We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new Happy Place”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to Hotel Costa Verde on the recommendation of a friend. After our red eye flight and travel time of over 8 hours we arrived exhausted, only to find out that our room wasn't ready yet, which we had expected. We were given towels and told we could hang out at the pool, and that's when I knew we were going to be happy! The view from the adult pool is incredible...huge ocean and jungle vistas with birds and iguanas...so beautiful!

To address what others negative views are....yes, there were ants in our room. To me, it wasn't that disturbing. The hotel is in the jungle, and honestly, I expected a LOT more bugs than we encountered. We sat on the deck every night and didn't have any bug bites or gross creepy crawlies to deal with. The beds are hard, but not so bad that I would avoid the hotel because of this. Yes, the hotel is showing it's age. To me this was almost a good thing. I felt like I was staying in a friend's cabin, but in the jungle. It was cool, in a kitschy sort of way!

When we booked we wanted a 2 room bungalow to accommodate our family of 4, but that wasn't available for our entire 6 night stay. We had a studio plus for the first and last night of our stay, and Bungalow A13 for the remainder. The studio plus (B4) had a beautiful ocean view and overlooked one of the pools. We saw white-faced monkeys, squirrel monkeys and a sloth while we were there. Although that was wonderful, I really loved our Bungalow. The deck looked right into the jungle, was much quieter, and felt like we were vacationing on our own in Costa Rica. I took pictures of all of the rooms and will post them...would definitely request this room if we get to vacation here again.

The trek to the beach is truly a trek. Hot, hot, HOT and quite a jaunt. We walked to the beach on 2 different days and took a cab back. No way I was making that trip uphill on foot! An interesting walk though, worth doing at least once if you don't have trouble with a little hike.

As for the staff...sorry, guys, but your customer service could use a tune up. While we were never treated rudely, nobody really went out of their way to make us feel especially welcome. Even when they weren't busy the front desk staff treated any request very casually, as though they had something else they should have/would rather be doing. This was true in the Anaconda restaurant as well.

All of the above being said I would definitely return here given the chance. The resort never felt crowded, though we were told they were completely booked. The view from the adult pool is amazing, but I loved the privacy of the pool near the bungalow. Watching the monkeys is a hoot, and our family had a vacation that we will never forget.

Room Tip: B4 has a beautiful ocean view. Bungalow A13 feels like a private cabin in the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank read1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the end of the Easter Vacation (holiday time in Costa) so it was busy all around town. The atmosphere of this hotel is great! Great terrain for monkeys and iguana's and of course a sloth or 2. The balcony had an amazing ocean view and the view from the pool was breath taking! Service was average.... Not much rush in Costa Rica. I would highly recommend a night here!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I've been traveling in CR for the last eight days. I've stayed at boutique hotels with great staff. I decided to treat myself by staying at a "nicer" hotel with a coastal view. So far the view has been the best thing and a large iguana that passed by the pool. On arrival the staff were not friendly at all and didn't come out to great me as I was dropped off in front. I waited by the pool for my room to be ready and I kept getting suspicious looks instead of greetings. Not sure if its because I'm A man of color or they thought I am a famous footballer. Lol. Anyway when brought to my room it was across from the reception area no frills room and it smelled as if had been cleaned with old mop water. This is my first day in MA. I'm hoping I can find the real MA but this pseudo resort place is not for you unless your a suburban American looking to bring your suburbia with you with no taste of CR culture. A bit disappointing and I would say save your money and look elsewhere. The most disappointing thing is the lack of friendliness from the staff but perhaps it's because they had to work on an Easter weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bigblumarbleinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Outstanding service English or Spanish . Excellent food and drink at the Anaconda. Monkeys, Sloths, exotic birds, huge Toads, and tons of lizards all within the first 12 hours. A little difficult to navigate due to the terrain and some insect issues, but hey, it is in the middle of the jungle. Beach access is a hike, but we made it, and stayed the day. Beautiful views in all directions. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here ofr a week in March , which has to be the hottest time possible to stay. We had room 7b which was wonderful. The views and the monkeys were just as promised. The area it self is extremely busy the week we went as everyone in Costa Rica like to see this beautiful area on their vacations also. The hotel felt like an oasis. There was a sloth around the pool every morning and we saw the monkeys every day, maybe you just need to be closer to the main office. The squirrel monkeys were first at about 7:00, and around 8:00-8:30 you could see the whiteface monkeys. The howler monkeys were later and only three times. Our room was not the most modern, but everything worked weel and it was very clean- no complaints. The A/C was great! While this is was an expensive hotel for our budget- I feel that it was money well spent. Breakfast as the hotel was good- I recommend the fruit plate.

Room Tip: The area closest to the main enterance is B those rooms above the second floor had great views and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Didn't see a single monkey on the property but we weren't worried because we went to the park and saw more monkeys and sloths than we'd ever seen. Make sure to get a guide or you will see very little. Instead of using the hotel we got a recommendation and called up one guide who met us at the hotel. It cost so little and we saw so much in the park. We loved our room. The wood here is amazing (I hope the wood used is from a sustainable source!!!) and our room had this amazing ocean view. Just open your balcony and there was the view, the birds chirping, etc. I actually think the room and view were so much better then the all inclusive Westin in Guanacaste that we had gone to the week before which was ten times the price. We had a room on the top floor which is better than the ground floor because we had to walk past this couples room every time to get to our room and it was an intrusion each time. The hotel has several restaurants but the food is probably 2-3 star. Seeing the airplane restaurant was fun for the kids and the view is amazing but the food was pretty mediocre. For a nice food experience go to El Lagarto restaurant. It's headed away from the park, on the main road past a small grocery store. The food was amazing. The kids swum in one of the family pools- pretty small but they had fun and we enjoyed the view of the ocean from the pool which was simply lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethArXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel looks nice from the outside but my hotel room was disgusting!!! First of all they put me and my husband in a handicap accessible room. We booked through the hotel several months before our trip so there is no reason we should have been given this room. Cleanliness was below average. Bathroom was gross, holes in the wall, holes in sliding balcony door, ants, just awful. I will never stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hofstra485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $157 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing