We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in room #62. It had incredible views, was very clean, and the bed was comfortable however the AC blew right over the bed and we had to turn it off because we were getting frost bite! The included breakfast did the trick and of course the views from almost anywhere on the property were amazing. The restaurant / bars all close at 10PM turning the place into a ghost town. We would have rated this a 4 star if the rates were a little lower.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pepperie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from 8 days in Costa RIca, six of which were at La Mariposa. When you walk up the steps and enter the main hall by the restaurant prepare for a view that takes your breath away. I have traveled all over and can honestly say this is one of the most beautiful view I have ever had at any property. We loved having the free breakfast here while enjoying the view every morning. We ate dinner here once. Food fine, but not as good as some of the the other places we tried.
The pool area is not that big, but very nice and again the view make it all worthwhile. We usually are beach people, and we did shuttle to the beach a few times, but often just preferred to enjoy this pool. They could have used a few more chairs and perhaps another shaded area. Saw lots of capuchins and igunas at the pool as well. I was surprised by one of the reviews I read because we found the service to be quite good. The front desk staff was amazing. Stevan in particular was extremely helpful, always remembered our names and said hello as we passed the desk throughout the day. He helped us organize several outings, spent a long time with us reviewing restaurant choices, and everything was handled well. We used WiFi every day throughout the day and only had difficulty a couple of times for brief periods. As far as the rooms I would stress that you should definitely go for the ones outside the main building. We had number 7 on the side of the building and the view was phenomenal. It was quiet as well. There was a hot tub on the deck and best of all monkeys just a few feet from our porch most days. Room was very clean, but I feel like it could use a refreshing, but then again we had just come from Nayara in Arenal so we were spoiled. We did see that there were some other rooms a bit nicer than ours also outside the main building and would probably ask for them next time. Their view was about the same as ours.If you are picking a hotel on room alone, this may not be your top choice, but we loved it and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Definitely get room outside the main building. Ask for the newer more modern rooms with the great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We paid $290/night for an ocean view room during our visit in Dec 2012 (2 of us + our 2 yr old), first time in Costa Rica. The room itself was awesome, they put us in a corner room so we had a 180 degree view of the ocean. The room was huge, beds comfortable. The location itself is ok, but by no means within walking distance to the beach. The pool is nice, breakfast o-k.

For such a wonderful hotel the service really did not live up to my standards. From the reception through check-out we did not feel welcomed. The way I put it to my husband, "I feel like they are reluctant to serve us"...Im not sure if they are sick of tourists or if they are snooty and reserve their best service to the high-class, whatever it was, the $70/night b&b we stayed in MonteVerde made us feel more welcome. I doubt also that we were the only ones feeling like this because we saw other guests who loudly complained.

Also, we ordered dinner one night from the high-priced restaurant and the food was atrocious starting with the "garlic bread" (sandwich bread + butter), "penne" primavera (they served us spaghetti instead) to the inedible creme brulee (first time, this is the worst creme brulee Ive ever had, could not eat a 2nd bite). But they are probably better at local food than western, since my friend came for happy hour and reported that some fish dish they had was ok.

To sum it up the hotel was beautiful and comfortable but the service did not live up to it. If you eat here dont order western food.

Food tip: Must eat lobster at Mar Luna restaurant.
General tip: Instead of driving to the beach outside the park, take a cab instead (6-7 bucks to/from hotel). A friend who drove said there were people dressed in vests collecting "parking fees" when there's not supposed to be any according to the local cops. They allow it bcoz the people "watch your cars for you".

Room Tip: Corner room gives the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a first class hotel with some of the best views you will find anywhere. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool area is spectacular with panoramic view of Pacific Ocean and Manuel Antonio park. Restaurant is good, dinner waiters were very friendly. Morning breakfast staff could be more helpful. Suspect since breakfast is included they don't get as much tips as dinner team.
Front desk very helpful with directions and excursions. Location is good between Quepos and Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: Loved view from room 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Activetravelerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had an incredible experience at La Mariposa. We started planning our trip in September and traveled in December. The staff was so friendly and helpful in coordinating a great vacation. We were able to plan all of our tours through the hotel and didn't have to worry about transportation or booking through agencies we were unfamiliar with. Our flight was cancelled the day we were supposed to leave and as soon as I got in touch with the hotel they were able to rearrange our pick up time to 1:30 in the morning when the flight we were able to get on landed. With this hiccup, the staff also modified our itinerary and tours so that we were able to sleep in that first morning we were there. We ended up sleeping through our alarm and the staff at the front desk was so friendly that they had the kitchen make us breakfast even though breakfast had ended an hour earlier. Our room was absolutely perfect and we had an outstanding view. We spent every afternoon at the infinity pool and visited the swim up bar often! The hotel is about a 25-30 minute walk from the beach but there is a shuttle from the hotel that goes down to the beach every couple of hours. We can't speak highly enough of this hotel and the incredible staff! We are already planning our next trip back! We wouldn't stay anywhere else but La Mariposa!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel had some good features but at the same time it was disappointing in many ways. All the staff were very friendly and super helpful, the view is spectacular, the 3 pools are very nice, location is very good. However, it was disappointing in several ways considering the class of hotel they claim to be: WiFi did not work, hair dryer assembly fell off the wall, vanity lights did not work, safe did not work, even with closed windows you could still hear all the noise people were making outside the room waking us up early in the morning.

Room Tip: Stay as far away as possible from the main building where the reception is because it also contains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gushkub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days during high season and over the holidays. The hotel was packed. Thankfully we booked early.

The room wasn't the greatest for the price paid but again for the time of year and the location. Well worth it.

The hotel reception was great. Held the luggage for us. Allowed us to use the pool area and internet (free by pool and bar and certain parts of restaurant). Brought luggage to room. You can exchange money there and get cash there from credit card (not cash advance). We had to do this since the banks were closed for holidays and the closest ATMs were out of cash. They brought us umbrellas when it rained. Called us taxis and even got us a masseuse on New Year's Day.

Restaurant had a decent breakfast from 630-1030. The New Year's Eve dinner was pretty good as well. Ask for Luis. If you want to see the sunset for dinner, go at 4-430pm. You'll have amazing views around 5-530. So bring your camera. Dinner other nights were good as well. Recommend the beef tenderloin and mussels. If hotel food is too expensive. Go to cafe Milagro. 5 min away. Great food and service at great prices. Also check out the local restaurants nearby (Italian and pizza)

The pools are great. You'll just love the views. Great bar food and watermelon drinks (Had 2 of them a day).

The bartenders are okay. They could get a lesson more or two on service and even on drinks (tried to explain how to make an Arnold Palmer twice).

Security guard is great.

The masseuse they recommended was great. Had a couples massage and wife had a Mani/pedi.

The canopy tour (mid world ) was also fantastic.

They also have a bus that takes you to the beach.

Enjoy your time there

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mseries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Altos Resort
Los Altos Resort
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $161 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing