We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not the best.”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have traveled through Manuel Antonio several times and the views here were spectacular, especially from the pool! The hotel itself isn't the best in the area by any means. The food is average and service can be slow (eat elsewhere!) Also, although we got a room upgrade from the standard room it was still very basic and felt a bit old, and could use an update. It is in a good location and there are shuttles to the public beach, you can also walk down to the beach if you don't mind a hike. There wasn't as much wildlife around the hotel as we had seen in other places (when we stayed at the El Parador we saw monkeys and iguanas all the time). The gift shop is nice, we went in our last day and found some interesting and unique gifts. If you are a family I would go elsewhere for better value and if you are a couple with a large budget, there are newer, more romantic places to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely go for an upgrade from the standard rooms if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    370
    118
    52
    55
See reviews for
398
610
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Depends on what you like to find on a hotel. La mariposa can be a bit price when it comes to choices but let me tell you, for a romantic getaway it's a touchdown!. Food is awesome, service is out of this league, location , THE BEST VIEW in MANUEL ANTONIO confirmed by locals as well. Now if you the person to really look for comfort this might not be the best option, Everything else is just right. everything is walking distance, shuttles to beaches and tours. Clean, very clean. is the middle of the jungle, you'll always find bugs, flies or something but very rare. waking up and seeing the pacific is something not every day and everybody has the chance to do often. Worth the money. Tight budget?, there are many more nice options.Again, don't expect to find American style hotels, THIS IS COSTA RICA and the Hotel is in a mountain!. conditions are very different.

Room Tip: the best asset of this hotel is the view. GET A ROOM WITH a BALCONY! LOL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The most amazing views , ask for a suite on the main building were the reception is because the best view is there. 
The hotel is really nice , the pool was fantastic ,infinity pool and the service was great . 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniayPepe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've just come back from Costa Rica and the best holiday in a long time. We woke up every morning to the sound of howler monkeys and the surf breaking on the islands below, followed by a fantastic breakfast overlooking what has to be the best view in the Manuel Antonio area!! We had room 6 where my husband and I, our two teenage boys, our 6 year old, plus all our luggage, had more than enough room to relax and not be on top of each other. This is a great hotel for families, close to everything, and yet when you're sitting by the pool or out on your veranda in the early mornings or late afternoon you truly feel in the middle of the jungle and mesmerized by the view and visiting monkeys, tucans etc.. Go for it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFamilySOCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had an ocean view room and the view was spectacular! All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The restaurant food was average and pricey. There are things I feel I should mention. We had a nice ocean view room with a balcony. There is no privacy on the balcony. Both balconies on either side of you are just separated with wooden slats and you can see and hear each other. The other thing is that I was excited to be on the fourth floor with the great view but there are no elevators! So keep that in mind if you are older or have a problem with stairs. The stairs are metal, spiral and outdoors so very slippery when wet. The only other negative is the loud music that played until 2:00 a.m. from a bar in the vicinity. And as one other reviewer said, it was humid in the rooms. There is no exhaust in the bathrooms but they have an window that is always open and when you leave your bathroom door open the entire room gets very humid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just had lunch here and then stayed in the pool. It was great, views were awesome. Food was great. Pool was incredible. If you want to live on the Ritz with a shoestring hostel down the street and hand at the pool here for a couple of drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is perfect for the Manuel Antonio experience. I arrived with my two kids (12 and 15) and was amazed just looking about. The views knock your socks off! The option of dining casually at the poolside bar, at the pizza place on the premises, or at the linen-clothed dining tables with sweeping ocean views was perfect for us. All of the employees at the hotel were fantastic. They were always helpful, kind and happy. I booked all our excursions through them, as they offered great tips on things to do (jet skiing, ATV rides, night jungle tours, and touring the park) plus arranged for the companies to come to us. Simple things like offering us their bug spray since we forgot ours was so appreciated...The infinity pool was clean and beautiful. We'd swim after dark, watching the far-off lightening storms. I would stay here again and again. While waiting for my kids one morning, a tourist came to get information for the next time they come (they weren't staying there) and said, "I've heard this place is the best! I want to stay here next time." Yes, it doesn't get any better. Thank you to everyone at Hotel La Mariposa for a truly memorable vacation.

Room Tip: Room 31 was on a corner in the main building, offering both a front and side view. Surrounded by go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#10 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing