We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Manuel Antonio”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here in a suite in building CV 2 adult only.
The view was spectacular especially at sunset. We were in room 10 on the second floor with a sea view and jungle view. One evening a troop of squirrel monkeys visited our balcony. The rooms are huge with tiled floors and oak ceilings. They are also equipped with small kitchens if you wanted to do your own cooking occasionally. There were no bugs as some people have commented and the a/c was quiet and efficient. The staff were friendly, especially if you made an effort to use a little Spanish in greeting them.
There is one restaurant (Anaconda) on the property, one across the road (El Cantina) and one a good hike up the hilly road (Avion) which we avoided due to inconvenience and dubious reviews. The Anaconda was very good.It helps to have a car here as the hotel is about 2 km from the beach area where all the shops and cafes are located. We walked one day but the steep road downhill has few sidewalks and it took as about 20-30 minutes. A cab back cost about $4.
There is a good bus service about every 20 minutes with a stop beside the hotel. Costs 285 Colones (about 60 cents)for any
distance.
The hotel property is large with fairly long walks between some rooms, the front desk and the restaurants.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Oatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel loock nice,but is very far from the beach ,also the room AC is very old not let you sleep, ants everywhere and termites.
The price is.not what's aspect for the rooms.
The good thing I can say is you can see monkes in the mornings that make me happy.
Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barajames10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Costa_Verde, Manager at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hola,
We're sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. We are actually quite close to the beach and Manuel Antonio National Park, but we are located on a cliff. So, a car or quick taxi is best if you're not interested in a short trek (and getting back uphill does requires a little stamina).

We're happy to report that our air conditioners are in the process of being upgraded. Half of the hotel is completed and more to come this year!

Please do drop by again if you're in town. We ALWAYS have the monkeys. Thanks and Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Came for a wedding. Stayed in one of the guest houses surrounded by gardens. Felt like I was already in the park, with monkeys swinging by every morning. Amazing views, multiple pools, terrific service, beautiful accomodations, walking distance from the beach. Lockers available after check out if you want to spend a little more time in Manuel Antonio before heading out. I would certainly go back. Costa Verde exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel will let you stay at the pool or beach after you check out and give you access to showers, change rooms, towels, and lockers for your luggage. It gave us a whole "extra day" to our holiday because we didn't leave the town until 3:30PM!
Many monkeys! We stayed in room B3 (great ocean view!) and the monkeys came right onto our deck from the trees - it made for great pictures! Just don't leave electronics unattended on the deck!
Restaurants are very good and fairly priced.
The "small" hike to the beach is a nuisance and the taxi ride is $5-7 per trip depending on the day. Taking a bus isn't cheaper because we are a family of four. Coming back from the beach is completely up hill and if it's hot as usual, there's no way you would do it.
The hotel offers free use of bamboo mats for the beach that are very useful too.

Room Tip: B3 has a great ocean view and is at the right "height" for viewing the monkeys who hang ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rush15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We only spent one night here, and loved the hotel itself, but our room was not the greatest. We had an efficiency which would have been great for someone staying for several days as there is a full kitchen area. The beds and pillows were rather hard and lumpy, and the bathroom small and cramped--with not a single hook on which to hang a wet bathing suit or makeup bag. The views are lovely, and the pool bar has fantastic views of the ocean and Manuel Antonio park. It is quite a hike down to the beach itself (which seems much longer on your return back up the hill to the hotel). We ate one meal at El Avion which was OK, not great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent four nights in the CV2 adult only building last week. We loved every minute of it! We saw monkeys swingling from the trees before we even checked in. We had a room on the jungle side which we really liked. The room was really comfortable and we spent many hours on the balcony watching the monkeys and birds. We even had two monkeys on our balcony one afternoon. We watched an amazing sunset from the two chairs facing the ocean in the hallway on the third floor. The adult pool was perfect. We ate at all of the restaurants and El Cantina was our favorite- we went there twice. My husband really enjoyed the burger at El Wagon as well. We were pleasantly suprised at the prices on the resort for both meals and drinks. I had read many of the reviews prior to arrival and pretty much all of the things people complain about are true but not a big deal. The one thing I would say is this resort is located on the bluff and I imagine it is hard for people with kids or older adults to get around- for us it was fine. The walk to the beach is about 15 minutes down and maybe 20 minutes up- but not horrible and it is easy enough to get a cab back if you don't want the adventure of hiking up the road. If we ever go to Manual Antonio again we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Costa Verde in August 2012 and had a very good experience there! We only spent the mornings and later evenings at the hotel but we enjoyed our time on the grounds while we were there. Every morning at breakfast the monkey's would put on quite a show and would often come down the trees in close proximity to the tables! One morning we were treated to a display of them launching themselves from tree to tree which was pretty cool!

The view from our room was stellar and it was an utterly enjoyable experience to sit on the porch in the morning and drink coffee while watching the birds and other wildlife! On one particular morning, we got to witness the unbelievable and cruel circle of life as the little kissadee birds had been meticulously building a nest in the tree right by our rooms, only to have it savagely attacked by a Toucan who destroyed it in a matter of a minute. It was a pretty amazing sight to see!

We ate at El Avion and that also was an experience. I would say the food was above average at best - but while we were there the power went out in the area for about 20 mins. They brought us drinks and everyone just took it in stride - but when the lights came back on, there was a sloth hanging by his feet completely stretched out reaching for some branches and food below him. With the lights back on he quickly retreated so it was nice to see him so close!

We opted on several days to walk down to the National Park instead of using our car and t hen after a long day of hiking, opted to take a taxi back up for the couple of dollars. It was a 15-20 min hike down the mountain to the park which was no big deal. We spotted a mexican porcupine in one of the trees on the way down which was also a nice find!

All in all we enjoyed our stay at Costa Verde. I really don't have anything negative to say about our experience which is a good thing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HokieInGermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $142 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing