We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT!! WILL DEFINATELY RETURN”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Certificate of Excellence
jenniko78
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!! WILL DEFINATELY RETURN”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I stayed at Costa Verde with a group of friends (25-30) last year, im just writing now because I forgot to write a review, now that I am planning for a vacation this year I remembered. Everything was great. The beach is just a walk down the hill. Get breakfast from a vender on the street, MUCH better and MUCH cheaper. We made the mistake of going to a resturant in the beach area for lunch until we discovered the street vendors. You can walk back up the hill (very steep) or take the bus which leaves right by the beach. Everyone knows where costa verde is, so getting lost is not an option. it is beautiful, would highly recommend it and i would recommend taking the ATV tour. All the tours come pick you up at the hotel. Oh, and nightlife is good too, there are a couple spots up the hill...(there is one main road, downhll is the beach; uphill is other hotels, restaurants and nightlife)...ask at the front desk or taxi drivers....

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniko78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    499
    166
    62
    42
See reviews for
493
508
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Together with a friend, we stayed in the hotel the last weekend of March 2009. We did not like it and we think it is way overpriced. The entire hotel looks old and worn and so did the room. We had booked a "conveniency" room, which should be avoided by all means. It is big, OK, but it is located on the ground level and all you can see is the roots of the trees and all the "wildlife" that lives on / under the ground... It is like lacking fresh air down there. Bathroom is small and we found no amenities (i.e. shower gel, shampoo). The A/C unit was loud.
We walked around the other hotel areas (pool etc); it urgently needs a lifting!
Reception staff is polite. Internet access point (i.e. a couple of PC units) are in the gift shop.
Breakfast area (Iguana restaurant) is very attractive in the morning, and offers nice ocean views. No buffet is available, but the choices from the menu are adequate and food quality is good. We had breakfast included in our room rate, so we did not notice the prices.
However, dining at the Iguana restaurant was way too expensive and food was below average. Staff was not very polite either.
We also tried an other restaurant of the hotel (the one with the plane decoration), which is more than a short walk away, and it was also expensive. Food was a bit better though.
Overall, stay somewhere else, the rates / prices of Costa Verde are way too high for what you get!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthensSoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. It's a cozy bungalow with floor to ceiling windows. It's right near town but a bit of a walk to the beach though. You can take the bus which costs 200 colones pp. or a taxi (abt a 5 min drive). the staff was nice and the place was clean. We did see a lot of ants but there are harmless. The anaconda restaurant was decent. they also own the restaurants across the street (la cantina & el avion). Just don't go during the rainy season. It starts raining in the late afternoon and continues into the night. we thought it would be a tropical rain shower where it rains for 10-15 mins and that's it. nope, it's a continous rain, at times, it was non stop and then it will be a drizzle. Oh we did see the white faced monkey by the restaurant!! their mottto is still more monkeys than people!!! overall it's a good place and i would go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

First thing that greets me as I enter the room is a body of a mostly dead enormous cockroach. Now I know this is the jungle and all, but I would at least hope that the staff visits the rooms daily to sweep the animal debris from visible locations. Perhaps shove them under the bed, away from sight of weary travelers.

In the bathroom, about 100 corpses of various-sized dead insects littered the shower and the sink area, also indicating that the room has been vacant of any visitors for some time. Now, all it took to get rid of the massacre was turning on the water, but really...what am I paying my hard earned $127 plus 16% tax per night for?

The pool: water was rather dingy, the pool area was not kept well: beer mugs and fruit rinds littering the patio.

And speaking of money: the ridiculously high (for a low season) hotel price did NOT include the internet connection nor breakfast, which I consider a rip - off, as all other 3 hotels (which were much lower in price, but better in quality) during our visit provided both, free of charge.

The restaurant that is part of the hotel, across the street, is not really that exciting either. Sure, the music was great, but the food was bland and overpriced.

Having said all that: the room was gorgeous. Spacious enough to contain three Manhattan Studio apartments, it is set in the jungle and is entirely open to the world, with only a mesh screen between you and the inhabitants of the forest. The vista from the bar/pool patio is breathtaking, it's true what the website says. Waking up to the sounds of the birds and insects beginning their day, is a lovely way to go, but a free breakfast would have made it that much better.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comrade_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2009

My six year old daughter and I just returned from a week at Hotel Costa Verde and we had a fabulous time. This was our first time to Costa Rica and I arranged everything over the internet so not too sure what to expect. First of all, the staff at Costa Verde were extremely helpful just helping us to make our arrangements, responding quickly to multiple emails. We had no problems with our reservations, the staff were expecting us and showed us to our room, B-11. The room was on the 3rd floor, very large, floor to ceiling windows with a large balcony and the most amazing views, exactly as pictured on the website. The room had a kitchenette, which included a small refrigerator, 4 burner electric stove, sink and sufficient selection of pots, pans, plates, silverware. Unfortunately, no microwave (would have been nice for leftovers), but there was a coffee maker available. Phone, air conditioner and television in the room too, and a blow dryer. No closets or drawers but there was an area to hang clothes.
The hotel is located about 4 minute taxi ride from Manuel Antonio National Park, on a narrow winding road. (I had read a review that mentioned the sound of traffic and unfortunately, I could definitely hear trucks along the road. You can't see the road through the trees but I guess it is really close. I didn't have a problem with it at night since we actually had the air conditioner on most of the time at night but it was a bit distracting when sitting on the balconey enjoying that unbelievable view. I tried to ignore it for the most part.) The hotel is sort of spread out over a large area. It includes a few different sections, 3 restaurants (2 which are across the street). There are 3 pools, one adults only. The pools aren't huge but they're clean and we never saw more than 4-5 other people at either of the two we visited. We booked a few tours through the hotel (horseback riding, a mangrove tour and a Manuel Antonio Park guided tour). We chose not to book tours prior to arriving since some reviewers noted they had difficulties doing that. We had no problems with space in the tours; in fact for the park and mangrove we were the only people there! The mangrove tour included a stop at a restaurant which was one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica. We had a great guide (Henar?) for the park, very educated and worked really hard to give us a chance to see sloths, frogs, insects, monkeys, birds. The tour concluded with fresh, chilled fruit and my daughter was even given a crown made out of vines and a cricket made from a reed. We also went zip lining with Canopy Safari but we booked that in Quepos for a better price than the hotel offered. I would recommend all the tours, but the zip line tour was definitely the most exciting! We walked up the hill one day to Como Si No Hotel which has a butterly garden/reptile tour which was great.
As far as food, we ate most of our meals at the Anaconda Restaurant, mostly for its convenience (right outside our room). The prices were reasonalbe, the food was great, the staff friendly and helpful. We also ate a couple of times at the Byblos Hotel Pizzeria about a 25 minute walk up the hill. Great place; my daughter loved swimming in the pool while we waited for the pizza (not a violation, they actually encourage this!). Just a note, we are vegetarians and didn't have any problem finding food, even on the tours; we just mentioned it ahead of time.
As far as wildlife, I don't know if we were just lucky but we saw literally dozens of monkeys, every day of our trip. We probably saw the most monkeys right at Costa Verde (like they say, more monkeys than people!). We saw Cappuchin, Howler and Squirrel (Mono Titi) there. We also saw Mono titi monkeys in the trees while walking along the main road. We saw Cappuchin monkeys everywhere; on the mangrove tour they were on our boat and they ran across our hotel balcony more than once! The birds were incredible, we were able to identify about a dozen different species on the mangrove tour. And the lizards! Huge iguanas wandered all over the hotel grounds, one was always in the trees near the pool and another greeted us every morning by the restaurant!
Overall, our trip was even better than our (very) high expectations and Costa Verde was a great base for our daily excursions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
244 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

After arriving in the Manuel Antonio area, we decided that we should find a hotel. In retrospect, we should have done it the other way around. But what are you going to do?

The penthouse views of the Costa Verde hotel seemed appealing, and someone we asked suggested that they were nice, so we asked if we could look at the room. We went right up, and it was as good as it looked. We stayed.

Our room opened up onto an expansive balcony, right up above the trees, where we could see all sorts of animals - one even came up to our window (a monkey or sloth or something). A number of iguanas sunned themselves in the treetops. The only downside is that the doors were screens, so we could hear all sorts of noises, and the construction trucks ran all the time. But the view was incredible.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayseae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed here for several days at the end of April and were completely disappointed with this hotel. We had much higher expectations judging from the website and reviews. I asked for another room and was told I would be happy in the room we were in, I wasn't. We would have paid more for a better room but were told this was the only one available, even though it was obvious the property was not even close to full. The property seems neglected with standing water, ashtrays filled with the same gum balls and used bandaids by the pool for days, leaves and debris in the paths. Our room was dark, the partial ocean view was available if you stood on porch and leaned out. The porch was separated from the road by a thin line of trees and it was very loud with buses, trucks & cars all day and all night. We had hoped to hear birds in the early morning like everywhere else we stayed in Costa Rica, instead we heard traffic and a generator that was also pretty darn loud. We ran the air conditioner in the room at night to drown out the noise so we could get some sleep. It was a window unit and also pretty loud. There was a giant TV in the room that we didn't use. The bed seemed to have sand in it no matter what we did. One day we asked to have the room cleaned when we went out, we came back 2 hours later and it still wasn't cleaned. We called again and still 2 more hours and it wasn't cleaned. We had wanted to take a nap but by the time our room was cleaned it was too late in the day.

There is a lot of walking on this property and it's all very spread out. If you walk around at night you can see in many rooms if the curtains aren't pulled so there is a lack of privacy, depending on what room you have.

They tried to kick us out of the pool the first night we were there saying it was closed at 8pm even though the literature says open til 10pm. They relented and let us stay when we pointed this out. The literature also says the internet would be available til 10pm but it isn't. It's available til 8pm in the gift shops, they changed their hours but you can go across the street to the trailer. It's $4 an hour to use the internet and that always seemed to wind up being around 50 minutes.

We saw a lot of animals in the parking lot behind the hotel..monkeys, lizards etc. but only lizards near our rooms.

We ate across the street at the BBQ place, we didn't like it even though we had high expectations with the live band and flames shooting out of the grill by the side of road. It wasn't terrible but the food was not that good and we were bitten by bugs through the meal. They gave us some spray, which helped.

People were generally nice here. We met some fellow guests who were wonderful at the pool as well as a blue iguana.

I don't know why we didn't move and go to another hotel, there are many nice ones in the area. We were tired of traveling at this point in our trip and it was quite hot. It was nice to have AC in the room but wish it were central and not the noisy window unit or that there were more fans so we didn't have to use the AC.

I could complain some more but I won't. I'll post pictures in a few days.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooklynMaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Costa Verde
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing