We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2008

La Mariposa was fabulous! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a premier room with incredible ocean views. In the morning we had monkeys, lizards, and hummingbirds just outside our room. The hotel has a shuttle to the beach, but I recommend the walk. We saw monkeys and were about 5 feet from a three-toed sloth. The views from the infinity pool were incredible. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mere177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2008

My husband and I decided to get married in Costa Rica after ditching traditional wedding plans at home. Hotel La Mariposa made it very easy for us to make the transition. After countless emails and photos from Andrey (the wedding planner) we made our way to Costa Rica for the first time. Not only are the grounds at Hotel La Mariposa beautiful and the views breathtaking, but the staff was friendly and helpful. They actually seemed like they enjoyed what they were doing and they went out of their way to make our wedding and our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Red1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Our family of four including two tweenage girls just returned from our Costa Rica vacation that included 8 nights at the La Mariposa. The hotel exceeded our expectations and we are already looking forward to a return visit.

We booked the hotel directly using their toll-free number. Manfred Arias, the Director of Marketing for La Mariposa took our reservation and assisted me with many other details related to my trip to Costa Rica. His kind demeanor and warm personality reassured me that we would be well cared for ~ and we certainly were.

The hotel is located some 500 feet above the Pacific Ocean offering the uncontested best view of Manuel Antonio and Bay of Quepos. The view from the ground-level dining area and pools is awesome. The view from our room and balcony on the third floor was spectacular (#35). We booked an "Ocean View" room and we all know that this can have many different interpretations from hotel to hotel: from true ocean view to being able to see a glimpse of the ocean when you stick your head out of the bathroom window! Well our "Ocean View" room was about a 200 degree panoramic unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean and Manuel Antonio. We even had a small view of the Bay of Quepos.

The room itself was a bit Spartan in appearance with white walls, tile floors, and simple furnishings, but the hotel is in the process of redecorating and they were actually renovating the room next to ours during our stay (it was never an inconvenience). The room was actually quite large. It easily held the double bed and two twins that we requested with room to spare. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was fine with lavatory, commode, and shower all in the same small bathroom. There was abundant hot water (and sometimes I was the last to shower after three girls so trust me, there IS abundant hot water). The room had a small foyer with closet and safe. The air conditioner had a remote control and kept us nice and cool throughout our stay. Two massive arch-shaped windows and the sliding glass door offered views of Manuel Antonio. A huge private balcony ran the full length and width of the room, and was probably 10 feet wide. We spent most of our awake time on the balcony taking in the sights and sounds of Manuel Antonio. Though we were a distance from the beach, we could almost always hear the roar of the waves breaking on the beach below.

Our room rate included breakfast, so we took advantage of this each day. The buffet included delicious fresh fruit, fresh juices, yogurt, cereal, toast, pastries, pancakes, sausage, bacon, hash browns, beans & rice, and a manned egg station for omelets or other egg dishes prepared to order. The coffee was great and was always accompanied by a small pitcher of warmed milk. The breakfast service started at 6:30AM and was setup in the dining area taking full advantage of this million-dollar view.

The hotel was immaculately clean, as were the pools and grounds. Our guest room was clean on arrival and the housekeeping staff returned the room to check-in clean each day.

In my opinion, the hotel has a great location within Manuel Antonio. The beaches of Playa Espadilla and the Manuel Antonio National Park can be accessed via a 20-minute walk (we never tried it), hotel shuttle, or taxi ($5.00 or $6.00 for the four of us). The hotel will gladly call a taxi for guests and usually they arrive within minutes. Taxis are abundant at Playa Espadilla, so getting a ride back is never a problem.

The hotel is also within walking distance to many nice restaurants, an ATM, a bank, a laundry, and the Super Joseth (the local grocery store).

Finally, the hotel's finest strength is its staff and the La Mariposa staff is superb. They treat guests like they are guests in their own homes. There was no request that was unmet. They called me by name throughout my stay! On our second day at the hotel, the reception desk told me I had a message ~ it was from Manfred Arias, saying that he wanted to meet me personally. So we gave him a call (his office is in a separate building down the hill). We arranged to meet and it was as if we were best friends. He just wanted to make sure that everything was meeting my expectations and wanted to see if there was anything he could do to make my stay more enjoyable. Where else are you going to find this?

If you are planning a trip to La Mariposa and have a question, I'll do my best to answer. I have also written a Trip Report on this site with a comprehensive review of my entire trip to Costa Rica.

With warm regards,

Jim

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

So the whole thing about hotels is how they meet your expectations. It exceeded ours. Not only did we have a great time there, we got married there too!

La Mariposa is a older classy hotel with the best views in Manuel Antonio. It is set up on the hill which is why the views are amazing. But you can't expect to have that view and be on the beach at the same time. If you want to be close to the beach you should find somewhere by M.A.N.P. La Mariposa has 4 shuttles a day going to/from the beach, so it wasn't a problem. There is also a steeper 20 min. hike down to the beach if you like hiking. As for the comment of the dirt road—you haven't been around Costa Rica much.

La Mariposa has a great staff (especially Andrey) that helped our large wedding party with whatever they needed and went out of their way to accommodate us. We had a couple of guests that couldn't walk up the steeper steps to get to their ocean view rooms, so they were happy to change the rooms to suites on the lower levels. We were there for the big tropical storm and got stuck in for the night. Gerald at the desk was happy to order pizzas for us and deliver them to our room himself. He was also a big help in directing us to the best local restaurants in the area. Breakfast was included which was great when we had activities planned for the day. They were also wonderful in helping us out when we were dealing with transportation arrangements during the storm.

The rooms vary dramatically, so there is something for everyone. Some have TVs, some have jacuzzis, some have kitchenettes. The important thing is to be specific in what you want. We stayed in the penthouse which was very nice and had the best view. If you don't want to spend that much, the suites with jacuzzis have the almost the same amenities and are about as large. Keep in mind this is one of the older hotels, so it has a lot of character but could use a little updating here and there. The reason you'll want to stay in this hotel is not only the rooms, because hopefully you won't spend much time in them. But the view of the sun setting while hanging out at the infinity pool are worth the stay alone. (We saw two toucans while hanging out there)

One more thing to consider about being up on the hill. We found that since the property is quite breezy it tended to be less buggy (w/mosquitos).

Just remember, you are in Costa Rica right by the rain forest. Welcome whatever comes with that, whether its the monkey out your balcony, an occasional iguana on the pathway or a bug in you room now and again. These are part of the charm of where you are. The number of stars on the hotel won't change these things.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank unknown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

My friends and I (all 25-27 years old) took a "girls-trip" to Costa Rica last week. We stayed at La Mariposa the whole time. La Mariposa was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!
We became friends with almost every staff member! Everyone went above and beyond to make sure we had a good time. We were a little disappointed that there were no TVs but when we mentioned our bordom to the front desk they found us a stereo and then one of the guys that works there, Smith, ran to his car, downhill in the pouring rain to see bring us some CDs. They also dug up some board games for us. They were also all totally willing to let us practice our Spanish on them. I am actually extremely surprised by the reviews that called the staff cold or rude.
The view from our room (the double connecting ocean view) is amazing. Four girls had 2 king beds and 2 bathrooms spread out over 2 spacious rooms- each with an armoire and sitting area. We had an amazing deck overlooking the National Park. We also walked around and peeked in some of the other rooms- which it seems are all being renovated. We were even told that when we comeback next year (which we all will) there will probably be flat screens in each room.
The bar pool is amazing- as is Jorge the bartender- he is like a Tico Woody from Cheers.
All and All we loved it and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LaurBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2008

bad location far from beaches on dirt road, rooms primitive (but large), the "ocean view" you pay for might be just a sliver off to one side, staff a little snotty -- no, make that quite snotty. restaurant okay, but too garlicky and most overpriced in the area (try nearby: el avion, or barbarossa, a bit cheaper & better, much friendlier). The view from the restaurant and adjacent pool is superb, worth a lunch visit, and they have some friendly iguanas scurrying around.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodrigothefifth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This was a nice hotel and the staff was very nice. I actually liked the hotel more than the town. Monkeys (momma & baby too) came up on our balcony at the end of the day. It was nice to stay there and I would highly suggest it for anyone if they plan to stay in Manuel Antonio. The hotel makes it.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Galileo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $166 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing