We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The La Mariposa experience”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Maria, Rudy, and Steven. We cannot thank you enough for the absolutley amazing experience you and the staff of the La Mariposa gave us last week. We travel a great deal and this was by far one of the best times we have ever had. Property was breathtaking and service was outstanding. We will return as soon as possible. BTW Rudy- USA 1 , Costa Rica 0 :)

The Cox Family

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We split our trip between Arenal (La Fortuna) area and Manuel Antonio. We stayed here 5 nights. Firt the great things: The view is very impressive....360 degee views of the ocean and mountains. I heard it was the best view of the area. The pool is great. Its an infinity pool and looks right out to the ocean. Nice hot tub, The staff was very accomodating and helped us many times as we don't know Spanish that well and got confused a few times. We only had breakfast there daily as it was included and dinner required a reservation and was pricey. It was good food but the exact same thing everyday. We had room 49 which if you want seclusion...This is it. You won't see anyone except the maids or maybe a worker or two. Room is a suite with a mini kitchen it is huge...almost too big...alot of space that is just empty. Nice balcony with two chairs. Location was pretty good. WE had a car so we could go anywhere we wanted but if you are wanting to be able to go to the beach or further down by park alot...you will have to take a taxi. Side note: their parking is crazy. You have to squish into a space that you can't even get back into your car....someone has to climb in and over the seat and then pull out for others to get in. There are only a few places and its tight. There are lots of steps at this place that you have to climb to get around. I thought we would see monkeys alot but only our 1st day they came in. Around 6 monkeys and it was awesome. I got pictures and never saw them again. I did see a sloth hanging in a tree by the pool. Another great find...If you have a 4 wheel drive vehicle...take a left out of the driveway and follow that road all the way down. There are a few turns and someone has written with a marker beach with an arrow....you definately need a four wheel drive but at the end you just drive out onto the beach and it is so beautiful and private down there. Not many people and you can kee an eye on your belongings this way. We saw some people try without 4 wheel drive and get stuck. There were a few things I would say needed improving....the mattress was hard and we had to ask for a blaket. you only get a sheet. The shower s one of the handheld type and it took me forever to find the hot water and get it adjusted. Then water pressure was not great. it was hard to wash and hold the nozzle. also it is very low for tall people. It worked for me because I am only 5'3 but a tall person would have a hard time. Oh yeah they have a bidet in the bathroom too. As far as excursions to book from the hotel...I do not reccomend Safari adventures Mangrove tour. We didn't enjoy it and had some problems with a misunderstanding and were treated very rude. Wasted $120. Also if you want to zipline there...make an appt asap because we waited until our last day and there was a mixup and it was overbooked so we didn't get to zipline at all. That was one of the main things we wanted to do there. So we were really disappointed. Thats about all the stuff that didn't go so well. As far as places to eat or go nearby. We LOVED Aqua Azul. Short walk to it. Very good food!!!! We ate there 3 times. The owner is from SC and was very friendly and everything we had was great. WE also liked the Sports bar...a short walk. They have a casino and pool tables and one night had Karaoke and one night ladies drink free...It was packed. We went to the Avion Restaurant which was nothing impressive and we ate at a upscale seafood restaurant that we walked to taking a left...forgot the name. It was very good but very expensive. Overall this hotel was Great and I would reccomend it. I don't know if you want to spend 5 nights there though. I wished we had a chance to see another area and spent only a few nights instead of 5. It is VERY hot and HUMID there. Especially after staying in Arenal area where it was comfortable. Make sure you use sunscreen or you will burn. When you go to the National Park be prepared to have people try to talk you into tours and sell you stuff. Don't do the tours. Walk the park yourself. Thats my opinion and don' just park where they tell you you have too. You can park where ever you want and may be able to park on the street and pay nothing if you can find a place. They will harass you to take tours and park with them. The beach in park is alot less crowded than the public beach but I didn't see any monkeys. There was a croc in the water at 1 of the beaches so couldn't go into the water there. Just walked over to the other side and it was great. Lots of shady spots you can get out of the HOT sun. Take a picnic and drinks. They don't have any food or drinks in the park. Well I hope this review helps!!! Enjoy and Pura Vida!!!

Room Tip: Room 49 if you want a suite that is very private and you don't have to walk up 3 flights of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelfos111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its location. This is one of the original hotels built on the hill overlooking the Manuel Antonio National Park and the views are outstanding - both of the park and of the Pacific sunsets each evening. The pool is beautiful and worth spending some time at - even if your primary focus is to get to the park and to the beaches nearby. The hotel is located near the Park (but not walking distance) and near many restaurants, etc.

The hotel itself is well maintained but getting a bit tired due to its age. Expect some limitations to things like hooks and shelves in the room - this is not a 4 star location. Wifi access was available but intermittent and difficult to get the right password etc. Also - if you opt to stay in a "garden-view" room vs the "ocean view", expect that you might be in a separate building overlooking the parking lot. For us, this was just a bit of a let-down but given we did not intend to spend time in our room anyway - we made the best of it. There was nothing appealing about the view from our room - but a walk up the hill and over to the main building provided the best spot for taking in the views.

Room Tip: If you opt to stay in a "garden-view" room vs the "ocean view", expect that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I visited Masriposa for our anniversary veacation. My first impression was wow then I saw the view and it was WOW! Great place, great view, extremely nice and accomodating staff and so many interesting things to see. As a nature photographer I was thrilled at all of the photo ops I had from monkeys, beautiful birds and flowers and even a baby sloth right there at the bar at pool side. We had an ocean view with garden surrounding and it was so peaceful surrounded by nature. Our visit to Costa Rica was wonderful and this hotel was perfect for us. I highly recommend it and if you go say hello to Maria ,Johannes, and Philipp. I miss it already!

Room Tip: If you are not in good shape be sure to ask for a room high up. We had lots of stairs to climb daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It was a nice enough hotel, but lacked the amenities to back up the high price tag, especially when there are so many other hotels in the area.
Pros: Service was stellar, the view was amazing, and the restaurant was great.
Cons: the room was spartan: lots of space, but nothing on the walls, thin, terrible mattresses, only a sheet for bedding; the bathroom was full of ants and seemed to be crumbling (the tiles were in bad shape), the shower was dark and had little water pressure, and the in-room Wi-fi was nearly non-existent; there weren't any block-out curtains, so it was bright by 5:30 a.m., and it was extremely noisy.
There were restaurants nearby that were tasty, as well, though getting to a beach or grocery store required hopping on a bus (frequent, so not a huge problem).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We checked in to our room and there were a couple of problems. Once Marie became aware of the problems she resolved it quickly & professionally...to the degree that i was happy. All the nice things said about this hotel by the other guests are true. I will be back..and I will ask for Maria when I make reservations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juddtuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed @ La Mariposa last April and it ended up being one of our favorite places ! The room was huge and very clean. We had a beautiful ocean view with a large balcony. The included breakfast was a treat every morning. We spent one day just hanging out at the infinity pool all day. The staff was wonderful and took great care of everyone! We loved watching and listening to all the wildlife nearby. La Mariposa is a special place!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kychristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $168 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing