We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,676)
Filter reviews
1,676 results
Traveler rating
815
552
193
68
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
552
193
68
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anaconda restaurant el avion efficiency room adult pool building b adults only section ocean view breakfast restaurant rocking chairs national park squirrel monkeys large balcony amazing views kitchen area manuel antonio park destination wedding the main road
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,676 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Manuel Antonio was our final major stop on our trip around Costa Rica. We were looking forward to relaxing by the pool and visiting the nearby beach and Costa Verde was the perfect place to do just that! Our accommodation was in a bungalow (A11). It was really spacious, and clean with three large beds, kitchen area and sofa too. We enjoyed sitting on the porch area listening to the sounds of the rainforest including the unmistakeable sound of the howler monkeys. The site is quite spread out so it takes a little while to work out where everything is but we were happy with our position. The pool you see on most of the publicity photos for this hotel is an adult only pool which initially disappointed us. However there is a family friendly pool near it with similar elevated views of the ocean. We also enjoyed using the little pool close to our bungalow, which was also frequented by iguanas each day!
There are some quirky touches here, like old airplanes used as rooms and look out platforms, and bottles recycled as lamps, which just give the hotel a unique character.
The on-site Anaconda restaurant was only open for breakfast and lunch whilst we were there (this may change in high season) but for evening meals we were very happy with BBQ/Grill restaurant (La Cantina) which was literally just over the road from hotel, and run by Costa Verde. There’s a little bakery a 5 minute walk away from the hotel which is handy for pastries for breakfast.
We also found it easy to pop into the small town of Manuel Antonio to eat out. The bus stop is opposite the hotel and is just over 3 dollars each. We did also walk the 15 mins into town sometimes which was no problem for our teenagers but the walk back uphill might be tiring for little ones.
It’s worth visiting the beach and also the Manuel Antonio National Park whilst you’re here. Again just take a bus ride to the park entrance. On this occasion we didn’t hire a guide and still managed to spot lots of wildlife on our own, including sloths, iguanas, howler monkeys and capuchin monkeys.
We also loved spotting all the wildlife around the hotel. We were even visited by a troop of spider monkeys whilst we were in the pool! If you get chance, arrange the mangrove tour (they collect from the hotel). That was one of our highlights!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank SallyJWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCostaVerde, Leiter Ă–ffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Costa Verde and liked the apartment you were staying in. Thanks for your recommendation of the mangrove tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at Costa Verde 25 years ago and returned in August. All I can say is Wow! Our room overlooked the pool and Pacific Ocean and was beautiful and spacious! We loved all the wildlife we saw just sitting on the balcony and enjoying the view. We ate at several of the restaurants on site or just across the street and were pleased with them all. El Wagon even deliciously prepared the mahi-mahi we had caught that day for us and the bartender at the pool bar made the best mojitos ever! Everything about the hotel and it's grounds is well-maintained and the use of the old planes and glass bottles for decoration and as light fixtures is very cool! I think the BEST part of Costa Verde though is the staff! Every single person we dealt with was wonderful and took great care of us. My only complaint is that the beds are very, very firm and I did not sleep well any of the five nights we were there. It was a small price to pay for all the great things we did experience and I felt guilty complaining about the beds when I see how some of the locals are living. We are planning another trip next year to do some more offshore fishing and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask if there are some rooms with softer mattresses or bring some sort of topper for your bed.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cathyschirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCostaVerde, Leiter Ă–ffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you have enjoyed your vacation at our hotel and we are sorry to hear that you had some complaints regarding some of our room features. However we are happy to know that you are still planning on staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

I absolutely loved this hotel. Our room was absolutely beautiful and the view of the ocean was breathtaking. I could have sat there all day looking at the ocean. The grounds are beautiful, and there are trails on the grounds where we saw whites faced capuchin, squirrel monkeys, agouti and several species of birds. There was a sloth right by our balcony. Our room.came with breakfast an it was excellent. The pool was beautiful!!! The staff were excellent here. I would stay in here again. the views are spectacular!!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank joj885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCostaVerde, Leiter Ă–ffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you got caught up by the views of the ocean and the wildlife. We are looking forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

This place was absolutely breathtaking. It was like staying in a treehouse. There are all windows around the entire room. Capuchin monkeys were outside of the deck playing on the trees. We also saw Howler monkeys, Toucans... so much wildlife right on the property. And the food was amazing also. Breathtaking views of the ocean from the main pool along with a bar where you can order food. Would stay over and over again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCostaVerde, Leiter Ă–ffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you were satisfyed with our food and that you liked the wildlife on our property. We are looking forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

I have stayed in many many hotels in my lifetime but this is the best three days I have can ever remember. Everything about this place is perfect. You could not ask for a better equipped room. The view was absolutely fantastic.Three pools to choose from and four fantastic restaurants. A beautiful monkey on the terrace rail the second day. This is really a beautiful big property. Lots of nature walk areas. Close to everything. Miguel on the desk was very very good and told the truth about everything on the phone. No embellishments - just the facts. I have lived nearby for six years and I was very pleasantly surprised .

Stayed: September 2018
Thank budd113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCostaVerde, Leiter Ă–ffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you have enjoyed your vacation and liked the apartment you were staying in as well as the various wildlife. We will be sure about letting Miguel know of his job well done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews