We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous views of Manuel Antonio”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views of Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days during high season and over the holidays. The hotel was packed. Thankfully we booked early.

The room wasn't the greatest for the price paid but again for the time of year and the location. Well worth it.

The hotel reception was great. Held the luggage for us. Allowed us to use the pool area and internet (free by pool and bar and certain parts of restaurant). Brought luggage to room. You can exchange money there and get cash there from credit card (not cash advance). We had to do this since the banks were closed for holidays and the closest ATMs were out of cash. They brought us umbrellas when it rained. Called us taxis and even got us a masseuse on New Year's Day.

Restaurant had a decent breakfast from 630-1030. The New Year's Eve dinner was pretty good as well. Ask for Luis. If you want to see the sunset for dinner, go at 4-430pm. You'll have amazing views around 5-530. So bring your camera. Dinner other nights were good as well. Recommend the beef tenderloin and mussels. If hotel food is too expensive. Go to cafe Milagro. 5 min away. Great food and service at great prices. Also check out the local restaurants nearby (Italian and pizza)

The pools are great. You'll just love the views. Great bar food and watermelon drinks (Had 2 of them a day).

The bartenders are okay. They could get a lesson more or two on service and even on drinks (tried to explain how to make an Arnold Palmer twice).

Security guard is great.

The masseuse they recommended was great. Had a couples massage and wife had a Mani/pedi.

The canopy tour (mid world ) was also fantastic.

They also have a bus that takes you to the beach.

Enjoy your time there

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mseries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    361
    117
    49
    54
See reviews for
383
603
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the corner of the top floor and the views were well worth the climb up the stairs. We loved the pool and the afternoon visits from the monkeys. While the views from the restaurant were great, the food was better at Cafe Milagro, a short walk away. Free WiFi was appreciated. It was a $10 taxi or 25 min walk to the beach or to the park.

Room Tip: Room 40 if you don't mind climbing 3 flights
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The staff was helpful from the time we were booking to the time we left. The rooms were nice - kind of a "bungalow" style. GREAT views. Breakfast on the porch staring out at the ocean is just amazing. We were told we went in the off-season (mid-November) so we got great rates and the weather was still great. Staff gave great suggestions for restaurants and nightlife outside of the restaurant. They also really pushed a lot of the tours - sometimes I'm into that stuff, but we were on a more quick, budget-friendly, relaxing trip, so we didn't really partake. Get to know the bartenders - it will pay off. Remember to treat people with the respect you want to be treated and most of the time they'll do the same.

A few additional notes:

We took a taxi to the bus station from SJU airport, then a bus to Manuel Antonio beach. It was WAY cheaper than a taxi or car service, and totally safe. Neither of us really spoke Spanish, so there was definitely some language barrier difficulties, but we made it, so it can't be that hard. If I went back, I'd get a friend who knows Spanish to write down things we needed for each way to make it a little easier. Manuel Antonio Beach is about 2.5 hours from the airport area.

Didn't use the spa or fitness center, so not sure if those are at the property?

Hotel has free wifi in a few areas, which is nice.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view and it was still amazing. I think if you take the time to get the perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been here for 1 week in August 2012.
The hotel is located on the cliff right behind Manuel Antonio. The view of the bay is outstanding one of the most impressive we have ever seen. Breakfast area is on the terrasse, so that you can enjoy the view every morning.
The room was big, not special, but nice and clean, with private terrasse.
The swimming pool area and the accurate gardens are gorgeous.
Hotel shuttle, or private car, was needed to reach Manuel Antonio.
The area is full of very nice restaurants and cocktailbar, but our favourite has been the new Pizzeria closed to the hotel (inside Hotel), lead by Sebastiano, a real Italian "pizzaiolo". His pizzas were great 'cause the ingredients were fresh and some of them directly imported from Italy.
The hotel team was polite and nice, a part the hotel supervisor, that was a bit too hasty in his attempt to be 110% efficient.

Room Tip: To enjoy the best viev, ask a room in the main building above the swimpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-Pacheco, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at La Mariposa in Oct for 2 nights in room 30. Wonderful friendly staff at check in, I was early so I waited at the amazing pool whilst my room was getting ready. Nice complimentary cocktail and a swim! Then I was shown to my room, I was blown away by the view. Nice and clean room, good a/c, nice bathroom and large comfy beds. Pay the extra for a room on a higher floor you will not be disappointed! The staff were great and I loved the location of the hotel too. Easy to walk out around Manuel Antonio and grab the bus to the beach if you wish. You can also walk down to the beach from the hotel. Just can put into words the view, this is what the hotel is all about Would I stay here again...YES!

Room Tip: Room 30, is all about the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife is from the Coffee farms of Costa Rica, in Feb of 2011 while visiting family we heading out to the beach for the weekend. This hotel is stunning. You can not beat the view from the pool, and the drinks made with FRESH fruit were so smooth. Might be heading here again in Feb 2013.

Mood around the pool was nothing crazy. A few kids, but still nice enough to soak up the rays with a book. Food was nothing to brag about, but plenty of options in the area, and the desk will hail you a cab if you don't want to walk.

DO NOT miss the Sun Set from the pool!!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in November, 2012 and were thrilled. They gave us an upgrade-we had rented two rooms-the upgrade gave us a joint balcony that looked out onto the ocean. The views were spectacular. The rooms were very large and comfortable. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. They made special arrangements for our daughter to arrive from the airport. The food was good-especially breakfast (which is included). There is nothing better than sitting on the balcony looking at the view while eating breakfast or sipping a cocktail. They gave us good recommendations for food in the area. One of the best things was to learn about a beach that was out of the way-hard to get to-but worth it. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view-it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherlern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing