We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in Costa Rica!”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed @ La Mariposa last April and it ended up being one of our favorite places ! The room was huge and very clean. We had a beautiful ocean view with a large balcony. The included breakfast was a treat every morning. We spent one day just hanging out at the infinity pool all day. The staff was wonderful and took great care of everyone! We loved watching and listening to all the wildlife nearby. La Mariposa is a special place!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kychristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean and beautiful. Steep but private grounds, amazing pool area. We had breakfast and it was delicious. Very nice place in Manuel Antonio.
The view is outrageous. Fairly close to a terrific beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psalm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property has the best view in Manuel Antonio. Cocktails at sunset are fabulous! The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent. Parking can be somewhat of a problem because of the small lot and there are steep inclines to get to the reception area, but it's well worth the climb. Drive or climb down to a quiet and beautiful beach. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms are great and have a wonderful view at a lower cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We and another couple just returned from 4 night stay. We did all bookings directly with Stevan from the Hotel. He coordinated and managed all our excursion and trip needs from having us picked up at San Jose to multiple activities in the area. All activities were on time and with company's that provided personal service. Any requests we made were answered with "yes" and not "I will see if we can do it". Best place in town to see sunsets and have dinner overlooking the ocean. The extra cost to have full ocean views are worth the value. We travel internationally and were very satisfied with the stay.

Room Tip: If a view is your desire and traveling with another family, ask for the connected rooms on second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelermlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pretty pricey, good and friendly service, Maria at the front desk is wonderful, the welcoming papaya frappe was delicious, the infinity pool most romantic, and the patio with chairs & hammock off our room was excellent!

Room Tip: We had a standard ocean view and it was lovely. they added a bed for the third person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KootenayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

At the last minute we decided to change our reservation, cancelling our room in Quepos and booking 4 nights at La Mariposa in the hills of Manuel Antonio. Never a better decision will I make in my life. Nothing could have prepared us for the incredible views and wonderful staff. Initially we had wanted to be closer to Quepos with more activity. But the hills from Quepos to Manuel Antonio were actually full of life, restaurants and cabs. About a 20-25 (hilly, calf burning) walk from the Ocean and the small town of Manuel Antonio, the hotel also offered daily shuttles to the water. The staff helped us arrange our trip back to San Jose and gave us the vacation of a lifetime. We never wanted to leave!!

Room Tip: Garden side room was spacious but no hooks in the bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This property is amazing with views to die for. Unfortunately the standard rooms are very bare with no pictures, lamps, or even a clock. Of course the scenery makes up for it and the service was excellent. Breakfasts on the terrace were delicious and they bring a full pot of coffee to every table. The location is a bit of a challenge if you want to be at the beach all the time, but the hotel buses and city buses can get you up and down the hill. Walking is treacherous, especially at night, where it would be good to have a flashlight. If you just want to float in an infinity pool for days and look out at the Pacific, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Definitely request an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazooguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
669 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#21 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $160 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing