We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel Excellent location, gorgeous view”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, surrounded by nature and friendly people. the best of the hotel is the location, the view and the pool under the trees. The food is good too and having breakfast in the patio with that pretty view is the best. It is a perfect romantic place to escape from the city. Rooms are OK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was an early check-in on October 19th and Rebecca was there to greet my party and accomodate an early check-in. I must say from the time I stepped foot onto the hotel grounds I felt like family. Rebecca (guest services agent/front desk associate) made us feel right at home. Upon check-in we were greeted by another employee who welcomed my party and I will yummy blended drinks to kickstart our vacation. The drink set the tone for the rest of the week.

Not knowing what we wanted to do, Rebecca told us not to worry because she helped us plan events each day we were there, recommended fabulous places to eat, and even went above and beyond to help me get a cake for my mom's birthday celebration on the 21st. Not only did Rebecca help me get a cake but she had it delievered to the restaurant we were meeting at for dinner and the cake was delicious.

The rooms were wonderful. We had rooms 21 and 22, the view was amazing. When the locals say La Mariposa has the best view- well you better believe it because we did. La Mariposa is close to several restaurants in walking distance and a bus stop right at the corner of the street which takes you to Quepos or the Playa. I like to take local transportation and the bus system is great and definitely reliable.

The property itself was beautiful. Flowerbeds were well manicured, lush greens and beautiful flowers. AMAZING!

Everyone was so helpful, nice to talk with and very accomodating. My mom was up early every morning and talked to everyone from the security guard to the maintenance and housekeeping staff. Everyone was wonderful and beyond helpful. NO COMPLAINTS WHAT SO EVER!
I work in the hospitality industry and stay a many hotels through the US, Europe, and Canada and I must say this was the best customer service ever...

I will be back and will definintely choose La Mariposa Hotel as my choice property when traveling to costa rica. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Anyroom at this property will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the La Mariposa hotel with a group of friends and had an amazing time. The location is breath taking with an almost 360 degree view. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. Rebecca from the front office was amazingly helpful, caring and went out of her way to make the stay excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely book the premium room, my room was one of the older partial sea view rooms, which was sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjerome82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stunning views, loved the naturleness of this place, lots of flowers and well manicured. Rebecca at the front desk was great, she showed us 3 rooms, all w beautiful views. We went w room 13. Very good value on the off season which included breakfast. Elias is the best bartender ever, we had a margarita, pina colada, strawberry daiquiri, but my favorite was the mojito. i plan to stay here again, I would love for my daughter to have a wedding here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is beautiful. The greatest staff and most amazing views in Manuel Antonio. If you are going to stay in Manuel Antonio, this is the place to stay! When we arrived, we were pleasently surprised that the hotel offered shuttles to and from the beach, and included breakfast. We also had monkeys on our balcony almost every morning! Just be careful, they can be cranky little guys!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markmilovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Walked in off the street and received a great rate on a full ocean view room. The best view and infinity pools in Manuel Antonio. Paid for a partial ocean view room discounted 30% and received a full ocean view room with private balcony Jacuzzi. Stayed 4 nights and had wonderful service; all the employees are friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our requests. Hearty traditional Costa Rican or American Breakfasts included in the price. They made special requests for omelettes and french toast that were not on the menu at no additional cost. Rooms and grounds were clean and very well maintained. You pay a premium for food and drinks, but they even provided a refrigerator upon request. Enthusiastically recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with very nice staff. Had a great view to the ocean from our room! This place also got a great sunset balcony and a great swimming pool. Very high standards! We are highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dikla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $163 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing