We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worst hotel in costa rica stay away!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Divisamar Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in costa rica stay away!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

This place was a dump rooms were gross beds were uncomfortable they only have liquid soap and the continental breakfast was unedable. They Barely have parking for cars.Stay away from this hotel it's a scam!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedypetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
22
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I went with school group and our guide did say it wasn't a resort. Well when we got there, the roof started leaking in one of my friend's rooms, another friend didn't have a working toilet! If I knew we had to sacrifice cost for the worst hotel, I would of went somewhere else. I don't like to jeopardize a business reputation, but this hotel is definitely not worth the money. Please, i warn you...dirty sheets, non-functioning toilets, just over-all, please don't waste money. My roommate and I had to pay 70.00 extra just go get a room that had a working ac, tv, and a regular double bed..but if you want to see for yourself..good luck! There a lot of nicer hotels in the area call around!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judsongrad05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed here for 3 days. We picked the hotel because of its proximity to restaurants and the fact that the bus (we relied on public transportation) stops in front of the hotel.

The room. We were shown two options to pick from before they accepted any cash. The room we picked was just fine until the a/c died after a power surge. The owner moved us to a better room for the same rate we had paid. As for the water pressure for showering - it wasn't great but none on the hotels we stayed in had truly hot water or really great water pressure. It's what you should expect for Costa Rica. In our room there was also a mini-fridge. The room was clean and well maintained.

The hotel does give you a breakfast voucher for a restaurant that is highly rated by Frommers that is right next door. This was convenient for us and a great way to start the day.

Security: Another review indicates that there was no security however during our stay there was a security guard on duty and walking the grounds from sundown to sunup. The guard was friendly.

Location: The bus stops in front of this hotel and it is surrounded by all that you need for vacationing. There is an ATM w/in spitting distance of the hotel that gives both colones and dollars. This is important as finding any ATM machine (that works) can be a challenge never mind one that gives you a currency choice.

Overall you get what you pay for at this hotel. I would advise that if you are the kind of traveler that spends a great deal of time at the hotel this may not be the place for you. However if you are the kind of traveler that uses a hotel room as a sleeping place where you keep your stuff the hotel would probably work for you, especially if you don't have a rental car.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We booked this hotel for three nights. Upon first glance, the hotel appeared a bit run-down, especially for the price that we had been quoted over the phone ($115/night).

The owner immediately requested that we go to the ATM a couple of blocks away to take out cash to pay for our stay instead of the credit card we had given him over the phone. Though this was odd and inconvenient, we humored him.

Upon checking into the room, there was a very strong and distinct smell of mold, especially on the pillows, comforters, and curtains. The shower had low pressure and was not hot, the toilet was old and stained, and the mirrors were corroded. The tile floors were also (permanently) stained.

After examining the room, we decided to seek out somewhere else to stay. We indicated this to one of the owners (Eugenia) and offered to pay the first night of the hotel since we had already occupied the room. The owner then proceeded to insist that our room was fine. In front of us, she yelled at her housekeeper to go and "spray down" the room with deodorizing spray and, when we insisted the problem went beyond that, she began yelling and screaming at us, telling us that the money we had paid her less than an hour before had already been spent and could not be refunded.

In the meantime, the other owner (Alvaro) had (apparently) taken our cash to deposit in the bank. After waiting around for more than an hour, we spoke with him. Thankfully, after trying to get us to simply change rooms, Alvaro accepted our offer and refunded two nights' of our stay. We ended up staying in a much better place, closer to the beach and the park, and for a better price.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CostaRicaTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

We just returned from Costa Rica with Manuell Antonio being the third and final leg of our vacation. Everything was great until we landed at the Divisamar. This place is not a three star hotel. It's more like a pensione. It does not live up to expectations, and didn't provide most of the services advertised. There is no casino, restaurant or bar on site. The front desk operates from 7:30 am to 7:00 pm. There were no employees or security on staff after 7:00 pm - and the front gate does not lock, so anyone can enter the premises - making it very unsafe. The location is also sketchy, with locals loitering around the buidling near the bus stop and pay phone. We felt really uncomfortable because of this. It's not safe at all.

The water was turned off after midnight - so you couldn't wash your hands, brush your teeth, etc., until morning. Breakfast is nothing more than toasted Wonder bread and Tang (not real juice)! The grounds were not kept well, the pool was not clean, and the pool furniture was dusty and moldy.

We stayed for three nights, including a Friday night, and the hotel felt like the twilight zone. I think there was one other couple staying there - but beyond that, the place was deserted.

There are plenty of better and more reasonably priced places in Manuell Antonio - so keep looking. If you're desperate and just need a place to lay your head, it will suffice. But all things considered, it's way over priced and falsely advertised. (If you just need a place to crash, the Hostel down the street is a better option.)

Again, this is not a three star hotel, it's gross and not worth the price tag at all. Keep looking!

  • Liked — Nothing! It was awful
  • Disliked — We were expecting a three star resort. It was a pensione.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SFwanderingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

We stayed at divisamar for one week. The hotel has a great location because it's right between the beach and downtown quepos. also, there's lots of restaurants near it, there's even a small mall next to it. i had lots of fun at the casino.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — the check out at 12 noon
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank danielCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2005

We stayed 4 nights at Divisamar in Dec 2005 during the X-mas time. The hotel did not deliver value for the room price ($90/night). Our double bed room had a distinct aroma of mold and the service level wasn't that good either. The attitude towards customer was well described in the documents provided by the hotel(we take no responsibility, no refunds etc...)
The breakfast was very minimal even for a continental breakfast. Showers had hot water occasionally, but the water pressure was low that you had to twirl around just to get yourself wet...

Good things about Divisamar, the room had a refrigerator and air conditioning (noisy), and the bus stop was really close.

I would not recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#44 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#32 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#31 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divisamar Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divisamar Hotel & Casino

Property: Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach | 2 miles from Quepos Port, Road to Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Divisamar Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family hotel, A/C rooms, private bath, hot water shower, cable color TV, refrigerator, WiFi areas, superior rooms with two double beds. Secure private parking, pool, Jacuzzi, cafeterias, 7 restaurants and bars in front with ocean view, supermarket, rent a car, banks and ATM, souvenirs and beach shops. Local half day tours from the hotel departure, canopy, rafting, sailing, ATVs, fishing trips, nature walks to the parks, diving and surf lessons. Daily ground and air transport from popular tourist destinations and to San Jose. Groups, Visa and Master Card welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Divisamar Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divisamar Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing