We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean and beautiful. Steep but private grounds, amazing pool area. We had breakfast and it was delicious. Very nice place in Manuel Antonio.
The view is outrageous. Fairly close to a terrific beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psalm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    365
    117
    51
    55
See reviews for
389
608
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richboro, PA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property has the best view in Manuel Antonio. Cocktails at sunset are fabulous! The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent. Parking can be somewhat of a problem because of the small lot and there are steep inclines to get to the reception area, but it's well worth the climb. Drive or climb down to a quiet and beautiful beach. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms are great and have a wonderful view at a lower cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We and another couple just returned from 4 night stay. We did all bookings directly with Stevan from the Hotel. He coordinated and managed all our excursion and trip needs from having us picked up at San Jose to multiple activities in the area. All activities were on time and with company's that provided personal service. Any requests we made were answered with "yes" and not "I will see if we can do it". Best place in town to see sunsets and have dinner overlooking the ocean. The extra cost to have full ocean views are worth the value. We travel internationally and were very satisfied with the stay.

Room Tip: If a view is your desire and traveling with another family, ask for the connected rooms on second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelermlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winlaw, BC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pretty pricey, good and friendly service, Maria at the front desk is wonderful, the welcoming papaya frappe was delicious, the infinity pool most romantic, and the patio with chairs & hammock off our room was excellent!

Room Tip: We had a standard ocean view and it was lovely. they added a bed for the third person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KootenayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

At the last minute we decided to change our reservation, cancelling our room in Quepos and booking 4 nights at La Mariposa in the hills of Manuel Antonio. Never a better decision will I make in my life. Nothing could have prepared us for the incredible views and wonderful staff. Initially we had wanted to be closer to Quepos with more activity. But the hills from Quepos to Manuel Antonio were actually full of life, restaurants and cabs. About a 20-25 (hilly, calf burning) walk from the Ocean and the small town of Manuel Antonio, the hotel also offered daily shuttles to the water. The staff helped us arrange our trip back to San Jose and gave us the vacation of a lifetime. We never wanted to leave!!

Room Tip: Garden side room was spacious but no hooks in the bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This property is amazing with views to die for. Unfortunately the standard rooms are very bare with no pictures, lamps, or even a clock. Of course the scenery makes up for it and the service was excellent. Breakfasts on the terrace were delicious and they bring a full pot of coffee to every table. The location is a bit of a challenge if you want to be at the beach all the time, but the hotel buses and city buses can get you up and down the hill. Walking is treacherous, especially at night, where it would be good to have a flashlight. If you just want to float in an infinity pool for days and look out at the Pacific, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Definitely request an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazooguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed at Hotel La Mariposa for a family destination wedding. The room was really nice and the view breathtaking. Andrey Jimenez, the event coordinator, was tremendously helpful. The rest of the staff were also so very helpful with anything that was needed. The wedding was beautiful. The food delicious. Everything the hotel did for all of us made for such a perfect wedding weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,070 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing