We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Karahe Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karahe Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed January 19, 2009

This is a great hotel right on the beach! From what I understand, it is a pretty nice price as well. Reception is very nice and helpful. Rooms are cute and clean with AC. NO TV, which I was happy about. Also, they give you a hammock on the porch :-) You can walk along the beach to get to the national park. NOTE: The park is closed on Mondays. We were suprised about this...considering our 2 full days were on a Sunday and Monday. Also, Sunday was CRAZY on the beach. Well, definitely not a relaxing, calm beach day. It's just because there a tourists + locals on the weekends which makes the beach crowded.

Breakfast is just average, but you get to eat outside on the restaurant terrace and look at the ocean. We didnt eat at the restaurant at night, so Im not sure if it's any good. There are lots of good restaurants in the town...but definitely take a taxi to most places at night. The main road is dark, curvy, and hilly, without many sidewalks.

I hope to come back one day to stay longer (definitely a M-F trip)!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 494 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2008

i was in manuel antonio for 1.5 weeks and loved it!

This was hotel was really clean and safe. we did not have any problems there at all. they have a night gaurd who is great and always watching out for you when you arrive back after a late night out. i think this hotel has the best location in manuel antonio. you have access to the beach and you can also walk to the public beach in 4 minutes. the staff were super friendly and REALLY helpful. the hotel includes breakfast - the food is okay, not great. the breakfast is the same thing every morning and gets boring if you are there for a long time. however, it is breakfast and most people do not eat much during this time. i highly reccomend this hotel if you want a humble, clean, friendly, and safe place to stay. it is definitely not a classy place, but I loved it and will go back there. it is the PERFECT location!

pura vida!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mingos17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

It is obvious that the Karahe was one of the original hotels at Manuel Antonio, as it is one of the few that is really right next to the beach. Yes, you have to walk 500 meters to get to the beach, but that is what is so beautiful - there are still trees that line the beach. I stayed in one of the villas at the top of the hill, which once upon a time had a little tram to take people up there. It is a bit of a hike, 87 steps to be exact, but what a view. I was the only one up there at first, so they gave me the room with the best view. I made friends with the iguanas that decorated the path on the way up, and every morning watched the monkeys swing from tree to tree as the sun came up over the ocean. I had a wonderful beach walk every day before breakfast.

This hotel needs some TLC, but it was worth it just to be there at the beach, not a 10 minute bus ride away. The staff were very helpful and the lunch/dinner food was good at their restaurant. Breakfast was a bit blah, eggs, black beans and rice, and fruit every day, with an ancient toaster oven, but I was on vacation, I had time to wait my turn to use it.

All of Manuel Antonio is gorgeous, but if you can be happy with a simple room, and you want to be right there at the most gorgeous beach, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

I recently stayed at Hotel Karahe, and thoroughly enjoyed my experience. We stayed in one of their villas located high above the Pacific Ocean. To get to the villa we had to hike up quite a few stairs, but it was all part of the adventure. The view from our villa was spectacular.

Every morning the hotel offered a great complimentary breakfast which included fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, ham, and rice and beans. The restaurant area was located just off the beach underneath a large grass hut. The atmosphere was wonderfully relaxing.

The hotel also led straight onto the beach. Every morning we set up beach chairs under some coconut trees and just relaxed the morning away. It was very peaceful and serene.

One of my favorite parts of the trip was relaxing in the pool when about seven capuchin monkeys came by the hotel to play. They were adorable. They swung through the trees above us and ate coconuts. It was quite a fun surprise, especially for an American that has never seen a monkey in the wild before.

Anyways, I recommend this hotel for its relaxing atmosphere and serene beach front. Finally, the staff members were all extremely helpful and pleasant. They helped us make a reservation for a canopy tour and arranged for bus tickets to be purchased for us in Quepos so we didn’t have to bother ourselves with a trip into the city. When I return to Costa Rica, I will definitely stay at Hotel Karahe again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank aecarey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We have just returned from a 10 day trip to Costa Rica. We booked this Hotel based on location, reviews and price. It was not as good as it could have been. The location was great except for the construction going on right next door. The construction did not bother us because we did not hang around the pool. We had a lower level room (Beach Front) however, you could not see the beach from our room. The rooms were ok, except, the floor was not cleaned very well and there was some sand here and there. Nice beach front area and you could walk to Manuel Antonio Park and all the vendors and businiess next to the park. Solar Hot water only and no TV.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RFC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

If you are fishing, forget about the free breakfast that the hotel offers. They don't serve breakfast until 7 AM. This is the same time you are being picked up to go fishing. The air conditioning could be better. The room refrigerator was noisy and not very cold. Room service never swept up any of the sand that was tracked into the room. poor lighting, no radio, no tv, not that a tv is important when you are vacationing in costa rica, It comes in handy when you want to view your photos on a tv screen from your digital camera. On the plus side, the employees were very friendly and the natural beauty around the grounds and on the beach front is very impressive. A little money put back into the hotel for maintenance purposes and a few more ammenities can turn this hotel around.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Parot_Head7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

Manuel Antonio is an amazing place that must not be missed - peaceful beaches, plenty of monkeys! But be sure to book your hotel before you arrive here. This was the only place where we didn't have any hotel reservations in advance, so we were limited in our options. This place is right on a very nice beach, but the room is very basic and only in decent condition. We didn't stay in the room very much so it was adequate, but I'm sure there are nicer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ocphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
925 reviews
2.2 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karahe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karahe Beach Hotel

Address: 7 km south of Port Quepos, about 500 meters from Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $103 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karahe Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern low-rise, beach front resort - Playas Manuel Antonio next to the National Park of Manuel Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karahe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karahe Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing