We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at Costa Verde July 11-14, 2009. After arriving at San Jose airport in the afternoon, we drove straight to MA (about 3-3.5 hr drive) to reach the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The room was nice and spacious with a balcony and a kitchen area. The restaurants are nice though we only dined at their Anaconda restaurant. The hotel property is nice overall. We were assigned a room in the A section. This turned out to be close to main road so it was noisy in the balcony. I would suggest asking for section C. If you're lucky you will see lots of monkeys. We saw many on July 12 morning but not the other days. Conveniently located to MA park.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2009

We split our vacation by staying 3 nights in Costa Verde , then moving to Costa Verde II for 3 more nights. Wished we had spent the entire time in Costa Verde II. Fantastic views were better than TV, fans and screens better than air conditioning, and our Studio Plus was more than twice as big as our Studio in Costa Verde. Monkeys roamed around the Costa Verde II building every morning!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My father and I stayed at this hotel for the weekend while we looked at this area for my wedding coming up in February. It’s a fabulous place to stay. We were impressed with the service upon arrival. It was a light rain shower when we arrived. Living in Florida we were certainly used to this type of weather and had no problems walking to our room in the rain...however the staff insisted on driving us about 100 yards to our building and helping us get our luggage upstairs.
The hotel looks like it was built into nature verses nature planted around a hotel. It is quite unique to walk down a hill, downstairs, down another hill, and up stairs to reach our room. No need to hit the gym, you will get a great work out just walking to the bar...at least that is what we told ourselves.
Once we checked into our room, we were amazed at how LARGE our room was (B10). We made this reservation about a week prior to arriving, we just asked for the least expensive room and with two beds, since our main goal with researching the area for my wedding. We actually already contracted a rental home to stay in, but we were trying to get a feel for the area and what to expect for our other travelers. Both beds were full to queen size. Very stiff, but not terribly uncomfortable. Our view was great. We had a view of the gardens and if we looked to the left we had a great view of the ocean. It seemed like anywhere you went in this hotel you had an amazing view.
We had breakfast at Anaconda and the staff was good, but the food was amazing.
The front desk staff was the best. They gave us great recommendations and really cared about us.
We visited the pool, had great drinks, great people!! The owner was out by the pool playing music and mingling with the guests. Everyone was so laid back and made sure you were having an amazing time.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay for a reasonable price. We visited another hotel which was closer to the rental home we have for overflow guests to stay at, but it was much more expensive. Costa Verde is perfect for those looking for a more natural quiet experience in Manuel Antonio.
I have tons of video of the property on You Tube. Just keyword search natalierubinofla

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJmom143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We saw quite a few animals at this hotel and enjoyed the ocean view from our balcony. We were close to the main road so we did get some noise from big trucks. It was convenient that the bus stops right in front of the hotel if you want to avoid the overpriced taxis just go short distances. The Anaconda restaurant had really good dinners. People at the front desk/lobby could be a little more helpful and friendly. But all in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDTonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Just back from a 6 nights stay at Costa Verde II, screen room with ocean view. Everything was just great. The pool, the staff, the restaurants and the monkeys!!!. Compare to other hotels, CV2 is relatively close to the beach. Easy walk going down and a little bit strenuous walk back up. But we manage to do it twice a day. Access to the beach was done discretly through neighbor hotel.

The idea of loft style "screen room" is just great. You really have the feeling of living outside. We would definitly go back to this place. Thanks to the owner and constructor of this envrionment. It really respect the idea of "eco tourism".

Have a look at the views from room # 7

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights. Our room was an efficiency with a fridge and stove as well as cups, plates, etc. It contained a king and a queen bed and we still had tons of room. The beds were on opposite walls and at least 5 feet separated them from each other. There is also a free wall safe that is easy to use. From the large balcony we had a beautiful view of the ocean! I found the staff to be extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculate and we had no problem with insects. They seemed to go out of their way to help us and make out stay special. We had the front desk arrange 2 tours for us and give us directions to various places in town and at the beach. Everything they recommended was just as they said. This felt like a very safe area (3 women traveling alone not speaking Spanish) and there was plenty to do within walking distance. We ate at all 3 restaurants owned by the resort and had good meals at all. We ate breakfast at the Anaconda each morning as it was included in our rate and each morning the staff gave us something extra for free that was not normally included. The adult pool is the only one we used and we went every day to relax and watch the sun set before going to dinner. Very Beautiful!

This was a budget mini-vacation that met all my expectations. We stayed during the rainy season and had 1 afternoon of sprinkles/light rain and 1 night of rain while we were sleeping. Other than that it was great weather but very humid. I would definitely visit here again and stay at this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nehistory_buffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed in #7 and # 12. #7 was really nice and #12 was even better! Panoramic views. Jungle on one side, ocean and pool right in front of us. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. It was great having the open screens as windows. We loved Manuel Antonio and would definitely return to Costa Verde II. Pura Vida, Mae!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank YogaToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
937 reviews
0.4 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
2 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $155 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing