We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View, Old Fixtures”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice View, Old Fixtures”
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Spent 1 night at Costa Verde II. The ocean view was nice. The AC worked wonderfully. One of the more affordable places to stay at MA. Furniture and bathroom fixtures were old and dated. Close proximity to Manuel Antonio National Park. There is nothing like the sound of waking up to howler monkeys (in a good way!). Overall, a pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumpkins4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    510
    167
    63
    44
See reviews for
515
524
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I think the place is good overall. The staff is a bit snooty - and I'm not sure why. I had no real problems, but just didn't like the attitude. Good views, close to the park, restaurants are decent. The facilities are well maintained and clean.

This was not my first time in CR and won't be my last - but I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed here back in June 2007 and had a very enjoyable stay. We stayed in one of the economy rooms. It was a rather tiny room and involved walking up and down a very steep hill every time we left the room. However, the price was very reasonable and it’s not like we were spending much time in the room anyways.

It was about a 15 minute walk down the hill to the park. It could be treacherous at times with no sidewalk and slippery roads. It beats paying for a taxi or riding the bus. There are a couple restaurants within walking distance that are pretty good.

Our favorite part about the whole experience was the adult pool. We spent a couple of sunsets there overlooking the ocean and cliffs of Manuel Antonio. It was very relaxing not having little kids running around. There is also a full bar at the pool. One day we were lucky enough to watch a sloth in one of the trees right next to the pool. Overall, we had a very positive experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miles28270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniko78
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I stayed at Costa Verde with a group of friends (25-30) last year, im just writing now because I forgot to write a review, now that I am planning for a vacation this year I remembered. Everything was great. The beach is just a walk down the hill. Get breakfast from a vender on the street, MUCH better and MUCH cheaper. We made the mistake of going to a resturant in the beach area for lunch until we discovered the street vendors. You can walk back up the hill (very steep) or take the bus which leaves right by the beach. Everyone knows where costa verde is, so getting lost is not an option. it is beautiful, would highly recommend it and i would recommend taking the ATV tour. All the tours come pick you up at the hotel. Oh, and nightlife is good too, there are a couple spots up the hill...(there is one main road, downhll is the beach; uphill is other hotels, restaurants and nightlife)...ask at the front desk or taxi drivers....

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniko78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Together with a friend, we stayed in the hotel the last weekend of March 2009. We did not like it and we think it is way overpriced. The entire hotel looks old and worn and so did the room. We had booked a "conveniency" room, which should be avoided by all means. It is big, OK, but it is located on the ground level and all you can see is the roots of the trees and all the "wildlife" that lives on / under the ground... It is like lacking fresh air down there. Bathroom is small and we found no amenities (i.e. shower gel, shampoo). The A/C unit was loud.
We walked around the other hotel areas (pool etc); it urgently needs a lifting!
Reception staff is polite. Internet access point (i.e. a couple of PC units) are in the gift shop.
Breakfast area (Iguana restaurant) is very attractive in the morning, and offers nice ocean views. No buffet is available, but the choices from the menu are adequate and food quality is good. We had breakfast included in our room rate, so we did not notice the prices.
However, dining at the Iguana restaurant was way too expensive and food was below average. Staff was not very polite either.
We also tried an other restaurant of the hotel (the one with the plane decoration), which is more than a short walk away, and it was also expensive. Food was a bit better though.
Overall, stay somewhere else, the rates / prices of Costa Verde are way too high for what you get!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthensSoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. It's a cozy bungalow with floor to ceiling windows. It's right near town but a bit of a walk to the beach though. You can take the bus which costs 200 colones pp. or a taxi (abt a 5 min drive). the staff was nice and the place was clean. We did see a lot of ants but there are harmless. The anaconda restaurant was decent. they also own the restaurants across the street (la cantina & el avion). Just don't go during the rainy season. It starts raining in the late afternoon and continues into the night. we thought it would be a tropical rain shower where it rains for 10-15 mins and that's it. nope, it's a continous rain, at times, it was non stop and then it will be a drizzle. Oh we did see the white faced monkey by the restaurant!! their mottto is still more monkeys than people!!! overall it's a good place and i would go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

First thing that greets me as I enter the room is a body of a mostly dead enormous cockroach. Now I know this is the jungle and all, but I would at least hope that the staff visits the rooms daily to sweep the animal debris from visible locations. Perhaps shove them under the bed, away from sight of weary travelers.

In the bathroom, about 100 corpses of various-sized dead insects littered the shower and the sink area, also indicating that the room has been vacant of any visitors for some time. Now, all it took to get rid of the massacre was turning on the water, but really...what am I paying my hard earned $127 plus 16% tax per night for?

The pool: water was rather dingy, the pool area was not kept well: beer mugs and fruit rinds littering the patio.

And speaking of money: the ridiculously high (for a low season) hotel price did NOT include the internet connection nor breakfast, which I consider a rip - off, as all other 3 hotels (which were much lower in price, but better in quality) during our visit provided both, free of charge.

The restaurant that is part of the hotel, across the street, is not really that exciting either. Sure, the music was great, but the food was bland and overpriced.

Having said all that: the room was gorgeous. Spacious enough to contain three Manhattan Studio apartments, it is set in the jungle and is entirely open to the world, with only a mesh screen between you and the inhabitants of the forest. The vista from the bar/pool patio is breathtaking, it's true what the website says. Waking up to the sounds of the birds and insects beginning their day, is a lovely way to go, but a free breakfast would have made it that much better.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comrade_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Costa Verde
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing