We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Clermont, Florida
1 review
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at LaMariposa in August for my birthday. We had an amazing time. The hotel has the best view in Central America. I was treated like a king. We stayed in the penthouse, a little more money but what a view. Had a hot tub on our huge balcony. All glass walls and windows facing the ocean. Loved the restaurant. The chef made me a special dinner on my actual birthday. He saw us at lunch time and came out to the table and told me about it. Then took me into the kitchen and showed it to me. Lobsters, huge prawns, mahi, tuna. Table was all decorated, and right at the edge of the terrace. It looks like you are hanging over the ocean. Lester was a great waiter and bartender. We ate at a few other nearby places while we were there but always ended up saying we should have eaten at our own place. August is the slow season so we may have gotten more personalized service because of that, I am not sure. But I am going back in February to try it again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is well worth the extra money. We could see the restaurant terrace from the corner of our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    348
    113
    48
    53
See reviews for
373
591
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

My husband and I recently went to Costa Rica for our Honeymoon and stayed at La Mariposa. We had the BEST time, the BEST view, the BEST service and the BEST food. The staff did an excellent job book excursions for us, providing us with information on local attractions and restaurants. We were in room 40 in the main building and LOVED it. It was on the top floor with a wonderful ocean view. I believe the staff gave us a complimentary upgrade since it was our honeymoon and that was MUCH appreciated :) Beautiful, breathtaking and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Went here in Jan 2009 for my anniversary. The hotel is beyond beautiful!!! It was summertime in Costa Rica and we enjoyed the beautiful sunsets and the infinity pool. The people and staff were extremely friendly. I stayed in the older part of the hotel. The room was a little dated but the view from the balcony made up for it. I enjoyed watching monkeys jump from tree to tree. The hotel offered French cuisine which became a little boring after a few days. We also had a blast zip lining & ATV Riding. I would definitely recommend La Mariposa,,, especially if staying in the new section...

Room Tip: Pay extra if you can afford it, and stay in newer section of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLady71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had a nice room in the building to the left of the reception. no. 55, nice layout, nice furnishing, georgeous view and balcony. We also looked at other rooms and felt that the main building had great, possibly better views, but sometimes odd layouts and more of an outdated 70s feel. The rooms below the pool were more modern, not bad at all but obviously located somewhat lower. staff was great and always extra helpful.

Room Tip: it's all about the view. we had a great room in the building to the left of the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stefanowitsch212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Excellent rooms, great location, there is plenty of shuttles to the beach but the pool is so good you do not need to go. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank channi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Thanks to all the staff at the LaMariposa for making our stay perfect. The rooms are wonderful and large and the pools are spectacular. Great breakfasts and staff are very attentive.
Views from the rooms sraight down to Manuel Antonio Beaches are spectacular. I recommend this hotel highly. If you have 4 people the corner connecting/ two rooms 30A & 30Bwith two bathrooms have ocean view with wrap around balconies. Just a short drive to the beaches or the hotel shuttle bus is also available.

Room Tip: Perfect location - Corner rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

La Mariposa is such a gem. We spent 5 nights there and absolutely loved it. The staff could not have been more accomodating, they literally bent over backwards to make our stay as wonderful as possible and offered a lot of helpful hints about attractions & restaurants. When we arrived, we found that we had been upgraded to an oceanview room without even asking, which offered a breathtaking ocean view. We were even lucky enough to have a sloth in one of the trees right outside of our balcony. You simply cannot beat the view- after driving around Manuel Antonio for a week, I think it's definitely the nicest hotel in the area, while still being affordable. The pool area is amazing, the rooms were very clean and the food/drinks are very reasonably priced. The location was wonderful for accessing the beach and restaurants. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing