We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Panoramic view of Manual Antonio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Panoramic view of Manual Antonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I know I say this a lot in my reviews, but this view is unreal. I have been walking by this tucked back place for years.. and never thought to walk up the hill to venture in. The view, the pool, the swim up bar, the service and the food are out of this world. Lunch is affordable. So if you are on a budget visit the hotel for lunch and check it out. I bet you will be returning and spending a few nights in this wonderful spot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogsandcatsrmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    325
    102
    45
    51
See reviews for
339
549
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The view from La Mariposa is unmatched in all of Manuel Antonio! Just GORGEOUS!!!! We LOVED the monkeys too!!!!! They put on a great show leaping from the roof, off balconies and jumping from tree to tree! Our first room we got was room number 5. It was a HUGE room with a HUGE balcony. It was an older room separate from the main building. Everything seemed old, including the linens and the drapes. Immediately, I noticed it smelled musty. I turned on the air conditioner thinking maybe it was just musty from being warm and no circulation, but no. I have terrible allergies and within 15 minutes I was stuffed up and wheezing. An hour or so later, we went to the front desk and asked if all the rooms were kind of older and musty, or just this one. He didn't look all too happy to help, but showed us a couple of rooms in the main building. They didn't seem much better & were the most boring rooms... literally no decorations, white walls. He then took us to another little separate building to room 53. This room is very tastefully updated, I could see that it had recently been redone. We were VERY happy with this room and my allergies cleared up very quickly. I am convinced that there was mold in room 5. The next day, I saw the same man and thanked him so much for helping us with our room because I was so much more comfortable... told him how much we appreciated it and that I thought there may be a mold problem in room 5. He literally shrugged and said, "eh." Not really the hospitality we had experienced with every other person we met in Costa Rica. In the end, our experience was really good, but I cannot suggest strongly enough to request a room in the same building as room 53. My rating would have been considerably lower had we not been able to change rooms. Breakfast was GREAT, the view simply amazing, everyone else at the hotel (besides this one grump) was so welcoming & lovely. Did I mention the view? I mean, really, even if you choose another hotel, go here for a drink just to take in the view! Wonderful area with lots of restaurants, 2 minutes to the beach by car!

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 if you have allergies... we loved room 53. I believe any room in that building would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joecaraboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I did a lot of research and was bummed that we chose to stay here. The view is awesome but not worth staying here. The rooms and hotel are old and not charming. I would suggest staying elsewhere, Issimo Suites is awesome, but I don't think they have a view. Go to La Mariposa for a drink and to enjoy the view but do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shiv825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

According to even their rival hotels in the area, the Mariposa has the best view of Manuel Antonio. Indeed, it's gorgeous. We had a wonderful room (upgraded) that added to our experience. Since it was off season, the breakfast was served, rather than buffet, but it was plentiful, good, and served graciously. Reception staff was also very helpful and friendly. Location is great: walking distance to cafes and other sights, which is rare in Costa Rica for good hotels. Our only negative would be about the beds and pillows: lumpy and not comfortable.

Room Tip: try to check out several rooms if you can. may want to avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I got married here in August and the staff at La Mariposa made our Wedding Day incredible and memorable. The Wedding Coordinator was there during the event to make sure everything ran smoothly and perfectly. The Chef also gave us his personal attention and catered to our likes and food desires and the food was phenomenal. We were treated like family during the coarse of the entire week we were there. Needless to say, we can't wait to return next year

Room Tip: We had a total of 4 rooms between the family and they were all spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvenegas012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ness Ziona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

very good hotel... good location. very helpfull crew. verry nice and clean room. free Wifi and computer in the loby. Bar in the swiming pool......................... good breakfast with fresh fruits.......................................

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our experience at this hotel was wonderful. It is not the "modern" hotel of the USA. We stayed in room 31. We had a perfect view that encompassed the entire beach. The room was spacious but very plain. The beds were very comfortable. The shower was great with plenty of hot water. The staff was very accomodating. They made us feel like family. Everyone we came in contact with was there to help. The grounds are kept perfect. NO elevator in main building but it was fun going up and down the stairs, you saw something different each time.( the stairs are outside. ) This is a rain forest. There are bugs but if you keep the door shut they stay on the outside. A perfect escape from reality.

Room Tip: Stay in old building. Ocean side view. Corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing