We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Mariposa Hotel to your Saves list
La Mariposa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

La Mariposa has a definite Costa Rican feel. We were on the 4th (top) floor in the corner with an amazing ocean view. The room was very spacious, simply decorated, and comfortable. There is no elevator, but staff bring bags to and from the rooms. There was a very large patio overlooking the ocean. The included breakfast was a typical breakfast, juice, beans, rice, fruit, omelettes, toast, etc. The open dining area has a spectacular view of the ocean, which we enjoyed. The dinner menu was good but a bit pricey. You can take a short walk to less expensive restaurants such as Agua Azul, or a quick cab ride into town for other restaurant options. They provide free shuttles to and from the national park and associated beaches, or you can take a long walk to the nearby beach.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    316
    99
    44
    49
See reviews for
313
539
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place has a truly awe inspiring view. A full view of the Manual Antonio peninsula and the ocean as well as the islands off the coast. The view from the balcony in our room was great. We just spent a lot of time on the balcony enjoying the sights. In the evening we could hear howler monkeys in the jungle below. The daily breakfast looking out onto that was great as well. Really good staff. Very polite with solid service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanceMilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had room 36 corner view was amazing. Every morning we had breakfast (included) at their restaurant. The table we selected was on the edge on patio. What a view in the am. Breakfast was great. Fresh fruit and great coffee. No rush .....staff very attentive and we stayed as long as we liked. Security was very good. Always felt safe.

Room Tip: Room 36 great view. Staff helped with luggage. Thank You
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The views are AMAZING! Hands down the best customer service that we experienced in Costa Rica, including a room upgrade upon our arrival. The room was intentionally and tastefully simple (tile floor and pretty wood furniture). The location is convenient (easy to catch a bus to the beach/park and to walk to nearby restaurants).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha,s Vineyard
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the minute we arrived to the day we left the staff was very friendly and helpful! Amazing views! Basic clean and comfortable rooms. Great buffet for breakfast on patio with sweeping views of ocean. Recommend dinner else where because restaurant at hotel is very expensive compared to other places. If you have fear of heights or issues with stairs I recommend not getting a room on top floors (exterior see through stairs). Conviently located to all attractions in Quepos. Oldest hotel in area that is still in operation for a reason. They know how to run a hotel!

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The views of Manuel Antonio Park and the ocean are amazing, the location is convenient and central, the pools are nice, and the yummy breakfast buffet (which is included) is a great touch.
However, my experience at this hotel (from the booking on...) was consistently disorganized and somewhat frustrating. I tried to book (from within country) and they offered me a "special deal" (which I then found out was the same deal being offered to the entire world online). Then they couldn't run my credit cards (which work everywhere else), so my friend ended up having to make the reservation. The full ocean view room is NOT worth the money unless you get a corner room. The partial view room is actually much easier to get to (instead of walking up 3 flights of rickety stairs) and the views are actually prettier as you get to see monkeys and more greenery. The wifi upstairs in the main building didn't work half the time. I had to use my own phone to connect to a hot spot. The hotel staff is friendly most of the time, but you feel it's more because they know they have to be rather than for genuine love of their job.

I'm conflicted because it was not a bad experience. It was VERY clean, the rooms were spacious, and at the end of the day, we had a lovely time. It's true that some of the facilities need some updating (pools & the rickety railings on the balconies and on the stairs), but it's really pretty well-kept for an older hotel. It was a pretty good deal for the price, but I just think it could have been so much better given what they have to work with. I'd stay here again, but I'd get the partial ocean view room.

Room Tip: Choose a higher level partial ocean view room. You'll walk fewer stairs and have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HTinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The view from our room and hotel restaurant was simply breathtaking. Room service, food, Internet access on a good standard, comfortable bed, clean. We have had monkeys jumping on our roof around 5 in the morning so having a pair of earplugs is not a bad idea. Dining in the hotel itself is a bit expensive so I would strongly advise one of the local bars or restaurants. Overall - I liked the hotel and loved Costa Rica so would definitely come back:)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aldona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing