We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel with the Best Sunset Views in Manuel Antionio”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with the Best Sunset Views in Manuel Antionio”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Hotel La Mariposa is a beautiful hotel with the most amazing sunset views in Manuel Antonio. The rooms are all air conditioned and clean. We ended up with a more modern room that had nice views but the lighting was intrusive and garish. I would reserve one of the older rooms which I think had more character with better lighting. The free breakfast was good. The pool was beautiful. Overall, it was a good experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    361
    117
    49
    54
See reviews for
383
603
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went for lunch after trekking through the National Park as it was recommended to us by a couple from Brazil. We had never been before so did not know what to expect.

Wow!! What a fantastic panoramic view as soon as you walk up the steps to the hotel lobby, We were in awe.
Drinks were served and our lunch was delightful. The very serene music playing and we could not take our eyes off the view! Just sensational. Next time I come back to Manuel Antonio, I will definitely come back here. The staff were very helpful, attentive and smiley!

I have not stayed here, but would certainly like too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barefoot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The view from the infinity pool is spectacular and it is clean and beautiful. Toucans and monkeys and lots of other wildlife. It would have been absolutely wonderful if I did not have to go back to that room full of bugs. Tiny little bugs that were all over the place, including the restaurant tables, little black flies in the room that bit, and some sort of flying ant that I caught crawling across my face after the lights were out. Ugh! The door had 2 inches of space underneath it that we stuffed a towel underneath at night in hopes of slowing the invaders. We did not have hot water one of the 3 nights we were there. Towels were small and worn. Food was so-so. Wait staff had a lot of new people so was on par with food. Would have been nice to have a bedside lamp, a coffee pot, and a refrigerator in the room. Also some sort of shelf or something to hold things in the shower. The ice machine was a LONG hike from the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arborlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We were here ten years ago, and loved it then. We considered staying at a few other places this time now that we have young kids. However I am SO glad we didn't. We have seen the others we considered and nothing can compare to La Mariposa. It's excellent and the views are by far the best in Manuel Antonio. We stayed in a premier oceanview room and - WOW. We had a wall of windows overlooking the ocean. Better than in the pictures online. My only 2 issues with the hotel is that the restaurant is overpriced and if you want your laundry done, they charge you per piece which adds up fast! I am usually one to re-wear items while on a beach vaca however here that wasn't possible due to the heat and hiking in the rainforest. Overall though, this is the best hotel in the area. Highly HIGHLY recommend!!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RNandMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Walking into the lobby, you can't help but be taken aback by the incredible view. It truly is indescribable and words do it a disservice. We got a free upgrade to Room 9, and the views - ugh, I can't do them a service. I woke up at 5:45 every morning just to watch the sunrise over the park. Not only that but the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the excursions they helped set up were top rate, and the location was perfect. Close to amazing little eateries and a nice 15-20 minute stroll down to an amazing beach. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

a beautiful property, centrally located in Manuel Antonio, a view above and beyond description, comfortably appointed rooms with sizable balconies, generous breakfasts, an inviting infinity pool, a helpful, pleasant, efficient staff- a request to fix a problem in-room safe was attended to and solved within minutes, transportation arrangements were effortlessly made. If I had to complain about something, it would be a few guests who seemed to act "entitled" who had not adopted a pura vida attitude; and the beach towels could use updating- not a big deal. I can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: room 52 felt like the VIP room, but I'm sure all the rooms have their advantages- you will jump...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiegorumor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I will agree with many reviewers that Hotel La Mariposa has incredible views. Our room opened up to this beautiful balcony with amazing views of Manuel Antonio's Beach. It really was spectacular. Honestly, it seemed like most of the rooms had nice views.

The grounds were clean and beautiful. Our room was HUGE! I did like the size a lot because we were able to spread out. It is true that rooms can use some upgrading, but overall they were nice, I wouldn't agree with other reviews that they are run down. The rooms did not have refrigerators and I think they should. They did have a safe. On more than one night there wasn't hot water. This is the main reason I am not giving the hotel 5 stars. I understand that many people are going to take showers in the evening, but even after waiting 3 hours for the tanks to heat up we still only had lukewarm water. Costa Rica is not a third world county so I was surprised to see that the hotel didn't have enough hot water for its guests. I was told that this was the first time this had ever happened at the hotel, but I find that hard to believe. I have traveled a lot to third world countries and have experienced this, but wasn't expecting it here.

The Wifi was terrible. Out of the 4 days there I was really only able to get on one day long enough to do what I needed. The first day there the Wifi was completely down.

The staff was very friendly at check in and answered all our questions regarding tours.

The breakfast was good, especially the made to order eggs. Pancakes were also made fresh which was nice to see. Each day they offered gallo pinto which is a typical Costa Rican dish of rice and means. They also offered two other hot items which changed each day. I would have liked to see potato picadillo which is another Costa Rican dish instead of hash browns. I do think the food catered to an "American" breakfast which I think is fine. I love pancakes which my daughter was happy to have too, but I also think it would be great if a few more Costa Rican dishes were included as well.

The food on the bar menu was okay. Again, I felt it lacked in things such as chicken and rice, picadillo, platanos maduros, fish tacos...... the quesadilla and ham and cheese sandwich were good. The bar drinks were tasty, but you could barley taste the alcohol and they were expensive. I recommend bringing some of your own to top them off.

Our stay was over New Year's and we were very disappointed that the hotel did not throw a New Year's Party. It did offer a dinner, but that was it. No music or party. It was a very quiet night. I understand that some guests like it to be quiet, but on an occasion such as New Year's I believe that its an exception and a hotel such as Hotel La Mariposa should have offered a special event.

The pools were very nice and SUPER clean, I loved that! There was a good amount of sunny and shaded areas which was nice to see. I love being in the sun, but my husband doesn't so we were able to find spots where we were still together and happy. I felt that the bar staff did not walk around enough to take drink or food orders.

Around the grounds we saw several iguanas. They are skittish so please take pictures from afar. We did get to see monkeys at the hotel which was VERY cool. They actually come pretty close to you. It was during the morning hours. I recommend keeping your doors closed. If a monkey gets in your room it would not be good. Also there are gecko lizards everywhere at night!!!

The hotel does offer a shuttle to the beach.

Not far from the hotel (only a few mins) there is a super market, lots of restaurants, and a frozen yogurt place. We ate at Victoria's which was an Italian restaurant just for change. The food was very good. Also the frozen yogurt place was yummy.

If you go to the beach there are men selling shaved ice. They are not the American type. They are MUCH better!! Make sure to get one. They pour sweetened condensed milk on it and its DELICIOUS!!!

We took a tour to Manuel Antonio National Park. I highly recommend going with a guide. They can spot all the small animals such as bats and lizards. Our guide even spotted a porcupine. It was incredible. You will not leave the park without seeing a TON of wildlife. The ocean water is clam, clean, and warm. Make sure to take your bathing suit for a swim.

Overall I would say the hotel was nice and comfortable. Although, there are little things here and there that can be improved as there are in many hotels I do think this is a great place to stay and would again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing