly Costa Rican people. Pura Vida Ceibo!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Beautiful rooms, terrific views, excellent service. Could not have like this better! The sight is perhaps the best in the region at the top of the hill. People come from all over to watch the sunset. Excellent wildlife viewing on the grounds-- we saw porcupine, toucans and moneys for example.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The highlight of the hotel is the panoramic view of the Manual Antonio national park.Lounging in the infinity pool and staring at the sunset will rekindle the romantic feelings.
The staff greets you with fresh fruit drinks upon arrival. Our room was with partial ocean view, plantation style with good sized balcony.We did detect some moldy odor coming from the rest room on and off.
The breakfast is sumptuous and the staff is very attentive.Sporadic visits by the squirrel monkeys creates a wave of excitement and gives you plenty of photo ops.There is free shuttle service to the national park.The hotel is close to good restaurants like El Milagro, Emilio's cafe and Sanchos.Grocery store is less than 10 mins of walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The view was breathtaking and its absolute best selling point! The rooms were very simple, which I appreciated with huge windows all around that let you enjoy the beautiful jungle all around and the pacific ocean. Our room was on the left side of the property, the newer suites, not the ones in the main building. The drinks made at the bar were delicious and the waiters were always very attentive. It was so convenient having breakfast included. The dinners were really pricey, so we did not partake but we had delicious food nearby at Cafe Milagro, or we would order bar food (it was really the lunch menu) on the side of the dining room at the hotel, which was more reasonably priced. We saw monkeys on the property throughout, loved it! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,428 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing