We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - could use some upgrades”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Hobe Sound
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - could use some upgrades”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The property, location, and wildlife are spectacular. Room is well equipped with a kitchenette, tv, safe, and just about all that is needed. I wouldn't say the bathroom/kitchen is the nicest, but it did the job.

Property is great, squirrel monkeys, sloths, birds, and lizards abound. Also, the many restaurants onsite are pretty good and within walking distance. Enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH_Hobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    501
    166
    62
    42
See reviews for
496
510
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

i loved this hotel! i truly felt nestled into the lush rain forest of costa rica. our cabin was beautiful with a very natural feel as it was decorated in dark wood with a black pebble accent wall and open windows surrounded by flora. The view may not have been of the ocean, but we did get to see a black hawk, two monkeys enjoying a meal & my personal favorite: a mother sloth sleeping with her baby in the tree. the adults only pool had a magnificent view of the ocean and manuel antonio beach, which was a great place to end the day with a drink from their bar & amusing bartender.

1 change to make: they should bring you the extra towels you request, instead of asking you to exchange them at the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: if you can afford the airplane suite, it sure looks cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mama_mga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Like a previous reviewer, I stayed in B13 recently. View of the ocean from the deck was beautiful, but deck had no privacy from nearby parking lot. Walked the trails on hotel grounds, which were nice, but never saw a sloth or a monkey. Attitude of staff indifferent, both in the hotel and the Anaconda restaurant.Getting to and from the beach was more of a chore than expected based on information from the travel agency we used. I would try a different hotel closer to the beach if I go back to this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annuk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much, but some of the other units didn't look very appealing. I would make sure of your room's location before booking. Our room in the "adults only" section was enormous and clean, and the pool just outside had a magnificent view of the long, curving beach below. We spent every evening on the pool deck watching the sun go down. Trails around the property are not well-kept and are poorly marked--could use upgrading. Resort restaurant food was so-so. Wait service variable. We loved seeing 3 kinds of monkeys, iguanas, and colorful birds on the grounds, walking to the nearby ocean beach, and taking a naturalist-led hike in the national park.

Room Tip: Rooms in Costa Verde II, the "adults only" section are much better b/c they have wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arrived to our hotel at night so didn't realize the incredible view we had until the next morning. It is more hot and humid in the Manual Antonio area than what we had previously experienced so there were more bugs and geckos on the exterior walls which was kind of neat to see. The inside of the room was so clean and HUGE!! Wow. It had a kitchen, table and chairs, two beds and the bathroom. It was like a small apartment. The only down side were the beds were very hard. We are all for new experiences but my hips actually started to hurt if I laid in one position for too long.

The view as I mentioned was right over the ocean and pool area (we were in the adults only section) and it was really, really lovely. We did get to see the squirrel monkeys bouncing around the trees right by the front desk area which was so much fun to watch. We never did hear the howler monkeys.

The staff was very friendly and helped us get a restaurant reservation, several taxis and book a Segway tour. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Try to ask for an ocean view - it will not disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathertster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in B13 and had a great stay! Francisco at the main desk was awesome! The room was great! The AC was cold, we saw a sloth at the pool and monkeys everywhere. The location was good , in that we weren't in the midst of the throng at Manuel Antonio, but not too far away either. It was a healthy walk to the beach, but easy drive, cab ride or bus ride!

Room Tip: In the Be building the the odds are toward land, the evens toward sea! The lower numbers are immerse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel is not what it seems on their website! There were bugs in the bed and bugs in the bathroom. The rooms are extremely outdated with uncomfortable beds. Oh and the rooms were dirty. We didn't have electricity and internet for hours. Horrible customer service! The rooms are in separate areas which require transportation by car in order to get to the main lobby or the restaurants so room service was extremely slow and eating at any of their 5 restaurants was a hassle. We were supposed to stay there for the entire trip but shifted to a better hotel because we couldn't take it anymore. However their food was good and the view from the room was amazing.

Room Tip: Don't book a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank anamfazli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Costa Verde
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing