We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,676)
Filter reviews
1,676 results
Traveler rating
815
552
193
68
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
552
193
68
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anaconda restaurant el avion efficiency room adult pool building b adults only section ocean view breakfast restaurant rocking chairs national park squirrel monkeys large balcony amazing views kitchen area manuel antonio park destination wedding the main road
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,676 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at room B6 which was ground floor but the people upstairs were so loud bouncing a ball or what not...I felt that there was many miscommunication when we booked a tour they said they would provide towels for the parasailing when we went front desk they said no they don’t provide it...so we had to run back to our room and get our towels ugh but other than that it was good

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Brendaliz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Lovely bungalow with a view of the sea and jungle. Saw more monkeys here than at Manuel Antonio!
Only caveat - breakfast at Anacondas, their onsite restaurant - very expensive, quite mediocre food and then charge extra for coffee. Went elsewhere after that. Excellent coffee and pastries at the bakery next to El Avion ( the airplane restaurant).
Staff are out to please and the property is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We were referred to Costa Verde by a friend of ours who could not stop talking about how wonderful it was. We had wanted to visit Costa Rica and we are so very glad we decided to stay at this unique property.

It truly is unlike any other resort on the planet. The resort has a bit of a "crashed airplane" theme, which is original to say the least. The decor features re-purposed airplanes at 2 of the resort's restaurants, as well as a cockpit cabin (one bed) and completely tricked out and luxurious 727 fuselage that features 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. We were lucky enough to stay in the 727 for one night. If you want to stay in the 727, you must book at least a year in advance! But it is worth it!

Although there were some children at the resort (we brought our 9 year old), there is an adults-only portion of Costa Verde for those who prefer to avoid the company of children (we can totally relate). We did not stay in the adults-only portion of the resort, but if it is anything like the rest of the property, I'm sure it is beautiful.

Please note that there is a variety of wildlife all over this property! The resort is nestled in the Manuel Antonio rain forest. We were very excited to see monkeys, iguanas, toucans, macaws and other beautiful birds. The monkeys are naughty but immensely entertaining. They snatched our swimsuits off our balcony one morning and abandoned them in a tree, so beware of anything you leave unattended! (We got them back.)

The resort is not "on the beach" but you can walk to a public-access beach. Please note that it is a bit of a hike to get down to the beach, but well worth the workout. I wouldn't say that the resort is a good choice for people with very small kids. Our 9 year old did fine, but I would have been a little nervous if she were 5 or younger. The food at all the restaurants were pretty good. We ate at La Cantina, El Wagon, Anaconda, and El Avion, which is a C-135 cargo plane (and Iran-Contra relic) converted into a popular restaurant and drinking establishment.

We were already talking about booking our next stay at Costa Verde as our vacation came to an end. We hope this review helps other people decide on Costa Verde!!!

Room Tip: Nearly all the villas have an ocean view, but the best view is from the 727 fuselage.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank missed_connection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved Costa Verde! The view from our room in area D was incredible, room was spacious and comfortable, and we loved having a kitchenette. There were 3 pools, one is adults only so we didn’t visit that one very often but the view there was amazing. There were a couple of short nature trails on the property that we would walk on in the mornings and would always see lots of wildlife. Monkeys were everywhere and they were so fun to watch! Also saw toucans while sitting on our balcony in the morning.
The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. We went out to eat at El Avion and El Wagon and really enjoyed our food and service at both. Most of the time we walked to dinner but they do have a van that they will pick you up in if you call for a ride.
The beach was a short 5 minute walk. You do have to walk along a busy road but there was plenty of room to walk on the side and we never felt unsafe. Manuel Antonio National Park was also a short bus ride away. We caught the bus at El Wagon and I think it was 325 colones per person for the bus.
The only complaint I have is that the pools closed at 8:00, which we thought was a little early.
Overall we loved this place—the wildlife and views were out of this world and the location was great as well. If I ever go back to Manuel Antonio I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank PickledRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful rooms. We had bungalow 9A- 4 bedrooms and 4 bath. One bedroom was combined with the main living area but it totally worked for our family of 6. It also had a small kitchenette. The view was amazing. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 Stars is we did notice ants inside... but I think that is to be expected here in Costa Rica. The hotel restaurant has wonderful food and the front desk staff is very helpful and so courteous. Loved our stay!!!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank PfaffFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews