We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Let me start off by saying that I loved Costa Rica! The Manuel Antonio Beaches were amazing (don't pay for a tour, just take lunch and snacks bc the beach itself is amazing and you'll want to stay there all afternoon)! This hotel has an amazing view from the restaurant and from the infinity pool. I believe I stayed in room 33 or 36. I was not impressed by the hotel rooms at all. I have stayed in nicer rooms for much cheaper. It is not worth the amount of money it costs. Go have breakfast, lunch or dinner here and enjoy the view, but don't waste your money staying here. The hotel staff was not very accommodating and they were rude. Anytime you asked them anything they ignored you or made it known that you were bothering them. The only polite worker I encountered worked at the restaurant and he was the only one who had a pleasant demeanor. This hotel is raved about in all the travel books, but it did not live up to those standards for me. Breakfast wasn't that good and neither were the quesadillas. On top of that one of the bar tenders tried to rip me off for those crappy quesadillas. When I spoke to the manager I was given back the money that was owed to me since I had my receipt. He tried to get me because he figured I didn't know the exchange rate. There are no elevators, just stairs. Lights are out early around 11 and it's pretty quite around the hotel after that. There is a bus stop nearby that you can take virtually anywhere you need to. Very convenient. While there our room had an infestation of moths that the hotel staff said was normal. Overall not a pleasant stay and I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazleneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

La mariposa was a fantastic hotel we stayed in room 36. If you're going to stay here try to get this room. There is no elevator so walking up the flights of stairs can be a bit tiresome but it's worth it for the view you get with this room! It's a full ocean view room You get a full window view to the south as west with a rap around patio. Excellent for sunsets.

The one problem we had was things at the hotel were expensive. We ordered pizza from the restaurant on grounds. 2 pizzas with 4 drinks came out to be 72 bucks. Still haven't figured out why it was that much considering the pizzas were 12 bucks. The pizza was excellent though.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanSummerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My friend and I received this hotel accommodation with a package that we bought online. The hotel was very nice. It is centrally located near the national park and nearby restaurants. Upon arrival, we were greeted and welcomed with two smoothie drinks at the swim up bar. The view from the terrance is unbelievable, overlooking the park, ocean and infinity pool.

Our standard room, however, was okay. The room was very basic with a TV, clean bathroom (no tub), balcony overlooking the ocean, and tiled floors. The AC was not very strong, and there was no refrigerator. We had difficulty with the safe which caused us to get help from the front desk several times. We were also greeted by several white-faced monkeys jumping all over our roof above us which was causing quite a raucous. At first it was quite amusing. They were so close, so we were able to take lots of great photos of them playing, but after a while, we asked to be moved to another room, which the hotel staff kindly did.

The breakfast was really good. There was an assortment of fruits, hot items including bacon and pancakes, and even an omelette bar. The coffee was always very good.

Room Tip: Overall, it was a very nice hotel with a friendly staff. I would recommend it, but would suggest upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have traveled through Manuel Antonio several times and the views here were spectacular, especially from the pool! The hotel itself isn't the best in the area by any means. The food is average and service can be slow (eat elsewhere!) Also, although we got a room upgrade from the standard room it was still very basic and felt a bit old, and could use an update. It is in a good location and there are shuttles to the public beach, you can also walk down to the beach if you don't mind a hike. There wasn't as much wildlife around the hotel as we had seen in other places (when we stayed at the El Parador we saw monkeys and iguanas all the time). The gift shop is nice, we went in our last day and found some interesting and unique gifts. If you are a family I would go elsewhere for better value and if you are a couple with a large budget, there are newer, more romantic places to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely go for an upgrade from the standard rooms if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Depends on what you like to find on a hotel. La mariposa can be a bit price when it comes to choices but let me tell you, for a romantic getaway it's a touchdown!. Food is awesome, service is out of this league, location , THE BEST VIEW in MANUEL ANTONIO confirmed by locals as well. Now if you the person to really look for comfort this might not be the best option, Everything else is just right. everything is walking distance, shuttles to beaches and tours. Clean, very clean. is the middle of the jungle, you'll always find bugs, flies or something but very rare. waking up and seeing the pacific is something not every day and everybody has the chance to do often. Worth the money. Tight budget?, there are many more nice options.Again, don't expect to find American style hotels, THIS IS COSTA RICA and the Hotel is in a mountain!. conditions are very different.

Room Tip: the best asset of this hotel is the view. GET A ROOM WITH a BALCONY! LOL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The most amazing views , ask for a suite on the main building were the reception is because the best view is there. 
The hotel is really nice , the pool was fantastic ,infinity pool and the service was great . 

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaniayPepe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've just come back from Costa Rica and the best holiday in a long time. We woke up every morning to the sound of howler monkeys and the surf breaking on the islands below, followed by a fantastic breakfast overlooking what has to be the best view in the Manuel Antonio area!! We had room 6 where my husband and I, our two teenage boys, our 6 year old, plus all our luggage, had more than enough room to relax and not be on top of each other. This is a great hotel for families, close to everything, and yet when you're sitting by the pool or out on your veranda in the early mornings or late afternoon you truly feel in the middle of the jungle and mesmerized by the view and visiting monkeys, tucans etc.. Go for it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFamilySOCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $169 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing