We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush & expansive grounds and yet feels intimate”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lush & expansive grounds and yet feels intimate”
Reviewed January 12, 2007

Our travel agent, Storm with Travel Junkies happens to live in Costa Rica and he got us an excellent room & location. He far exceeded our expectations and also lives there which made it much easier. We were so fortunate to have the view we did and the location in hotel.. Absolutely breathtaking. Pros-Beautiful grounds including hiking trails, close proximity and convenience to beach, 3 pools to choose from, large rooms and huge balconies. Cons-Just be careful and don't leave food out b/c ants will appear. The only disappointment we encountered was that two separate neighboring rooms were inconsiderate and were talking loud at night and you could pretty much hear everything. One of them was 2 levels below and since there are no windows, you hear everything. Bring ear plugs just in case.
Overall this was our favorite place on our entire trip!

  • Liked — Views, lush expansive grounds
  • Disliked — Noise from other rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    499
    166
    62
    42
See reviews for
493
508
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Great location. Great View!! Can hear howler monkeys right in the room. Public bus to beach stops right outside the hotel. Clean room. Great ocean view from room. Saw white faced monkeys from the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank mangoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2006

Costa Verde was nice, with our room exceptionally large to accommodate our over sized family. It was clean and in good condition with a well stocked kitchen. We had problems with the slope that the property sits on. Everyone in our group was having difficulty climbing up and down the hills from our room to the pool or restaurant. It was not fun and challenging for even the active adults. While it appears that most rooms have a view to the ocean, ours didn't. Also, the food in the restaurant was not great and it was a bit expensive. They have 3 pools, 1 for adults only with beverage service and pool side massage. We had children along so didn't have services at our pool (and the pool closest to our room was closed and being renovated which made a big hike to the other kids allowed pool). We also used the internet service regularly and they had a convenient phone available to cheaply call back to the US and charge the room. The Manuel Antonio area is nice and the monkeys, raccoons, and coati's are plentiful...but you have to protect your gear and food or they will run off with your backpack or food. It's great - and this area is truly what we came to Costa Rica for and it didn't dissapoint.

  • Liked — The size of the room
  • Disliked — Hills
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TVenturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antarctica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2006

Costa Verde was a wonderful experience. The prices were reasonable, the grounds were beautiful and the service was friendly.
We were there for about 5 days and had no real complaints. We were traveling with our kids (7 & 12) and would highly recommend it for families. If you don't have kids, they have a separate building with a private pool on the same property that is adults only (Costa Verde II).

The hotel has several buildings on the side of a hill overlooking the Pacific. We stayed in the B building with a spectacular ocean view . The grounds have monkeys, large iguanas, and lots of wildlife running around (we even saw a sloth). They have 3 restaurants, one on site and two nearby.

We could hear the surf at night and found the place very quiet. They say it's about 300 yards to the beach, but in reality it's about 1/2 mile or so all downhill (all uphill coming back!). There's no sidewalk so you have to hug the road a bit and watch out for the occassional crazy driver. The easiest way is to catch the bus right in front of the hotel. It runs like every 20-30 minutes and costs maybe $.20 (105 colones). The trip takes like 3 minutes.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Bar closes at 10:00
  • Tips/Secrets — Learn to use the buses
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank static1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2006

We didn't end up staying at this hotel due to last minute emergency. I just wanted to say that the hotel staff were very understanding and helpful with our last minute cancellation. Thank you Costa Verde!!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekker0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Stayed for a few nights in August 2006 on our first trip to Costa Rica. Place is thoroughly professional in the way it is run with a really great staff attitude. Good restaurant (fair quality//value balance), modern, clean rooms, and a choice of swimming pools. We (me, wife and 2 daughters 10 and 11) were lucky enough to be surrounded by dozens of monkeys at tea time round the pool - unforgettable! Great location - just up the hill from the BEAUTIFUL beach and Manuel Antonio National Park..........will definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Seriously professional
  • Disliked — Set on a steep hill
  • Tips/Secrets — Be poolside at around 5pm for an unforgettable monkey show.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Englishmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Costa Verde
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing