We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Location”
Review of Karahe Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karahe Beach Hotel
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Great Location”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a gem of a hotel. Nice rooms, clean and comfortable. The grounds are very well maintained by friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is as good as we've had anyplace across Costa Rica. There are lots of options for dinner elsewhere, but if you want something simple they have it. Best margarita for me, smooth, no bite, just refreshing!! The waitresses always had smiles and were so friendly. And you walk through a private gate which opens to an incredible beach! What more could you want? A chair to relax at the beach and watch the sunset, they have that too! There is plenty of wild life right here on the hotel grounds, we found the local sloth with the help of the staff and checked up on it daily! There are iguanas all around, common basilisk, red crabs, and lots of birds.
The only part we did not like was the obviously not Costa Rican gal that worked in the office, she is a negative nanny and is too busy being negative to help you feel welcome. She made us feel as though we were an unnecessary trial of her day. I would have rated you lower but I wasn't going to let the one bad apple spoil the bunch of good we found!

Room Tip: They're all great with easy access to all floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    182
    95
    44
    33
See reviews for
114
199
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

In my opinion,the Karahe hotel is an underrated jewel when comparing Manuel Antonio hotels.It has great beachfront location with large ,spacious well groomed grounds.I observed daily sightings of wildlife and birds.The breakfast buffet is included and stands up to most of the other area hotels.The dinner menu is ok and other dining options are quite close by.My room was very clean and I found all of the staff to be very courteous and helpful.The lack of in room WiFi is a negative but it is available in the office and restaurant areas.The swimming pool is also well maintained.I will definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenhart
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here last week after planning a spur of the moment trip to Quepos area. Many positives about this little gem. It's on the beautiful beach, close to Manuel Antonio, clean. Front desk people couldn't be more helpful and accomodating. They will assist in booking any trip you want. All the tour operators (they use) provided us with a great time.The grounds are pretty, the hike to see the hilltop rooms... exhilirating experience. Saw plenty of animals just sitting poolside.The negatives:
3 dollars a day to use the room safe?In a place where you need to lock everything up, I found this to be a bit much.
No help to carry baggage to the villas? Shame on you!
Supper was mediocre. Fresh fish, but overdone.
It would have been nice to have a coffee maker in the room - no coffee served at restaurant until 7-ish. Many people arise earlier than that.
Thanks, we had a really nice stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the beachfront rooms for the convenience.... hilltop rooms for privacy and views. Buy alcoho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyK528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Only three hotels in Manuel Antonio that are truly directly on the beach, and one is a cabin place that is not worth mentioning, the other is Verde Mar. Of the two, Karahe gets the nod because the beachfront rooms are fairly new. The Karahe has rooms on the other side of the road but DO NOT STAY IN THOSE. They are old and too far to walk to the beach. The beachfront rooms are just a short walk thru their lush grounds, passed the pool and restaurant, and you walk out on to a world class beach. Very convenient.

Room Tip: absolutely stay in the beachfront rooms and not the "Villas" across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The room was villa on the top. No one helped us carry luggage or bothered to warn us. We had to walk at least 100-150 steps. Too much hassle. The room was not clean. Although it says the safe is included. There is a charge of $3 for that. Food was mediocre. These rooms are too far from the beach. The beachfront rooms didn't look great either (from outside).

I would not recommend this place to anyone visiting Manuel Antonio.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank viks0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Hotel is very close to the beautiful beach and to the national park. Rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is good. Dinner I don't know because we went out for dinner. every friday night is a beachparty on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enila07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This beach front hotel is amazing for several reasons: excelente breakfast included, spacious rooms, hot showers, nice gardens, perfectly located pool, great staff, and safe. I have been there at least 6 times.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoseHernandezUgalde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karahe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karahe Beach Hotel

Property: Karahe Beach Hotel
Address: 7 km south of Port Quepos, about 500 meters from Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karahe Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern low-rise, beach front resort - Playas Manuel Antonio next to the National Park of Manuel Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karahe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karahe Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing