We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception staff is great.”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is not a fancy resort and our room was D2 across the road from the main section. Even though the room was described as a having a kitchenette, I did not feel it was practical to cook. There was no cutting board and no area to prepare food. We did cut fruit and keep it in the fridge. That being said, there was really no place to shop for food anyway, just a couple of larger conveniece stores unless you wanted to go to Quepos, the next town. Also, if any scraps of food were left, teeny bugs came around. The room was clean and there were ample towels left for us daily even though there were signs that said if the towels were on the rack they wouldn't be replaced. Our view from the porch was exceptional.
The climb to the restaurant was something like 187 steps with the pool half way up. Not a problem for us but could be for others. About the family pool closest to us: It was a nice pool and there was always some shade, but if I was the manager, I would have somebody down at the pool offering towels and beverages. And I would add some running water to create a small falls and maybe a waterslide.
Restaurants: Disappointing! I really wanted to like them. The staff was friendly, but not really interested in taking orders, selling drinks, moving people on to make tables for others. We waited at Anaconda for change, at Cantina for check, at El Avion for someone to take our order.. actually we left. We tried at all 4 restaurants. None of the food was great save the Fish Soup at Anaconda. Desserts were disappointing. There are alot of other restaurants around.
I have to say: If you want to look in a mirror that makes you look really good. ...Ask for D 2, It makes a size 12 look like an 8.
Walking along the road is dangerous.

Room Tip: D2 has a great view and a great mirror.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Costa_Verde, Manager at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We especially appreciate the "Reception staff is great" headline! Accolades for our staff are always the greatest compliment as they work hard every day to meet the varying needs of our guests that visit from all over the world.

As for the teeny bugs...we've come to know them as our friends here. Living in the tropics we have all kinds of neighbors and these guys love some fresh pina and papaya as much as we do!

Our apologies for the restaurants. While there really is no excuse for poor service we do try to remind guests that we are in a different area of the world where service standards may differ from what you're used to. The pace of life here, even in touristy areas, is definitely slower. This can often be a good time to remember the popular Tico phrase "Pura Vida" and then sit back an enjoy the El Avion view.

Note taken regarding the mirror in D2 - great insight that we hadn't heard before!

We hope to see you back here again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

As a native costarrican after almost 25 years I still get excited to spend another glorious weekend at Manuel Antonio beach and picturesque town of Quepos. The hotel I used recently closed so had to look for a new option. Watching my BUDGET decided to check Costa Verde and guess what ... found another wonderful reason to keep coming back: amazing gardens, wildlife everywhere, friendly and efficient staff, spotless place, THE most fantastic view from the adult swimming pools and just a short drive to the beach. A wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alvaro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great place! Sunrise and sunsets the squirrel monkeys fill the trees all around the hotel and restaurant! We got some fantastic pictures of them. We stayed in room R 2 . It was the size of an apartment , with a decent view of the ocean but right below the restaurant. If you're not an early riser you will be woken up around 6 am. The staff was very helpful and responsive. I returned after a week hoping to find my battery charger I left behind and they searched all over for me including driving to the laundry building and letting me check the room.
Stunning views of the ocean from the adult pool and a short drive to the beach. A heads up about parking on the beach. Many people will try flag you down to get $4 from you to park your car. They are not officially working for anyone but themselves and most likely will not be there when you get back. Tell them you will pay them when you return to your car.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I didn't know until checking in at the front desk that this hotel's motto was "more monkeys than people". 3 out of 4 mornings there was some type of wildlife off our balcony and greeting us at breakfast. There were better, up close and personal animal encounters with sloths, monkeys and lizards here than any guided nature trail I've ever been on. Super cool. Sloths apparently are as common as our possum in America it seems. We saw two on the hotel property that you could touch if you dared - they were within arms reach and not exactly moving at rocket speed.

Our room had a fantastic view of the ocean and bay. Absolutely gorgeous with a large porch to sit out and enjoy the breeze and view. Somewhat large refrigerator, even a stove top for cooking with pots and pans should you choose to bring your family and cook. Good size, plenty of room. Our room was somewhat close to reception and I was initially disappointed when I saw the rest of the sprawling property. However it's closeness to the restaurant that served breakfast, lunch and dinner was extremely convenient. If you have an early departure, breakfast is quick and at the end of the day you can stop off for a couple of drinks before retiring to the room, a short, easy walk away.

$$ - Everyone and everywhere takes dollars, and if you don't want to convert they were almost always shown with the tally in Colones and Dollars. Very convenient for us - until you learn a quick way to do the conversion - then it's a nice back up.

4 restaurants - all good! El Avion seems to have the best "vibe" in my opinion. The bar inside C-123? was very cool with good drinks, although the rest of the restaurant is also amazing and every restaurant there has gorgeous views. Service is definitely at a leisurely pace but breakfast at the main restaurant was quick even for American standards. Everything closed around 1030pm but honestly, after a day in the sun, ocean and or jungle - we were in bed by 1100 at the latest and we like to drink! Another option we used our last night was just to stay out in town after the beach and eat there just to see how it compared. People watching was fun, limited on food options, and the cab was only 2$ home to the hotel. We walked the hill back 3 times and although it's do-able, it's not a joke either! It's quite steep!

3 pools - one for adults only that once again - had an amazing view! And a bar. Always nice..

Loved, loved, loved this place - but it would have been nice to be a tad bit closer to the actual beach.

Room Tip: Depends on if you want a view, privacy, or both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The bed sheets are rougher than sand and are the same material as the drapes used in the room.Terrible wifi connection due to lack of sufficient routers, you might get lucky and get a room in which their wifi is on your balcony. Breakfast not included and international calls are not included neither are local calls if I remember correctly. Also further from the beach than we expected and no included beach towels. Towels are only for bath and pool use. No jacuzzi anywhere.

On the good side the view is amazing several species of monkeys visit during the day right up to your balcony. Iguanas sun bath beside you at the pool. Bottom line for the competition that, that section of the country has to fight with you'd expect them to reach out more with the perks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PedroV83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Costa_Verde, Manager at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It is unfortunate that you were not comfortable. We are a mid-range hotel and we use standard bedding that is common in the industry. We do not have comforters, but our bed coverings (not the sheets) are a heavy weave that is also used on the windows.

We apologize if you had intermittent WiFi. We do have a sufficient number of routers and only experience an occasional overload during peak times in high season. We are also in the process of building a new network that better supports the increase in Smartphones and other handheld devices over the last few years.

Unfortunately we no longer offer towels for the beach. It became quite an expense to replace the many that were left behind at the beach. And, the towels that were returned to us often came back with an amount of sand that was not healthy for our washing machines. As an alternative we have bamboo beach mats available for the beach. Our apologies if our staff did not recommend this option to you.

Local calls are .20 per minute
International calls are .30 per minute.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our extraordinary views while hanging out with our jungle friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at Costa Verde for a week and property was absolutely beautiful. The only reason I did not give this my top rating is simply because my room was a little smaller than typical in Costa Rica but this may have just been bad luck. Monkeys visited three of the days and a sloth slept in a tree right outside of our room it was Amazing! The pools are excellent, the adult only pool stunning views. The service overall was excellent although I did deal with one or two people that seemed a bit off. The only drawback for some may be the size, this is a huge complex although the vegitation does give you a very good sense of privacy. Moderately priced it was a great stay and I would definately go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breganoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

First, everything reviewers say about the handful of rude staff is probably true. We found a couple of employees who were bafflingly unaware that people in customer service are paid to be nice to guests. Lucky for us, we only needed to ask for extra sheets to make up for the NO MATTRESS PADS at this hotel. A $200 a night room needs decent sheets and a protected mattress, and it is gross that even CVII doesn't have this. The sheets arrived with some snarling, reflecting either bad training, or more likely, an upper management directive on what guests may or may not have. But beyond that, the hotel really is a nice property and staff are mostly lovely. We made wonderful meals in the pathetic little kitchen, and we also ate at Anaconda, where the food was well prepared and reasonably priced. There are several interesting birds on the property, and some capuchin monkeys at about 5:30 each evening by Anaconda (but don't expect a lot of either). I'd come back here. Just book well in advance and get a studio plus in CVII.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
2 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#21 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#9 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#16 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $152 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing