We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny - you will never forget this experience”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The four of us treated ourselves to 2 nights in this 727 and it was worth every penny. The teak furnishings are lovely and the view is out of this world. Experiences like this are few and far between and it is something you will always remember.

The nearby bars and restaurants are all part of the same hotel group and offer excellent value and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James / Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Costa Verde
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the fourth stop we had on our Costa Rica trip, traveling as a family of four, with two children ages 8 & 11. This was also our splurge.
After visiting El Avion, the airplane-themed restaurant that is part of this resort 5 years ago, to the enchantment of our kids, when we found out that the resort had put together a hotel room using another plane, I knew we'd have to stay when we returned to CR. I am so glad we did, though it did rather spoil us on rooms for a while. Our expectations are now exceedingly high. OK, bad joke, but wow, what a room.
We arrived in the afternoon at Costa Verde and were immediately distracted by a howler monkey navigating a wire in the parking lot. A staff member was there and helpfully pointed us to some nearby squirrel monkeys, clearly understanding that guests to the region are truly interested in seeing animals.
Checkin was easy and seamless, and we were led up to the parking space outside our room by a staff member on a moped, who then helped us unload our car. The fuselage room is approached by a long walkway and emerges from the foliage as if it gently crashlanded a decade ago. It's pretty outstanding. The entry to the room is the former overwing section, which is now a gorgeous covered wooden deck behind a lockable metal scrollwork gate. You step into a fully redesigned wooden interior, with a full galley kitchen to your left, and a handmade wooden table to your right. Directly before you is another overwing deck, this one with an outstanding view of one of the beaches of Manuel Antonio itself. Stepping down and to the right, there's a TV room with two handmade and very comfortable rocking chairs and a flatscreen TV.
This is really a suite, with two bedrooms. The fore section has two queen beds and two full, gorgeous armoires. There's a bathroom; it's the cockpit. Yes, there are pilot chairs and a view from the bathroom from the cockpit windows. I don't think the original flight deck had a mosaic tile floor, however. The bathroom is complete with showers and well stocked with fluffy towels, soap, and shampoo.
The aft bedroom has a single queen bed and another of the armoires. Another bathroom is aft, also with shower, and a high ceiling that looks up to the former tail engine (missing) that is now a vent for moisture. It's covered, so no rain comes in. Also, screened, so no bugs come in. The shower is in the tail cone, which is open with a view, though there is another privacy curtain if you wish. Interestingly, this sink is another one where I had to use my personal drain cover; it didn't have a plug, though the sink in the fore bathroom had a working plug.
All the window portholes remain, though they've been framed on the interior and become quite elegant. This would be a really nice room due to the craftsmanship; the fact that it's an actual plane makes it special.
There are lots of outlets throughout the plane, free wifi in the room, though a little slow. The overwing decks each have a nice table and handcrafted wood + leather chairs.

The resort itself looks just as beautifully considered and constructed. Costa Verde has its own workshop, and clearly has expert craftspeople. Everything is beautiful.

We visited one of the two pools, the "A" section, on the family side of the resort (adults only on the other) and it was beautiful and refreshing, surrounded by fruit trees. An agouti was also poolside, though certainly that's not guaranteed. Other guests also reported that they'd seen a sloth with a baby at the "B" section pool earlier in the day.

Pros:
You're staying in a plane! How cool is that?
Comfortable
Very quiet (even with the howler monkey visiting the deck in the night and I think a coconut hitting the fuselage in the early morning)

Cons:
We only had one night. This suite is worth at least a two night stay, if you can swing it (it's not inexpensive).

Room Tip: If you're looking for a very unique experience and you're not on a budget, the 727 Fuselage...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel costa verde was amazing! I went with a group of six in July. and we stayed in Casa Quinta. It was spacious and the staff was so accommodating. Monkeys came right up to our bungalow both capuchins and squirrel monkeys. I would come here every time I visited Costa Rica it was one of the most amazing experiences I have had. The people where wonderfully nice, the area incredibly beautiful, and the hotel was perfect for a jungle feel. The adult pool has amazing views and the front desks was very helpful in booking all of our excursions. All of the restaurants had good food and service. El Wagon was delicious for a hearty lunch. The hotel has hiking trails all around. It rained half the time we where there but it didn't matter because everything was so beautiful.

Room Tip: For a large group of family or friends Casa Quinta is perfect. It offers the privacy of a house and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jungle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for about a week while staying in Manuel Antonio. We originally were in Las Posadas, which is very close to the entrance of the park, but after a few days we moved farther up the mountain to stay in Manuel Antonio longer. The hotel was very accommodating under short notice, as well as friendly. There were several moderately priced, and unique restaurants just a bit down or up the road - and we ate at one of them most of the time while there. I also enjoyed the abundance of monkey's, as well as the historical airplane (honeymoon room) they have! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaraWesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Casa Quinta at Costa Verde with our family of six in July. The room was great for our family. The staff was very helpful. We had left our own beach towels at the pool to dry and the housekeepers picked them up and laundered them for us. We ate at both La Cantina and El Avion and had wonderful meals at both

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent a couple nights here on our honeymoon, staying in the E-5 bungalow. Mauricio was really great checking us in, showing us a number of rooms to make sure we were happy. The bungalow had a beautiful view of the ocean from its big patio.

Special highlight for us, though, was the hotel's restaurant, La Cantina. The chef, Fabricio, was a cool guy who went out of his way to make us feel special. Great food grilled over live charcoal, good prices. We went fishing one day and the chef cooked up the fish for us over the grill - incredible.

Definitely would come back again.

Room Tip: E5 bungalow is awesome! Very private, great for families. Monkeys all over.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AspenTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I haven't seen such rude hotel receptionists in my life. They were rude to a point that my wife and I decided not to deal with them and avoided them whenever we could. These people need serious customer service training. The only plus of this hotel is its scenic rooms. Well, at least the one that i paid for had an ocean view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dikoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $144 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing