We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and service!”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I visited this unique hotel in 2011 and I want to go back to Costa Rica because of this place. The location was a paradise, the service first class and the view amazing! We saw Iguanas, monkeys and "osos perezosos" during our trip. My favorite part of the trip was the huge, costarrican breakfast every morning looking at the beautiful ocean!! YOU MUST SEE THIS PLACE

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are huge with a nice balcony and an wonderful view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
There are newer reviews for La Mariposa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend & I have stayed here twice now. The BEST views, wonderful staff, great food. Perfect. We will definitely make this stop a must whenever we visit Costa Rica. It is walking distance to many great restaurants, the beach, & the front desk will help book any tours you want.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaneNtuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived on October 5th, greeted with smiles and frozen drinks!! I walked out onto the terrace and was instantly smitten with the breathtaking views!
Since it was not high tourist season, we were given an ocean view room complimentary!! It was amazing!! The bar food was tasty, the piña coladas were delicious!!
On our third day, we went zip lining! Rebecca organized the entire day trip, and our transportation home!! She was amazing! always greeting us with smiles, at breakfast and asking about our stay! Always ready to give out information and reccomendations, incredibly helpful! All staff members were friendly and knowledgable about the area!!
I will most definitely be coming back!!

Room Tip: High floors have great views!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, surrounded by nature and friendly people. the best of the hotel is the location, the view and the pool under the trees. The food is good too and having breakfast in the patio with that pretty view is the best. It is a perfect romantic place to escape from the city. Rooms are OK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was an early check-in on October 19th and Rebecca was there to greet my party and accomodate an early check-in. I must say from the time I stepped foot onto the hotel grounds I felt like family. Rebecca (guest services agent/front desk associate) made us feel right at home. Upon check-in we were greeted by another employee who welcomed my party and I will yummy blended drinks to kickstart our vacation. The drink set the tone for the rest of the week.

Not knowing what we wanted to do, Rebecca told us not to worry because she helped us plan events each day we were there, recommended fabulous places to eat, and even went above and beyond to help me get a cake for my mom's birthday celebration on the 21st. Not only did Rebecca help me get a cake but she had it delievered to the restaurant we were meeting at for dinner and the cake was delicious.

The rooms were wonderful. We had rooms 21 and 22, the view was amazing. When the locals say La Mariposa has the best view- well you better believe it because we did. La Mariposa is close to several restaurants in walking distance and a bus stop right at the corner of the street which takes you to Quepos or the Playa. I like to take local transportation and the bus system is great and definitely reliable.

The property itself was beautiful. Flowerbeds were well manicured, lush greens and beautiful flowers. AMAZING!

Everyone was so helpful, nice to talk with and very accomodating. My mom was up early every morning and talked to everyone from the security guard to the maintenance and housekeeping staff. Everyone was wonderful and beyond helpful. NO COMPLAINTS WHAT SO EVER!
I work in the hospitality industry and stay a many hotels through the US, Europe, and Canada and I must say this was the best customer service ever...

I will be back and will definintely choose La Mariposa Hotel as my choice property when traveling to costa rica. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Anyroom at this property will not disappoint.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the La Mariposa hotel with a group of friends and had an amazing time. The location is breath taking with an almost 360 degree view. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. Rebecca from the front office was amazingly helpful, caring and went out of her way to make the stay excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely book the premium room, my room was one of the older partial sea view rooms, which was sti...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjerome82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stunning views, loved the naturleness of this place, lots of flowers and well manicured. Rebecca at the front desk was great, she showed us 3 rooms, all w beautiful views. We went w room 13. Very good value on the off season which included breakfast. Elias is the best bartender ever, we had a margarita, pina colada, strawberry daiquiri, but my favorite was the mojito. i plan to stay here again, I would love for my daughter to have a wedding here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $164 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing