We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Berthoud, Co
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had done research on this hotel and didn't think they had the beds we needed to accommodate our two teenage kids without having to buy an extra room. After we had eaten at the restaurants that are also owned by the same owner (El Avion and El Wagon), I really wanted to see this hotel. I knew the reviews I had read and pictures I had seen were incredible. Our last night in Manuel Antonio we finally left the villa we were staying at and inquired to see if they had a room with three beds. I wish I would have emailed them before booking our other accommodations. When they showed us our room, I couldn't believe the beautiful view of the ocean from our deck and there were THREE beds. We were in our room for about thirty minutes and a troop of howler monkeys began to entertain us about twenty feet from our deck. If you are traveling with children or really want the best experience in the rainforest, please make your reservation here! They have an adult only section as well for people with children 17 and above.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    499
    166
    62
    42
See reviews for
493
508
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I got married in Manuel Antonio (Quepos) Costa Rica. We were really nervous and hesitant about hiring a photographer, DJ, and picking a great location for our big day.

We picked Costa Verde (Isabelle) as our location. Jennifer Harter jenniferharter.com was our photographer. The hotel was great. Animals, nice pools, good restaurants, friendly staff.

Joshua Stewart (DJ Josh) Joshua Stewart as our DJ.
M.A.GIGS
Quepos, Costa Rica
87125972/27776774

All of them were magnificent and professional. I highly recommend Costa Verde as a location. Our wedding day was awesome. The DJ really kept everyone on the dance floor and our pictures by Jennifer Harter came out amazing.

Room Tip: Costa Verde 2 is a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriss V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Costa Verde in May 2014. There are lot of places to stay in Manuel Antonio and I'm glad we chose Costa Verde!

Rebecca at the front desk was quite possibly the friendliest person I have ever met. She gave us great tips on the area and local restaurants down at Manuel Antonio beach.

The room was really nice (Area B, Room 11) with beautiful views of Cathedral Point and the beach. The bed, unfortunately, was as hard as a rock (at least the springs digging into me were), but after some massive days exploring the National Park I still slept like a rock.

There are plenty of places to eat / drink in the immediate area. Costa Verde either owns or is in close collaboration with the bars and restaurants along the main road. It was bit pricey compared to the local establishments down at the beach, but lovely nonetheless.

On our last day, we opened the door and were greeted by an entire family of Capuchin Monkeys - right at the doorstep!

Overall, and fantastic hotel with perfect views, friendly staff (Paco and his Jeep took us everywhere on the complex), and more than enough pools to choose from. Great location just up the hill from the beach (285 Colone bus ride either way). We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the airplane room
You cant top the view from the balconies,also the place is in a great situation regards to restaraunts and beaches.
Nice place to lay your head,not 5 stars but not pretending to be either.
Clean and convienient ,the beds are hard as rock,but you sleep like a rock on them (maybe all the fresh mountian air)
Eat at Cafe Milagro (think thats right) for breakfast,dinner is about the same anywhere ,maybe theres a great big kitchen underground
that sends the same food up to all the restauraunts in town.
But its not bad food at all.We liked the Cantina,the chef took time to show us how he cooks the food on his outdoor grill.the pizzas next door are good also.
You get what you pay for at this place.
As far as value for money i would say 8 out of 10.
Overall 4 out of 5




Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Palmbeacherpalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I'm in the travel industry and did quite a bit of research prior to booking our stay in Manuel Antonio. I selected the Costa Verde because it offered a great location, beautiful views and larger rooms. I was a bit nervous because of the poor reviews on the Front Desk Staff but decided to give it a try. After driving from San Jose, we arrived at the resort and as soon as we got out of the car we knew we were home! The grounds were gorgeous and we all let out a big "woo hoo" with excitement which was returned to us from Rebecca at the front desk. She greeted us with the warmest, friendliest welcome I've received at a hotel in a very, very long time! After checking in, we were escorted to our suite in CVII by Paulo who carted our luggage up three flights of steps to open the door to paradise. Our balcony sat within the rainforest and to the left was a gorgeous view of the Pacific. And this was just our room. The grounds are very well kept with breathtaking views no matter if you're by the pool, walking the paths, or having breakfast (which was awesome as well!). The rest of the week was perfect with the help of our new guide (and friend), Rebecca, who selected the very best activities making each day better than the one before. The rest of the staff also went out of their way to ensure a perfect stay. We even ended up adding on a night at the end instead of heading back to the San Jose area. I could go on and on but really think you should just experience it for yourself! We left Costa Verde with tears in our eyes and memories to last a lifetime! Thank you all!

Room Tip: We stayed in the CVII building - room 14. I think it's perfect as it has a view of both the fore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jody m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sw Grand Mound,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in probably one of the best rooms with a view in the family friendly zone, and would definitely return for the view, the overall location, and the grounds (pool, hotel area, etc). The restaurant with the wood oven pizzas was actually very tasty, but beyond that I wish we would have avoided the others. Nice atmospheres, but so catering to tourists and not the best food for the prices. We figured this out and on our second and last morning went to Cafe Milagro for breakfast, which was spectacular! Wish we went there for every meal!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston(southshore), Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We loved the Costa Verde from the second we drove up the front driveway. The front desk was great at checkin and through our 8 nights at Costa Verde. We probably were at the desk atleast 3 times every day for information and they always happy when they greeted us and were very knowledgeable with help in booking tours, taxis, transportation and local information in addition to all the assistance they gave us prior to arrival. As we walked to our room the monkeys were swinging in the trees. Amazing. Our room (for 4 adult women ) was more than than we could ever hope for. The room was huge and the view was breathtaking. We ate at all the restaurants on the massive property. The food was great, the service was great and the Sangria was delicious. Costa Verde was perfect for us. We will return. Thank you for making our stay perfect.

Room Tip: did not see a fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islaandwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Costa Verde
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing