We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few steps from the beach”
Review of Karahe Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karahe Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel and we were treated great. Breakfast could be better. Just few steps from the beach there was wildlife everywhere: birds, iguanas and monkeys surrounding the poll. Helpful staff and a good dinner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coutito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 502 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hotel Karahe is on both sides of the main road. we were on the side with the pool, restaurant and beach, and would have been disappointed if we weren't, although the distance isn't that great. Hotel is nothing fancy, and restaurant is quite modest, but the pool and beach are fabulous. right up the beach there are all kinds of activities, surf lessons, parasailing etc. the parasailing was fantastic. Walking distance (on the beach) to Manuel Antonio. Staff was very helpful, booked tours, suggested restaurants, and gave detailed directions and a map to a little store in Quepos to replace a charger we had left behind in Monteverde. A quarter mile back toward town is a fabulous fish restaurant with outdoor seating, one of our best meals in Costa Rica. We saw iguanas and monkeys on the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for beach-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hotel has a great beach access that is un beaten. You go through the gardens and there is shade in front of the beach. Restaurant is located near the beach and so is the pool. The staff are great and food selection was great as well. We had a good time, specially safe access to the beach. There are chairs to use on the beach and wildlife that comes ot you...........

Good family location and close to Manuel Anotnio national park and town centre. Would recommend to anyone. Rooms are clean and nice, nothing fancy, but have AC and great views of the ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelEyesWide0pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

If you want a beachfront hotel Karahe is the hotel to stay. The staff very friendly and breakfast was good! Villas and beachfront rooms are nice. I would stay again there!

Room Tip: Villas are very good (lots stairs to get there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuisDSJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Beachfront rooms truly beachfront...............a short walk through a well kept garden to the pool and the restaurant and another 25 yards and you are on the sands. Restaurant food basic but good, the pool immaculate, staff helpful. For sure we will return again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blazer1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We got one of the rooms up on the hill b/c of the view. The view was good, but not worth the hike every time. The room had bugs, but the hotel staff gave us some Raid. A little dirty, but I guess that's to be expected with the price. We thought the location was great, you could walk down to the beach and it was at the far end away from most people (especially the bums). You still have to drive to the park and to places to eat, but I don't think there is one hotel that is close to everything.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisjw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a great hotel for the adventurous, very active individuals. Hotel villas are located on top of a hill with one of the villas having a great view of the ocean. Monkeys, iguanas and pretty much all wildlife is at your doorstep. Quite a hike to get up to the villa and pretty loud at night with the animals. Rooms are a little old but large.
The hotel is connected to the beach which is a plus...can use hotel beach chairs but have to pull them out and put them away yourself. The restaurant food is expensive, better off buying your own breakfast elsewhere.
Next to a busstop to go into town but would probably be better off in a cab (about 6-8dollars one way) ...Tons of restaurants in the area but road is tortuous and wouldn't recommend walking anywhere. National park within walking distance...nice walk through the beach ...Nice place for the adventurous type.
For those scared of bugs - at first glance it may seem like your room will be infested with critters (surprisingly not). ...but the rest of Costa Rica is ..!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julj53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karahe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karahe Beach Hotel

Address: 7 km south of Port Quepos, about 500 meters from Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $112 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karahe Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern low-rise, beach front resort - Playas Manuel Antonio next to the National Park of Manuel Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karahe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karahe Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing